We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italian” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fontana Italian Restaurant

La Fontana Italian Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 704 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Established for over 20 years, experience a true taste of Italy at La Fontana in their modern Italian Courtyard Restaurant, set beneath a twinkling starry night sky, complete with roof slates, decorative trellis and of course, La Fontana - the fountain after which the Restaurant is named! Enjoy the first class Italian cuisine & warm Mediterranean ambience brought to you by long-time owner Franco and his team of loyal, passionate staff.
Kesgrave
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Visited twice during 3 day break, what authentic menus. I evening visited with grandchildren who the staff were very friendly to.Would definitely recommend

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    141
    47
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Girvan, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Went 3 nights in a row and would never get tired of it. Atmosphere was amazing and service brrilliant, couldn't fault this little gem.

Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cherry Sambuca!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a great find this was after a long day in Blackpool. The food was great and we received a very friendly and warm welcome. Once we had ordered, the service then became slightly awkward and put a damper on the meal. Couldn't complain about the food, a very homely Italian and lovely atmosphere about it. The only grumble was that after our meal the waiter gave us a shot, as i was driving i asked what it was and then he said it was non-alcoholic, i smelt it and it was strong! It turned out to be cherry sambuca, thank goodness i didn't consume it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThighHigh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Visited here Saturday night and was told it would a 40 minute wait for a table which we didn't mind after all it was a busy Saturday night and we hadn't booked anything. We actually only waited about 20 minutes and were shown to a table. The food was gorgeous and was enjoyed by both of us the staff were fantastic and friendly. The cost was good and for what we had we thought it was pretty average and of course worth every penny. We don't have a bad word to say about the place and thought that the free raspberry sambuca at the end of the meal was a nice touch. We will definitely be back again when we are next in Blackpool!

Helpful?
Thank DisneyGareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great then not so great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've visited this restaurant twice in 2 weeks. The first time i was with my 2 kids. It was quiet as we were one of the first customers on a Sunday evening which i planned on purpose as we'd been to the beach. The service was superb and the food was great. The waiter was very tolerant of my lad asking him lot's of questions.
I booked for 12 lads the following weekend for a Saturday night. The food was still great but this time the service was not good at all. We had to wait a long time for the main course, which i did not mind so much as there were a lot of us and the restaurant was busy and it is better than being served too fast. However following the initial beer order which was ok we had to wait over 20mins for more beer and that was after asking repeatedly. On the second time of being asked for drinks the waitress explained she was busy but there was another waitress setting up a table and i asked her if she could serve which she did. No new customers did actually come to that table. Why could we not be served drinks first? When the pizza's and other food were served i had to ask for the pepper when it was clear it was not coming. Normally i am asked if i want pepper in an Italian.
The food was great though so don't let my experience of the service put you off as the previous week the service was excellent. |The house wine is also decent for house wine. All in all it is great value for money. Just that poor service on my last visit which let them down.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontana Italian Restaurant also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to La Fontana Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing