We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good location”

Yorkshire Fisheries
Ranked #5 of 741 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Established as one of the oldest fish and chip shops in Blackpool, we are proud to be known as The Best Chippy in Blackpool! We serve delicious haddock and cod and have daily specials. We welcome families and large groups as we have seating for 126 people. Take away also available
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good location”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We received a friendly welcome and were quickly served with a good menu which is reasonably priced. We enjoyed our fish and chips but unfortunately a couple of hours later we felt very full, a heavy stomach and bloated, along with indigestion. I am not sure why this happens but sometimes it does when we have fish and chips and for this reason we wouldn't be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 293yal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Owner at Yorkshire Fisheries, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
I appreciate all trip advisor reviews. I am sorry that you feel uncomfortable after eating fish and chips. If you enjoy eating fish and chips, it might be worthwhile eating a lightly battered option next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,151
    213
    48
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Freshly cooked fish, by very efficient friendly staff”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Situated close to North Pier on the next street running parallel to the seafront.
We enjoyed freshly cooked fish, a choice of haddock or cod with chips and mushy peas.
There was a choice of battered, lightly battered or poached fish.
We choose lightly battered, and it did taste a healthier option to normal batter.
Received the meals very quickly, and the staff were very efficient and friendly.
Tables and chairs were very basic, but comfortable.
One of the best fish and chip meals I have tasted.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OxfordTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Owner at Yorkshire Fisheries, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the various options of how we offer to serve you your fish and I hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish and Chips”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Traditional fish and chips, with bread and butter and a cuppa! Top quality food, speedy waitress service, good value for money. Central position in town centre. Wouldn't go anywhere else for fish and chips!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Owner at Yorkshire Fisheries, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that you will only come to us for fish and chips and that you enjoyed the service as well as the food. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Continuing the finest tradition”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I enjoyed being taken here as a boy, and now my grandchildren love coming here with me. Fish and chips as they should be! No trip to Blackpool is complete without a visit to Yorkshire Fisheries to sit down and enjoy fish chips mushy peas a cup of tea and bread and butter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lanky-rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Owner at Yorkshire Fisheries, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We love hearing that people like yourself have been coming for years and are now bringing ther children and grandchildren. Long may the tradition continue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Everyone enjoyed their fish and chips”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I can't eat gluten so I just had some very nice chips (with cheap nasty tomato sauce) , but my husband said the fish was very fresh with a crisp batter and tasted delicious. The rest of the family enjoyed their food and I think they were pleased at the prices. The tables and seats were very basic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulaScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria M, Owner at Yorkshire Fisheries, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. It's a shame you didn't tell us about your gluten allergy as we can also poach fish so that you too could have enjoyed fish and and chips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorkshire Fisheries also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Yorkshire Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing