We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sutcliffe Hotel
Ranked #327 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

First up, I didn't go to the Sutcliffe myself, but am writing this on behalf of my husband and son, who stayed there in February with my son's brass band. The food was basic but well cooked and plentiful, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the service was fast and efficient. Not swish, but a good seaside hotel, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nightscentedstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

Thank you very much glad to see they enjoyed their sty look forward to seeing them all again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for The Sutcliffe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 116 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just spent the new year at the Sutcliffe. My husband and I would like to thank the manager Michael and his wife Mary for a great time. The food was excellent, the rooms were spotless, the family pulled out all stops with an all day entertainment and food, with lots of funs and games and live artists over the three nights. Needless to say we will be back this new year. For a great time I strongly reccomend this hotel.

Mrs & Mr Henderson from Glasgow.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyLeishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments just to say it is easy to do our job when we have such good customers look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just back from the Sutcliffe having stayed for one of the Xmas party nights. Staff could not have been more helpful, food was excellent and the room spotless. I must have been at a different hotel to some of the recent posters. Will be booking to go back next year. Also big thanks to the bus driver from Blackpool Breaks who had the patient of a saint when dealing with a crowd of mature women on his bus who were only out to moan about everything. Our group of eight will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

And you will be more than welcome see you soon and thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Old fashioned dirty estblishment should not call itself a Hotel more like Blackpool lodgings --- @ breakfast there was no effort to make conversation with me and my 2 friends We will not be recommending this HOTEL to anyone!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maysmillions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

So sorry you didnt enjoy yourself but i wonder why it took so long to write this review after your stay. I would just like to say and this can be confirmed by all the guest that have meals at the sutcliffe hotel i go round the dining room every meal time wishing all a good morning and everybody ok and will always stop for a quick word with anyone who wants one much to the slight annoyance of the dining room staff who jovially ask have i nothing else to do

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Met at reception by a disinterested woman who was verging on rude. As a family with children, I now understand that we are not the usual clientele. Our bedrooms and shower rooms were minute, hairdrier was useless, and the view from the rooms was dire. The food was completely reminiscent of school meals in the 1980s and trying to get served at the bar outside of "bingo" or "cabaret" times was a struggle. The waiting staff in the dining room were very pleasant but again, getting a beer or a glass of wine at mealtimes was just not happening. The noise in the corridors after the bar closed was just ridiculous-we got to sleep at 3am on both nights of our stay. Truly glad to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chipmonk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michael7072, Manager at The Sutcliffe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

So sorry you didnt enjoy yourselves though i dont see the view of the tower you had from your other room and you were asked before bingo did you want a drink because the bar would be closed during bingo games but at the end of each game drinks would be served Again Drinks are served in the dining room but dependent on how busy this service is depends on how long you wait.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Second visit to the sutcliffe hotel with a great experience last year so was expecting good things. The bedroom I was allocated this year was tired, bathroom not very clean especially the loo seat! The staff were not as friendly apart from Dave our breakfast waiter as he was superb! Moving onto the food .. the meals I personally had were ok but other members in our party had cold food and when complained it was reheated but was not edible... This also happened on the second evening so we didn't have an evening meal on the last night and chose to eat out! Overall all I wouldn't recommend this hotel or chose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pointing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

went back to the sutcliffe hotel for the second time, away back in 6th august with my son. meet a lovely mother and daughter at the hotel. In a different room floor/room was very nice. staff just could'nt do enough for you and the had less staff on as well. Certianly will be going back again next year. Good sense of humour and never laughed so much with all the lovely staff and management. thank you to all. xoxoxo

Room Tip: all goods rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#14 of 73 in Blackpool
400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chequers Plaza Hotel Blackpool
0.6 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 73 in Blackpool
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Manhattan Hotel
The Manhattan Hotel
#45 of 73 in Blackpool
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boomerang Blackpool
Boomerang Blackpool
#272 of 859 in Blackpool
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Albany Hotel on Albert Road
The Albany Hotel on Albert Road
#110 of 859 in Blackpool
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sutcliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sutcliffe Hotel

Address: 70-72 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $58 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sutcliffe Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Sutcliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing