We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John&sharon”
Review of Phildene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phildene
Ranked #105 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“John&sharon”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nothing was to much trouble. Our room was perfectly clean, towels changed everyday, which was great. The breakfast was second to none. It was out of this world. We will be returning later in the year with friends. Can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi John & Sharon, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com, We appreciate all feedback from our guests. we look forward to your return visit later in the year. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    27
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
115
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just stayed 4 nights in blackpool at the new phildene hotel. Very nice hotel, owner John & Lorna are lovely people very friendly and helpfull, couldn't do enough for us. Excellent choice of breakfast, lovely clean bright rooms. Looking forward to staying there again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Folks, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Laterooms.com and your kind comments. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to your next visit. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was not our usual hotel I stay in on St Chads Road, but I have to say it was perfect. The Deluxe King we had was lovely, the personal complimentary touches of Red & White Wine, Water, Fruit Juices, Milk, Water, Thornton Chocolates, Buns, Tea & Coffee, Toiletries was amazing. At breakfast the choice is amazing and nothing is too much trouble. They really do look after you. Thank you for a lovely stay and we will back.

Room Tip: King Deluxe is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi Stuart & Dawn, Thanks very much for your kind comments on Tripadvisor.com and spending the time to review your stay, We always appreciate feedback from our guests and we hope to see you again Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night stay here.. The owners were very welcoming and very friendly! The rooms were very clean and tidy, well decorated.. Perfect location.. Walking distance... There is a secure 24hr car park close by... Excellent stay... Breakfast was great and the accommodated well for vegetarian breakfasts :) will definately come back again! X

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Saira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi Saira & Family, thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments, it was a pleasure meeting you all and you will be welcomed back anytime. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Parking on big letters on side of building and on facility listings at entrance, there is NO dedicated parking for the hotel and this is a real issue, especially at the height of the summer. Paid for a superior room and very disappointed with it, bathroom to small to call a bathroom and shower cubicle just not big enough, the shower itself had no power, it was as though the whole bathroom had just been attached as an afterthought. We paid extra for the room and given a few extra little bits, this did not make it a superior room it just meant we paid for the extra bits. it has got to be said the owners were lovely and could not have done any more for you

Room Tip: Very easy to find, just of the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hi Keith W, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com, sorry you were disappointed with your room, we appreciate all feedback from our guest's, your comments have been noted. regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My room was clean and tidy which is all you can ask for. The couple running the hotel are lovely and you can't knock the service they gave. The morning breakfast was gorgeous, they previded everything that you wanted from fruit smoothes to cooked breakfasts. I would recommend people to stay here and I would come back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Paul, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your comments Regards
John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very lovely owners, very welcoming and helpful, full cooked breakfast in the morning was amazing, home made fruit juice smoothies brilliant.

I loved our stay the staff were lovely couldn't have done anything more for us. Room was lovely with nice touches. When we come back to blackpool we'll be definitely staying here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi Robbie & Carly Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your comments, look forward to your next visit Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#89 of 859 in Blackpool
245 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 859 in Blackpool
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sutton Park Guest House
Sutton Park Guest House
#6 of 859 in Blackpool
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 859 in Blackpool
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 859 in Blackpool
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phildene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phildene

Property: Phildene
Address: 5-7 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing