We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top chippy”

Yorkshire Fisheries
Ranked #6 of 747 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Established as one of the oldest fish and chip shops in Blackpool, we are proud to be known as The Best Chippy in Blackpool! We serve delicious haddock and cod and have daily specials. We welcome families and large groups as we have seating for 126 people. Take away also available
blackpool
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“top chippy”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This must be one of the best fish and chip places in the uk its cracking value the choice they have is fantastic everything is cooked to perfection and its such a clean place the staff are more than helpful If other business had staff like these the world would be a better place
The dining room is large and comfortable the only downside is the toilets are upstairs and eing disabled it creates a problem
We go as often as we can as we only live only about four miles away but in Blackpool at the present time due to town centre improvements being able to get parked is difficult

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmm87, Owner at Yorkshire Fisheries, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review. It really makes us proud to think that our customers rate our service and food so highly. You have made our day! See you again soon. Hopefully the roadworks will be finished next month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,184
    216
    48
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Perfectly cooked haddock and cod - will try the lightly battered option next time. Chips were good, condiments a little lacking in "zing" (vinegar and ketchup). Found this place on here and would definitely come again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilithium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmm87, Owner at Yorkshire Fisheries, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star rating and comments. So many of our new customers are finding us on trip advisor and our aim is to always remain as one of the best chippys in Blackpool so that people like yourself will return to us again. I do recommend the lightly battered fish next time you come. It's still as crispy, but you can taste the flavour of the fish more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish and chips ive had”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited Yorkshire fisheries 20th june with partner n 2 kids , I had haddock n chips, partner had scampi, 2 kids had the fantastic value kids meal of fish fingers chips n beans, all this with a drink each for under £20 , the fish was amazing, batter perfectly crispy , chips were also nice , not a hint of grease, will definitely make this a staple any time I visit Blackpool top marks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertaitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmm87, Owner at Yorkshire Fisheries, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you Robert for your positive comments. We welcome families and we are glad that you all enjoyed your meals and the price. We look forward to seeing you all again when you next visit Blackpool
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food ,why try anywhere else”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Been to this fish and chip shop a few times now, the food is really good and value for money , I wouldn't eat anywhere else when I'm in Blackpool , well recomended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank benjland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmm87, Owner at Yorkshire Fisheries, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for the great comments. Glad you enjoy our food and thank you for taking the time to tell others about it. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lunch for 2, £11!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Why is it 5 star for a fish and chip restaurant? It's not silver service, and no there's no fancy decor. But there is no reason to mark this place down, it's everything we wanted! It bugs me when people go to a greasy spoon, for example, and then mark it down because it didn't serve lobster thermidor.

Yorkshire Fisheries is an excellent fish and chip restaurant. We loved the fact that I could order a 'light bite' portion for the more modest appetite (only £3.50) and my husband chose fish and 1/2 chips because he can never finish all his chips. Those 2 meals plus a cup of tea and a bottle of diet coke came to £11! How much is it at Harry Ramsdens for one portion of fish and chips? £10.99. The fish was amazing - so fresh and you could see it through the batter which was lovely and light. Very clean sit down restaurant with quick, no-nonsense service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pmm87, Owner at Yorkshire Fisheries, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We don't profess to be more than what we are, but what we do wish to offer is great tasting fish in a warm, welcoming, clean establishment. We are very grateful for your positive review. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorkshire Fisheries also viewed

 

Been to Yorkshire Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing