We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am well satisfied on my stay in the shore hotel”
Review of The Shores Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shores Hotel
Ranked #514 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I will surely come back here.people are nice.rooms are very good.you can easily find this place and shops accessible.parking slightly tight but not a problem.thank you and we will see you again next year

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mylene0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 288 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed 1 night for a mid week break. The hotel is easy to find and central to all Blackpool has to offer. The atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed, all staff are very friendly. Our room was clean, if a little bit small, but for 1 nght it was fine. Breafast was good - choices of cereal, yoghurt and fruit, along with your cooked breakfast. Check out is 10.30 but as we were coming home later in the day we left our suitcase at the hotel in the bar area. I thought this was very good.

Room Tip: we were in room 12 - only a small window that looks onto the side of another building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Owner at The Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Many thanks for your review of The Shores. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We bought a large Victorian building 6 months ago called The Shores, and unfortunately we are stuck with the layout, I appreciate your comments on room 12, it is a double room and the room size is displayed on booking.com, it is not a large room but this is reflected in the pricing, we do have larger rooms, deluxe and superior which are a lot bigger with more facilities. Room 12 is on the back of the building and looks onto the back of the promenade hotels, again unfortunately it is not something I can change, but the window is not so small when you have to buy curtains 90' x 48' :) We do look forward to you coming back and perhaps you can try one of our larger rooms.
Thanks again
Michael & Oksana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel after reading the previous reviews. I can say that the room was very clean and bed comfy and the en suite was great with loads of room. I did leave a dirty towel in the shower base as advised to have this replaced however it was just placed over the shower unit to dry. The main thing that totally let this hotel down was the breakfast. I was still eating my cereal when the cooked breakfast was brought out therefore got a bit cold. My husband didnt want 2 of the items on the breakfast but was not replaced with anything so therefore left the breakfast sparse. The sausage was cheap tasting and the bacon was so hard i cudn't cut it. I have to say that the time changed for breakfast on the 2nd day which we had not realised but they did still accomodate us so that was good of them.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W, Owner at The Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Many thanks for taking time to review The Shores and thanks for your comments.
I was disappointed to hear that your stay was not 100%, whilst we do try to provide a great service to our guests it appears we have fallen short in this instance, although we understand everyone's needs are not the same.
With regards to the quality of our breakfast, we source all our meats locally and our sausage and bacon are provided by Robinsons farm in Kirkham, I have passed your comments on to them. When requesting items removed from the breakfast we perhaps should have asked if you wanted them replaced with extra/alternative products, however, usually our guests will let us know i.e. I do not like sausage could I have an extra egg, this would not have been a problem at the time. The breakfast times are clearly displayed on the info card on the back of every room door and also in the info guide available in every room. With regards to the towel change I can only apologise, I have spoken to the cleaner and whilst she acknowledges you did ask about the towel change it was forgotten about. It is our policy to change towels every second day of a guests stay, or when required, again I apologise for this occasion.
We do hope that you return to The Shores should you re-visit Blackpool in the future and we will do our best to make your stay 100% satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We can struggle to find family rooms that can accommodate a family of 5, however the accommodation here was excellent, the children had their own room with TV and we had our own room which worked brilliantly. The children loved it here and I cannot fault the room or the warm welcome you receive from the hosts. Excellent bar area as well, we chose to come back after our evening meal and sit in the bar and have a drink whilst the kids were happy to go to bed upstairs. Unfortunately, we were kept awake with rowdy revellers outside the hotel and those damn seagulls but I appreciate that this is hardly The Shores fault. One final word of warning -the buildings opposite The Shores are due to be pulled down in the coming months and currently stand empty and boarded up to make way for a housing estate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daviesbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A true treasure! Thank you to Michael for making my wife and I feel very welcome! Rooms were very clean & breakfast excellent. I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Blackpool & will certainly re-visit. Nick.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nc2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was nice the people were lovely we had a good breakfast we stayed in room 17 at the top of the stairs and often went up the wrong stair So I hope no one does that I would go back but ask for a low floor

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1960pamglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a impromptu weekend away in sunny Blackpool and were pleasantly surprised by this very homely B&B. From the moment we got their we were very warmly welcomed by Michael and Oksana.

Hotel rooms were spacious, beds were very comfortable and the request for extra pillows was met without any hesitation. Bathroom spotless. Great wifi coverage in the rooms!

Location was perfect, stones throw from the main pier and only a 1 mile (20 min) loverly walk down the prom to Blackpool Pleasure Beach.

Breakfast was amazing - full english kept me going right through afternoon!

Cant fault it. When we go back to Blackpool we'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Review the website for options!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sijcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 863 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#147 of 863 in Blackpool
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores Hotel

Address: 29-31 Tyldesley Road, Blackpool FY1 5DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $41 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENID & LESTER welcome you to The Shores. A licensed family run Guest House situated 150 metres from Central Pier, adjacent to the Promenade and the beach. We offer a selection of rooms, from single rooms to family suites that sleep 5, all of our rooms are en-suite, have tea/coffee making facilities, Freeview flat screen TV's/DVD players, Hairdryers and Hair Straighteners. We are a short walk from Blackpool Tower, Grand Theatre, Winter Gardens and Houndshill shopping centre, bus and tram stops are two minutes from the hotel giving access to all of Blackpool's attractions, The Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle, the 3 Piers, Zoo, Casino, Farmer Parr's Animal World, Blackpool Model Village, Fleetwood Market and Freeport Outlet Shopping. Free WiFi is available throughout the premises. There is on street free parking outside the hotel but sadly this can't be reserved. We are fluent in English, Russian & Geordie! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing