We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bates Motel”
Review of Hesketh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hesketh Hotel
Ranked #782 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bates Motel”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My three friends and I were visiting Blackpool for the weekend and we booked the Hesketh Hotel from Friday 27th until Sunday 29th September. Upon arrival on the Friday we were greeted by the female hotel owner who appeared to have an attitude from the outset. She informed us they were expecting a family of two adults and two children and made it clear she believed the fault was due to our negligence with the booking. Before we even had a chance to have our say she stormed off to fetch her husband who then appeared and proved to be equally as rude as his wife. We produced a copy of our booking confirmation which clearly stated we had reserved one room for four adults and the price had been paid in full prior to our arrival. They continued to argue with us but relented when realising they could not dispute the fact that we had evidence in our receipt. Despite this less than pleasant start to the trip we decided that having travelled all day with the cost for our stay already pre-paid in full we would accept the room and try to enjoy the rest of our weekend. The hotel itself had a very dated interior and parts of the building appeared dilapidated. The extremely cluttered hall of bikes and boxes (which presented an obstruction in case of a fire) meant we couldn’t access our room without completing an obstacle course first. When we finally arrived in the room we were very disappointed but no longer surprised that it was more of a claustrophobic crawl space than a bedroom. There was a large bulge protruding from the ceiling above the bunk beds. We assumed this was water damage and it looked highly unsafe. The carpet was dirty and sticky to touch. The towels in the bathroom were so filthy we decided to purchase our own from a nearby shop instead. The bed sheets were badly stained, as were the pillows (which did not all have covers). Breakfast was included in our booking and the female owner enquired if we were intending on having it on the Saturday so she knew whether to account for our attendance in the dining room. We declined as we were leaving early. The remainder of the stay went without incident until we attempted to check out. Upon us handing back our key she informed us she would be charging an additional £50 for our stay due to the original mix up with the room composition. We refused to pay another penny as we had clear confirmation that we had requested one room of four adults which we had paid in full prior to arriving at the hotel. She became extremely irate and would not allow us to talk without shouting over us. We stated that we were not informed they were planning an additional charge due to their mix up and had this been explained to us when checking in we would have found an alternative residence. She then added she would be including a further £20 charge for our absence at breakfast the previous morning. This was almost laughable considering the breakfast was included in the cost of our stay coupled with the fact we had declined it anyway. At this point her son appeared who was exceptionally aggressive and was perceptibly attempting to intimidate us into paying the fee. As four females we found this to be extremely inappropriate. His manner was fear-provoking and he refused to listen to a word we had to say. He continued to bellow and swear at us whilst behaving in a tremendously aggressive manner. The hotel had a note of one of our party’s email addresses from the original booking which he angrily expressed would be “plastered all over the internet”. He then threatened to contact the police and we assured him we welcomed this suggestion as we had no cause to circumvent the situation. Clearly still enraged he stormed back into the hotel and we began to walk away. As we progressed from the hotel he reappeared and began to throw stones in our direction whilst shouting lewd and derogatory comments about us. We are not unreasonable people by any stretch but the entire situation was a disaster. We would strongly advise against anyone considering this accommodation. Apart from the unhinged maniac who resides there, the hotel itself is not worth a fraction of the overall cost. Having stayed in hotels all over the world I can honestly say this was the worst experience I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sam0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garygambia, Owner at Hesketh Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
This whole review is a complete fabrication of lies. The family room had been booked over the internet for 2 adults & 2 children under 12 yrs of age. When the party arrived they were a hen party of 4 young females. My wife courteously explained to them that as per our booking terms if the children are over 12 then the difference has to be paid. They argued the fact that they had paid in full. My wife then came to get me so that I could explain to them, I explained the situation to them and they kept shouting at me so I went in to my office to print out our terms of booking which are on the internet booking form. They still disputed but said they would sort out later. In hindsight we should have turned them away as they had already admitted that they had been turned away from another hotel. My wife showed them to the room and even offered them 2 twin rooms but they said they were happy with the room and they would stay in the family room which for most hotel standards is very large. Our hotel is not cluttered with bikes & boxes like they said, there was one pushbike in the large hallway behind 2 easy chairs which belongs to a guest who had cycled in from Manchester for a special charity bike event.
Our bedding & towels are immaculately clean & have never had a complaint about the laundering. This reviewer has obviously read a previous rogue review written by a competitor as a lot of the wording is the same.
These females were trouble the whole weekend coming in drunk & rowdy at three o/clock in the morning and had to be told by my wife to keep the noise down as they were disturbing the other guests, who were complaining at breakfast in the morning.
When they finally left on the Sunday morning they were asked again by my wife for the balance which they again refused, she even offered to TAKE OFF £20 due to the fact they had not turned up for breakfast. I was not there so my son asked them to pay & they refused, so he said he would get the police involved as it was fraud. They then walked off laughing saying in a loud enough voice 'ha ha we screwed them over' On checking their room it was found they had left it like a pigsty with rubbish everywhere. At that stage we decided to put it down to experience & forget the matter. I would happily give the names of these guests to any hotel so that they can be refused as they are obviously nothing but trouble. Guests from hell who would NEVER be allowed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here August 9th/10th for a short break away in Blackpool. Upon arrival we recieved a warm and friendly greeting from the Landlord/Landlady. We were shown to our rooms which were very comfortable and en-suite. Tea/coffee making facilities and free view TV. Had a great couple nights sleep :-) Breakfast was also fantastic, lots of variety and nothing was too much trouble. Overall a pleasant, relaxing experience and would stay with Annette and Gary again for sure!

Room Tip: Stay in room 15 as its near the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked on-line at the beginning of June for a 2 night stay 27/28th July 2013 and paid one night's accommodation of £56 as deposit for a double room bed & breakfast -the rest being paid on arrival.
When we arrived about 1pm the landlady had no knowledge of our booking and blamed her husband for not telling her about it. She said she didn't have a room ready as she had had a lot of breakfasts that morning.
We were eventually allocated a family room on the top floor "which had more space" and were asked to go walkabout for an hour so she could get the room ready. We could not wait in the public lounge as it was full of what looked like camping equipment. There was an adult's bicycle leant in the cluttered reception area and a large board leant against the wall filled with craft jewellery, giving a very poor impression.
When we returned and went up to find our room on the second floor, we noticed that all the public landing areas were stacked with chairs, and on the first floor landing the chairs were filled with a mix of 'public use' hairdryers, irons and an ironing board - not a welcoming sight.
Our room had a double a single and bunk beds in it, and a small carpeted en suite. The first thing we noticed was the ceiling had a large bulge over the bunk beds - presumably from water leakage - and looked unsafe. The room layout was poorly planned, with the bunk beds next to the double bed, restricting movement. The bed linen on the double bed was clean and fresh, but there was no protective mattress cover - just an old woollen blanket.Two decorative cushions had been placed on top of the pillows - both had dirty sweat-stained covers. The décor was terrible and the lighting was inadequate. Two bedside lamps had dark, 'concertina' type shades which were full of dust, as was the central ceiling light fitting. The en suite shaving light was not working and there was no shaver point or extractor fan.
Breakfast was served in the dining room, one end of which was stacked with children's toys. A choice of cereal was available and the landlord offered a glass of orange or apple juice, also tea or coffee. We were given a cooked breakfast, without a choice of content - the quality was poor and the tea was not hot when served.
Although we had paid for two night's, we were totally dissatisfied, made our excuses and left.
The website is deceptive and we would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denisons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garygambia, Owner at Hesketh Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I think these guests must be professional moaners, they were nice & polite to us and never mentioned anything whilst they were here. Just to answer a couple of their points, book-in as per most hotels is after 2pm and if rooms are not ready then keys are given, luggage left and asked to come back later. We are a family hotel so toys are available for children to play with, the family room is also very large and has plenty of room to move around. The so called camping equipment( they obviously did not go in guest lounge) was in fact half a dozen black bin bags of soft toys put in a corner overnight in preparation for a charity fundraiser the next day. The bike in the hallway belonged to a guest and and we allow him to keep it there for safety reason and is in no way any obstruction. Our breakfasts are renowned for being fresh & wholesome and we are always getting compliments on them, guests are asked on arrival if they have any special requests. We do not get many TA reviews but you only have to come and look at our guest book to see all the fantastic comments we have in it. We do have a guest in at the moment for a few weeks and only yesterday said that he has stayed in many hotels in Blackpool and we are the cleanest, nicest & friendliest he has stayed in so after reading this comment on TA, we will tend to ignore it as I hope those who read it will also do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Visit to Blackpool in June & had been recomended this hotel by friends, i normally stay in "chain hotels" but decided to give this small family run hotel a go. .........so pleased that i did as i had a wonderful few days here nothing was too much trouble for the owners Annette & Gary. it was also a bonus that they have a lift to upper floors.
The room was very comfortable with en-suite & tea -coffee making facilities & freeview TV, the hotel has a lounge room where guest's seem to meet & make friends & the breakfast was excellent cooked by Annette & served by Gary. Very good value

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janicesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We just stayed at this hotel this weekend. It is very close to the illuminations and sea front, and a little way from town. There was free parking on site.
Room was clean and tidy with freeview and en-suite. Decor was a little old-fashioned, but ok. There is a lift, and all extras like an ironing board, hairdryer etc. were available for us to use.
Staff were ok. We were a bit scared of the lady of the house, as she was a bit of a shouter (i.e. shouted down the stairs to her husband on arrival and she shouted down the phone when we made the reservation). This made us a bit anxious about being late for breakfast in case she shouted at us.
On that note, the breakfast was very tasty. And the man of the house was always polite and cheerful.

  • Liked — Freeview in bedroom
  • Disliked — The landlady
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissHermione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackpool
1.7 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Famille
Hotel Famille
#604 of 858 in Blackpool
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brincliffe Hotel
Brincliffe Hotel
#184 of 858 in Blackpool
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queens Plaza Hotel
Queens Plaza Hotel
#100 of 858 in Blackpool
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brioni Hotel
Brioni Hotel
#380 of 858 in Blackpool
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burbage Holiday Lodge
Burbage Holiday Lodge
#12 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesketh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesketh Hotel

Property: Hesketh Hotel
Address: 51-53 Hesketh Avenue, Blackpool FY2 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #782 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hesketh Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hesketh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing