We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling attitude and shocking customer service”

La Fontana Italian Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 761 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Established for over 20 years, experience a true taste of Italy at La Fontana in their modern Italian Courtyard Restaurant, set beneath a twinkling starry night sky, complete with roof slates, decorative trellis and of course, La Fontana - the fountain after which the Restaurant is named! Enjoy the first class Italian cuisine & warm Mediterranean ambience brought to you by long-time owner Franco and his team of loyal, passionate staff.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My friend booked us a table here for the start of her hen weekend, we arrived between 7-7.10 for a table booked at 7.30. At 7.45 I approached the bar to ask how long they thought we would have to wait for our table to be told that other people would be seated before us. I objected to this as our table was prebooked so they sent a waitress (who may I add did not have her hair tied back in a food establishment) who asked for our order. I stated that we had not looked at the menus as we had not been advised to and were expecting to order at our table. Their reasoning for not seating us was that our party had lessened by 6 people and they had decided to seat us downstairs (where it was extremely busy) rather than upstairs.
At this point a male waiter came over and very rudely started to question what was going on. The way he approached and spoke to our party was disgusting. All they kept on about was that this was how they had done it for 22 years. I told them that it didn't matter if that's how they had done it for that long and that if they had communicated then there wouldn't be a problem. He then had a go saying that we should have communicated that our party had changed in number but we didn't.
His manner was very childish and majorly unprofessional. It was at this point I asked if he would like our business or not and our party decided to leave.
The waitress again then started fighting her corner and told us that Blackpool is a busy place and we would have to wait an hour for a table!!!!
Funnily enough we walked straight into a Chinese two doors up who bent over backwards to accommodate us and spoil the hen!!!
I will not be visiting or recommending la Fontana to anybody!!!!

2  Thank Stephyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFontanaRestaurant, Manager at La Fontana Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We have been a family business for over 23 years and one of the reasons why we have been here for that length of time is that we do not serve customers who are unreasonable and rude to our staff. That's why we are Blackpool's only Italian Restaurant to have won "Restaurant of the Year" at the annual Tourism Awards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 793 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked a table here for 10 for our hen do yesterday about 3 weeks in advance. Upon arrival (about 40 before we were due to sit) I informed them straight away that sadly a couple had dropped out last minute and it was only 6 now (thinking I was doing then a favour as they were obviously busy) 7:30 came and went, then 8. Then we noticed that they were trying to seat a group next to us that arrived after us and hadn't had a booking. We brought it up with a waitress who said that because our party was now smaller they gave our table away!!! We couldn't get an answer as to when we would be seated either. We made them aware that we weren't happy so she said and the male senior that arrived soon after that they would take our order while standing at the bar waiting to be seated, which was further very dissapointing, I would expect this of greggs or a b & b not a restaurant. But o no they'd done this for 22 years but we weren't told. We eventually walked out an hour after arrival very disheartened at the poor start to my hen do and the severe unnecessary agression shown by the male member of staff. Bad on you la Fontana. Gladly we went 2 doors up to a Cantonese with no booking where we were treated exceptionally balloons, sequins on the table very amusingly happy b day ones but regardless I have never been treated better at a restaurant and they will be getting the credit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ZBH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFontanaRestaurant, Manager at La Fontana Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

As already explained to one of the other members of your party, we have been a family business for over 23 years and one of the reasons why we have been here for that length of time is that we do not serve customers who are unreasonable and rude to our staff. That's why we are Blackpool's only Italian Restaurant to have won "Restaurant of the Year" at the annual Tourism Awards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have eaten here each time we have visited the Opera House. The restaurant opens early and has a meal offer. The choice on offer is good and when the food comes it is delicious. The staff are friendly, helpful and very polite. The restaurant is very clean and comfortable. Cannot fault it.

Thank dhtlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaFontanaRestaurant, Manager at La Fontana Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, it's always a pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were going to see the Hairy Bikers and our hotel informed us that they didn't serve food until half 6 so we went to look for somewhere to eat and came across this lovely Italian. Great food, great service, friendly staff (free shots were very welcome!) and very authentic interior. I would definitely dine there again and would definitely recommend to others. It made our disappointing stay in Blackpool much better. Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank missgrace_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The day we were their they were understaffed due to the National and marathon however they ran around and got us fed with smiles on their faces. The food was lovely, we both had pasta and shared a garlic bread and it was delicious.

Thank Eldinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontana Italian Restaurant also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to La Fontana Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing