We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless on stag /hen night”
Review of The Wembley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wembley
Ranked #551 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Avoid unless on stag /hen night”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the night for a cheap get away. We was approached by a guy with no top on he was working there. Old bottle top on the floor. Needs a good hovering. And what shocked us most was my partner had a shower and no towels so I went downstairs and they could not find one single towel in the hotel, my partner had to drip dry. Owner seemed nice when we came in at night and asked us if we wanted a drink in the bar. But it was time for bed. A comfy bed and a quiet room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julesfergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    42
    13
    9
    33
See reviews for
68
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here for just one night during the busy August bank holiday weekend. Paid £49 for an en-suite twin room (consisted of a bunk bed) and arrived around 8:30pm. Was greeted by the landlady and her partner (?) who were very friendly and chatty. After picking up the keys we were shown to the room which had a lovely sea view.

The room itself was decent. The TV didn't work but this didn't bother us too much. The bathroom didn't have a door which was very amusing---the bed was clean but a bit springy. Also there was a kettle and teabags but no coffee, sugar or milk. I'm fairly sure that had we asked then Michelle would have been happy to bring some.

I think people are being a little harsh on this hotel. It might not be the best in the world but it's a budget hotel and has a nice friendly atmosphere. It also has a very good location, on the seafront near to Central Pier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Land lady greeted us wearing a dressing gown at 6pm.The soles of her feet were black from walking around bare foot.Shower ice cold the next day.Hole in the bathroom door.2 rooms were burgaled over night on our stay.Grand location but wouldnt even think of staying again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corcaigh1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelby1502, Manager at The Wembley, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
yes i was in my pjs as just got out of hospital i assisted my colleuges to get u all in rooms this has not been proven that they were burgled so uyou are slandering my hotel which i will seek futher advice on your party offened other guests and were out of order
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was ideal for our hen party last weekend. There was 15 of us and Michelle made us feel very welcome indeed, despite having had a bad experience with a booking of women a few weeks before!

The hotel is basic, but as she has said herself in previous comments, you get what you pay for. I couldn't complain about this hotel at all.
Michelle gave us a great start to our Saturday night, and should we ever go back for a girly weekend I wouldn't hesitate to book in again.
Keep up the good work Michelle. xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsbelles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We decided to have a look around the hotel, and were told to wait before we could see the room as it was being cleaned. After 20 mins a man showed us the room which had been cleaned by a 14 year old young boy, after having a clear conversation with the man he said that the bed sheets had just been cleaned and washed. So we decided to stay for a couple of nights and checked in. Once our family of five moved in the room we all were disgusted by what we found- tissues filled with blood were in the bedside cabinet and on the side on the floor. We then went on to find more blood on the bed, cushions. After finding all this in the evening we tried to go down into the lobby but it was locked and there was no one there which is a bit freaky. We had been lied to once again as the man said to us that there would be some staff 24hrs. We rang on the phone number and no one answered. We were left with no choice accept to go sleep without anything the bed was rock solid and had back pain following day. The carpet was not hovered probably felt very unsafe as the bedroom door locks were easily breakable was not a proper hotel card system. All the family did not walk bare foot as carpet was very dirty. Kettle was left there but no cups or milk were left. OVERALL the worst hotel i have ever stayed in very very horrible no family should go there we checked out the following day and in the morning when we spoke to owner Michelle she apologized and said that that's all she could do and that she had been in hospital for 2 days so it was not her fault that no one was in the lobby 24hrs, which doesnt make any sense at all. overall worst hotel in the world sleeping outside is better than staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Masoom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelby1502, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
well what can i say to this you where trouble from moment u arrived sorry you didnt enjoy ur stay the bedding was clean you got discount there was someone here you complained bout the other hotels to yes i was in hospital with my father so hows that strange
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Would not recommend this hotel for anyone travelling with children. Stayed in this hotel for three nights & was the worst experience I have ever had. Very very basic hotel. Old fashioned, and needs a very very good clean. Cannot comment on breakfast as we were too scared to eat anything cooked in here. Land-lady Michelle was very intimidating, and seemed to quiz my partner & I. Shower in room was broken and would flood bathroom each time it was used. No towels were provided or any tea/coffee facilities. Very very poor hotel. Not value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanmar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelby1502, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
i beg ur pardon i did no such thing i am not intimadating and never saw u to quiz any one the hotel is clean u get what u pay for end of day your asked if u happy if you are there nothng i can do simple sick of peope putting place down as it has come along way in the nine months ive had it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

First of all have to say Michelle (owner) is absolutely fantastic! We went as a hen party and some of the girls in our party did not make it an easy night for her (sorry hunni) It was ideal for what we needed....comfy beds, bar, and made to feel at home from the minute we walked in the front door, unfortunately we didn't stay for breakfast due to the previous nights palaver with some members of our party but I feel like we've made a firm friend in Michelle.....would definitely recommend to other Hen party.....honestly girls you'll never meet a nicer, more understanding lady who will happily have a good laugh with you and defuse the problems. Miss you Michelle, see you soon chick, (Only the 5 of us next time though, lol) xxx

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Cowley Hotel
Cowley Hotel
#670 of 853 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lichfield Hotel
Lichfield Hotel
#151 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wallace Hotel
Wallace Hotel
#363 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lynwood Hotel
Lynwood Hotel
#315 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crooked Retreat
Crooked Retreat
#725 of 853 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Mount Hotel
Blenheim Mount Hotel
#241 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wembley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wembley

Property: The Wembley
Address: 275 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #551 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wembley 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Wembley where a warm welcome awaits old and new customers. We look forward to meeting you . Hello to all the wembley has been taken over from the 1st oct 2013 by myself and Martin . We offer great affordable accommodation . The hotel sits central prom close to all amenities and tram stops lovely sea views . The wembley is a 15 bedroomed en suite hotel offering tea/coffee facilities flat screen free view showing tvs .Central heating . Large licensed bar consisting of bench seating and comfortable sofas . Looking across to the Irish Sea . We have a separate dinning area offering home cooked meals including traditional English breakfast . We strive to make you stay an enjoyable one and do our utmost to be the best at what we do . We cater for families couples and larger groups if needed . We offer a home from home atmosphere in a clean safe environment . Let us help show you all that Blackpool has to offer and make your stay one you will never forget . So take a look and we look forward to seeing you Jackie and Martin We now have a new modern dinning area. The hard work is paying off and thanks to all the support of customers old and new :) Unfortunately we do not have a private car park but parking is available on the sea front all year at a chargable rate 7.50 for 24 hours . You may alos park free on side street if space available. Many thanks :} ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Wembley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing