We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Phildene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phildene
Ranked #104 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My room was clean and tidy which is all you can ask for. The couple running the hotel are lovely and you can't knock the service they gave. The morning breakfast was gorgeous, they previded everything that you wanted from fruit smoothes to cooked breakfasts. I would recommend people to stay here and I would come back again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Hi Paul, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your comments Regards
John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Phildene
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 221 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very lovely owners, very welcoming and helpful, full cooked breakfast in the morning was amazing, home made fruit juice smoothies brilliant.

I loved our stay the staff were lovely couldn't have done anything more for us. Room was lovely with nice touches. When we come back to blackpool we'll be definitely staying here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Robbie & Carly Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your comments, look forward to your next visit Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lovely room, friendly and helpful hosts and outstanding breakfast selection. Room had lovely touches, chocolates, water, cakes, biscuits and a small bottle of white and red wine. Bathroom had everything you could need, including individually wrapped toothbrushes with toothpaste, comb, sewing kit and toiletries for him and her.
Breakfast, the Fully Monty was enormous, with local butchers sausages, gorgeous, wonderful pots of fruit, granola and yoghurts and my husband was offered the best vegetarian breakfast that exceeded anything offered in any other hotel, including the big chains. Tempeh, vegan sausages, everything separately cooked, cereals, soya milk, soya yogurt, it goes on...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sensible68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hi Folks, thanks for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments, we are please you enjoyed our breakfast and service. Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I loved our stay the staff were lovely couldn't have done anything more for us. Room was lovely with nice touches. When we come back to blackpool we'll be definitely staying here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodies92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hi Jodie, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments, we look forward to your next visit. Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on the 29th and 30th November. We were met by Lorna and offered tea and coffee. She told us about places of interest for our weekend. She then showed us to our room which was lovely. She'd even put some little cakes in the room for us.

The breakfast was fantastic, would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rexy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Hi Folks Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to you returning and staying with us again. Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I were really impressed with our evening away and were glad we chose the New Phildene Hotel. It's location is great, off the main strip so you're not too close to all the noise, but within easy walking distance of the main attractions.

We stayed in a superior deluxe double, and it had everything we needed and more. We weren't too sure how to work the shower, and Lorna was instantly up to help. The room was spacious,decorated to a good standard in a tasteful modern style with the lovely added extras. It was well thought out in terms of plug sockets, lighting, mirrors etc and we had more than enough towels and hangers for the two of us.

The breakfast the next day was great, we were encouraged to eat as much as we could manage, and the cooked breakfast was gorgeous, a lovely treat. Lorna was an excellent hostess, she was so efficient and couldn't do enough to help and make us comfortable, you can tell she loves what she does.

If we were going back to Blackpool, we wouldn't stay anywhere else and would highly recommend this to anyone. We would want to return to stay in the same standard of room, and would say if you can manage, it's definitely worth the extra spend.

Thanks to Lorna who was a star

Room Tip: We would want to return to stay in the same standard of room, and would say if you can manage, it...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hi Charlotte & Dean, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and we are pleased we were able to resolve the slight problem with the shower with immediate effect. it will be a pleasure to welcome you both back when you are next in Blackpool. Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the phildene hotel Saturday 16 th of November for one night
The hotel is warm comfortable and very friendly and is located in a quiet part of Blackpool yet close to the tower and theme park
the owners and staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble
The double ensuite room was small but nicely done out and also supplied tea' coffee' toiletries ' soft towels excellent the hotel is very clean and tidy
The breakfast is one of the best I have had in any hotel or b&b or cafe in Blackpool
Fresh fruit ' smoothies ' cereal ' cooked breakfast the menu is really top class I totally recommend a stay here you won't be disappointed
:-)

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brillopad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi Sharon & Sandra , Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. It is very much appreciated. Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 859 in Blackpool
1,197 reviews
2.3 mi away
The North Crest Hotel
The North Crest Hotel
#10 of 859 in Blackpool
483 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#19 of 859 in Blackpool
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#91 of 859 in Blackpool
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Guest House
Glen Guest House
#17 of 859 in Blackpool
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redstone
The Redstone
#48 of 859 in Blackpool
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phildene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phildene

Address: 5-7 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $95 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing