We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE FRIENDLY HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sutcliffe Hotel
Ranked #345 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kirkintilloch
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NICE FRIENDLY HOTEL”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just came back from staying at the Sutcliffe Hotel for the weekend with my husband and adult son. I must admit we were a bit nervous having read some of the reviews. Only thing I can think of some people want 5 star accomodation for 2 star prices. The staff were so friendly and could`nt do enough for us. Food was lovely and bedrooms were very clean. All in all for the price we paid we were very satisfied and would return again. Entertainment was ok . Robert my son loved it.

Room Tip: rooms at back where we were were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUSANCKIRKINTILLOCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We do look forward to seeing you in the future. Keep checking Tripadvisor for latest offers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
36
20
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Am just back from my 3rd stay in the Sutcliffe. Again I could not fault it. I stayed on my own and was made to feel so welcome by all staff but especially Michael, Mary & Kath. Slept better than I do at home....comfy bed. Meals were served promptly and anything I wanted was there for me always accompanied by a smile. Location is perfect for me & I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We recently had a short holiday in Blackpool. Stayed at the Sutcliffe Hotel. Weather was fab, hotel clean, food was good, service was fine, beds not great, entertainment absolutely terrible. It seems that if you can sing just a little bit you will get employed to "sing" in hotels. A pre requisite is that you must be able to do Neil Diamond songs!!!!! Every "entertainer" that we had sung Neil Diamond songs. There must be a job lot of Neil Diamond backing tracks in Blackpool!!!!! If the hotel wants the guests to stay in rather than going out they need better entertainment than the karaoke singers that we had to put up with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aileen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi thank you for taking the time to write a review. Though reading through there does seem to be a few issues I would like to discuss with yourself if you could contact myself by phone or email and we can hopefully resolve the problems which I would have hoped you would have raised with me at the time. As for the entertainment whilst we book the artistes we do not control what they sing but most will go with what the audience seem to be appreciating. We have let each Artiste we have performing here aware of these comments and none of them perform more than any 3 Neil diamond songs and 2 don't perform any but 3 out of approximately 20 songs in a night is not unacceptable It may just have been you saw 3 in a row that performed Neil Diamond songs but they do lots of other material. Having said this hopefully we will see you in the future and things will have changed as we change the artistes round each year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just back from the Sutcliffe lastnight , have been on a good few occasions before and have enjoyed every visit, all of the staff are amazing, if you need anything they will get it for you, the food is good , there was only 1 occasion where I couldn't find anything that suited me on the menu but they went out of the way to get me something that I would eat ( Im fussy) wouldn't go anywhere else in Blackpool now to be honest as its handy for all amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank You for your review we look forward to seeing you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Stayed here last year and as unable to get into our first choice hotel (own fault or showing up unannounced) decided to try here again. On arriving we didn't get a friendly greeting from the woman on reception, actually we didn't get any greeting at all. Room was pretty big, although very hot and stuffy however the weather was extremely hot outside. Beds very extremely uncomfortable, could feel every spring in the mattress.m Stayed for bed and breakfast, breakfast looked good but wasn't hot at all so only ate the cooked breakfast once. Overall hotel clean but not sure if I would come back to be honest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mckayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments, the feedback is important to us. But we do constantly ask is everything okay to allow guests to comment and give us the opportunity to rectify any problem areas. So i am sorry to hear you were not happy, but could i ask why you didnt say anything whilst you were here? Now you have raised the issue of the mattress we have replaced them from our store which could have been done while you were here aloowing you to have some peaceful nights sleep. Also as i personally served you breakfast on more than one occasion why did you not mention your concerns to myself and we could have remedied the problem. I was not present when you checked in so i am not in a position to comment although the lady concerned has been front of house for quite a while and i cant understand what has happened there. Hopefully, as things must have been satisfactory the first time you came as you considered coming back, you will allow a chance to prove we do listen to feed back and act appropriately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We go back there when ever possible , food.good well cooked, clean rooms bed very comfy. friendly staff.Janet in dining room was very friendly helpful.This is great hotel as central for theatres. New furniture in reception area very comfy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marymac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Thank you very much always look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My sister and I booked here for one night only as we where attending the theatre and the hotel was nearby.
We had a twin room.
The room was shabby. The carpet was stained and the furnishings outdated and grubby.
The beds where old,very squashy and I was kept awake by the discomfort the mattress caused my back.
The bathroom was grubby,smelly and I really did not want to step into the shower cubical because it looked so grubby.
The hotel exterior looks ok. The reception area was outdated and the furniture was cluttered and there was a large rip on one of the sofas. Entering the reception area did not start the stay with a good impression. The entrance/ reception smelt very strongly of cigarette smoke as if someone had been smoking inside the building... And I am a smoker !
The lady on reception was friendly.
We did not eat breakfast for 2 reasons:
1. It was a little early for us... However when we checked out the gentleman did offer to make us some. This was a nice gesture.
2. Because everywhere looked grubby I really couldn't eat anything in there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1967Rainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
It was myself checked you out and when asked was everything ok after being offered breakfast you both stated yes so i am surprised and sorry to find out now you had so many complaints
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#28 of 69 in Blackpool
341 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 69 in Blackpool
759 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Oxford Hotel
New Oxford Hotel
#397 of 858 in Blackpool
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Albany Hotel on Albert Road
The Albany Hotel on Albert Road
#115 of 858 in Blackpool
336 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Valron Hotel
New Valron Hotel
#182 of 858 in Blackpool
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dukeries Hotel
The Dukeries Hotel
#631 of 858 in Blackpool
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutcliffe Hotel

Property: The Sutcliffe Hotel
Address: 70-72 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sutcliffe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Sutcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing