We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME FROM HOME”
Review of Roachvale

Roachvale
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roachvale
Ranked #243 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
2 reviews
“HOME FROM HOME”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We have been visiting The Roachvale since October 2009 and we are going back in October 2011. This will be our 8th stay at the Roachvale in 24 months. Where do I start, Tina and Rob are 2 of the nicest people we have ever met, nothing is ever too much trouble for them, their guests always come first, we no longer class them as hosts we class them as very close friends, we started coming to Blackpool to enjoy the break, now we find we visit Blackpool to visit friends. The rooms are very clean as we would no as we have stayed in most rooms and never had a problem. Rob does a breakfast that is to die for. We have taken many family members to The Roachvale and all have said what lovely hosts they both are. We have been to many hotels in Blackpool and some not very cheap and haven't had the service and care that we get at Rob and Tinas. If you want a fantastic friendly holiday he Roachvale is the way to go. Keep up the good work guys you do a sterling job, visiting blackpool just wouldn't be the same if we didnt stay with you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were a party of 14 occupying 5 of the 7 rooms from friday 30/9/11 till 2/10/11. Firstly we all arrived late on the Friday night( motorway deadlock) starving hungry. Even though it was way past normal meal hours Rob and Tina cooked us a fantastic meal which made up for the motorway hell. The breakfast was second to none and we all have large appetites, there was cereals, fruit juices, full English icluding bacon sausage egg mushrooms beans tomatos hash brown fried bread, toast preserves tea and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble we had sandwiches meals desserts, Good stocked bar with snacks and sweets for the kids all at very reasonable prices and I mean reasonable. Due to our granddaughter dancing at the Winter gardens very early on the Sunday morning Rob and Tina did us an early breakfast for 6-30 and loads of bacon and sausage butties for those who couldn't eat at such an early hour. This was by far the best Blackpool experience we as a family have had to date and we will never bother to look for anywhere else to stay in blackpool. The rooms we had were both doubles and family rooms were lovely sized room and immaculately clean and stocked with tea coffee biscuits. Towels soap and hair dryers were provided in rooms. We couldn't fault a single thing and with there being 14 of us there was a few crictics who normally pick fault. Thank you Tina and Rob for our great weekend with you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel is spotless,friendly,helpful ,very nice food ideal location with nothing lacking .

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The roachvale is the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in rob & Tina are two of the nicest people you will ever meet they made us fell very welcome on our 1st stay we have stayed 4 times now & we feel like part of the family. great place great people & I would recommend it to anybody wanting to stay in Blackpool

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astra60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

on arrival at the roachvale we didnt even get time to view our room before the very rude owner asked us to settle our bill for our two nights stay . we was then told our room was at end of coridoor and given the key i expected to be shown to the room as when staying in b&bs before this was always the case. no sooner had we unpacked there was a knock at the door and we was met by the husband demanding to know why our window was wide open and was accused of opening it to smoke i explained it was 78 degrees and in such a small room we needed air and i also wouldnt smoke indoors in my own house so wouldnt in theirs as for him explaining he had a keen sence of smell you would never have guessed this as his personal hygine was appauling .on arrival at breakfast the next day we were told to leave because he believed we had been smoking in room which was rediculous .what should have been an enjoyable relaxing birthday treat ended up being a disaster hotelian from hell.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klaire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tailpipe, Owner at Roachvale, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
After 30 mins of your arrival you had paid balance, read & were happy to sign terms/conditions & also given a verbal explanation stating our non smoking policy, a copy of which will you will receive shortly. We had no option but to terminate your stay after evidence found - ash on your inside window ledge, butts in waste bin & on my car below your window. Rob met you on the landing not knocking on door & didn't mention acute sense of smell, as you stated. Surprised you were in bar at gone 2am drinking vodka and playing pool if we were so bad. Most places would ignore this for financial gain but we are not profit motivated hence the goodwill refund you accepted. Again our priority is on the safety & comfort of our law abiding guests who are more than happy to respect our terms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great family holiday in a friendly,clean,affordable B&B,with parking.Very close to pleasure beach/water park/amusements&tram/buses to all attractions in blackpool. Rob&Tina (owners) are very helpful with an easy going manner that makes you feel very welcome,breakfast was cooked well&satisfying! Pool table&Karaoke in bar helped keep kids amused at night time,and tv in room kept them amused at bedtime! Clean comfortable room with en suite/shower every thing you needed for a comfortable stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

What can I tell you about the Roachvale Hotel in Blackpool, My friends The Montgomery's introduced us to this fab small hotel some years ago and we have never stayed anywhere else since. We go twice a year and enjoy every minute of it. Last September my husband took ill and spent 5 days in hospital, I was so glad I was staying at the Roachvale. Rob and Tina the proprietors were so kind and helpful, they took away my
stress and worry and made me feel at home. Rob's breakfasts are legend!! You will not get a cleaner Hotel anywhere in Blackpool and for all you people out there who like a little" tipple" you will not be out of pocket as the prices are excellent.I could go on and on but don't just take my word for it go and spend a weekend with Rob and Tina at the Roachvale who I'm proud to call friends. We have just arrived home from Blackpool this morning and we had a superb weekend again!!!

Regards from the Clarks, Monty's and Co

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dindalick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cresta Hotel
The Cresta Hotel
#225 of 856 in Blackpool
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Fairway
The Fairway
#73 of 856 in Blackpool
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#232 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#296 of 856 in Blackpool
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roachvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roachvale

Property: Roachvale
Address: 88 Withnell Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a clean and comfortable accommodation with the emphasis on a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Roachvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing