We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hesketh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hesketh Hotel
Ranked #782 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here August 9th/10th for a short break away in Blackpool. Upon arrival we recieved a warm and friendly greeting from the Landlord/Landlady. We were shown to our rooms which were very comfortable and en-suite. Tea/coffee making facilities and free view TV. Had a great couple nights sleep :-) Breakfast was also fantastic, lots of variety and nothing was too much trouble. Overall a pleasant, relaxing experience and would stay with Annette and Gary again for sure!

Room Tip: Stay in room 15 as its near the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked on-line at the beginning of June for a 2 night stay 27/28th July 2013 and paid one night's accommodation of £56 as deposit for a double room bed & breakfast -the rest being paid on arrival.
When we arrived about 1pm the landlady had no knowledge of our booking and blamed her husband for not telling her about it. She said she didn't have a room ready as she had had a lot of breakfasts that morning.
We were eventually allocated a family room on the top floor "which had more space" and were asked to go walkabout for an hour so she could get the room ready. We could not wait in the public lounge as it was full of what looked like camping equipment. There was an adult's bicycle leant in the cluttered reception area and a large board leant against the wall filled with craft jewellery, giving a very poor impression.
When we returned and went up to find our room on the second floor, we noticed that all the public landing areas were stacked with chairs, and on the first floor landing the chairs were filled with a mix of 'public use' hairdryers, irons and an ironing board - not a welcoming sight.
Our room had a double a single and bunk beds in it, and a small carpeted en suite. The first thing we noticed was the ceiling had a large bulge over the bunk beds - presumably from water leakage - and looked unsafe. The room layout was poorly planned, with the bunk beds next to the double bed, restricting movement. The bed linen on the double bed was clean and fresh, but there was no protective mattress cover - just an old woollen blanket.Two decorative cushions had been placed on top of the pillows - both had dirty sweat-stained covers. The décor was terrible and the lighting was inadequate. Two bedside lamps had dark, 'concertina' type shades which were full of dust, as was the central ceiling light fitting. The en suite shaving light was not working and there was no shaver point or extractor fan.
Breakfast was served in the dining room, one end of which was stacked with children's toys. A choice of cereal was available and the landlord offered a glass of orange or apple juice, also tea or coffee. We were given a cooked breakfast, without a choice of content - the quality was poor and the tea was not hot when served.
Although we had paid for two night's, we were totally dissatisfied, made our excuses and left.
The website is deceptive and we would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Denisons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garygambia, Owner at Hesketh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

I think these guests must be professional moaners, they were nice & polite to us and never mentioned anything whilst they were here. Just to answer a couple of their points, book-in as per most hotels is after 2pm and if rooms are not ready then keys are given, luggage left and asked to come back later. We are a family hotel so toys are available for children to play with, the family room is also very large and has plenty of room to move around. The so called camping equipment( they obviously did not go in guest lounge) was in fact half a dozen black bin bags of soft toys put in a corner overnight in preparation for a charity fundraiser the next day. The bike in the hallway belonged to a guest and and we allow him to keep it there for safety reason and is in no way any obstruction. Our breakfasts are renowned for being fresh & wholesome and we are always getting compliments on them, guests are asked on arrival if they have any special requests. We do not get many TA reviews but you only have to come and look at our guest book to see all the fantastic comments we have in it. We do have a guest in at the moment for a few weeks and only yesterday said that he has stayed in many hotels in Blackpool and we are the cleanest, nicest & friendliest he has stayed in so after reading this comment on TA, we will tend to ignore it as I hope those who read it will also do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Visit to Blackpool in June & had been recomended this hotel by friends, i normally stay in "chain hotels" but decided to give this small family run hotel a go. .........so pleased that i did as i had a wonderful few days here nothing was too much trouble for the owners Annette & Gary. it was also a bonus that they have a lift to upper floors.
The room was very comfortable with en-suite & tea -coffee making facilities & freeview TV, the hotel has a lounge room where guest's seem to meet & make friends & the breakfast was excellent cooked by Annette & served by Gary. Very good value

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janicesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

We just stayed at this hotel this weekend. It is very close to the illuminations and sea front, and a little way from town. There was free parking on site.
Room was clean and tidy with freeview and en-suite. Decor was a little old-fashioned, but ok. There is a lift, and all extras like an ironing board, hairdryer etc. were available for us to use.
Staff were ok. We were a bit scared of the lady of the house, as she was a bit of a shouter (i.e. shouted down the stairs to her husband on arrival and she shouted down the phone when we made the reservation). This made us a bit anxious about being late for breakfast in case she shouted at us.
On that note, the breakfast was very tasty. And the man of the house was always polite and cheerful.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MissHermione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackpool
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brincliffe Hotel
Brincliffe Hotel
#215 of 863 in Blackpool
134 reviews
3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 863 in Blackpool
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,433 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hesketh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesketh Hotel

Address: 51-53 Hesketh Avenue, Blackpool FY2 9JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #782 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $61 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hesketh Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hesketh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing