We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phildene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phildene
Ranked #93 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Been to a few bed and breakfasts in Blackpool, but none of them compared to the New Phildene Hotel. The rooms were cleaned to a high spec. John and Lorna were very friendly and left you wanting for nothing. The breakfast was brilliant, such a choice that i wasn't expecting. After staying there i wont be staying anywhere else when i go back to Blackpool. Great place!

Room Tip: Lorna gives you the best room available :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cmb12003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hi Folks, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    27
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
111
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just come back after 4 days at the phildene could not praise it enough accommodations where spotless clean towels every day crisp white soft bedding one of the most comfortable beds we have ever stayed in and breakfast was brilliant fresh fruit smoothies granola yougart fresh fruit cereal bars a full English with everything nothing was to much trouble for John and lorna so thanks for a lovley stay and hope to see you again soon love Bernie and colin

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernieandcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Bernie & Colin, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments, it was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you both again Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had an absolutely lovely weekend. It was the first time my partner and I stayed over in Blackpool for a weekend and John and Lorna completely put us both at ease.On arrival we was took around the building and shown all the different rooms, we was shown all the leaflets they had for attractions around Blackpool and we was told everything we had to know about Blackpool. Lorna and John are very friendly people and made us feel very welcomed. The hotel was spotlessly clean, brilliant sized rooms, comfy beds and a brilliant en-suite bathroom. We was provided with a hairdryer and a kettle and had one of the best nights sleep of my life. There is a lot to choose from when it comes to breakfast including full cooked breakfast, choice of cereal, croissants, fruit bowls, smoothies and a lot more! Also the hotel is a 30 second walk from the coastline and the main attractions.
On our last day we was able to leave our bags in the hotel after check out so we could make full use of the day without carrying all our bags and while waiting for the taxi John & Lorna sat down with us for a coffee and had a lovely chat, we will definitely be returning. Thank you very much for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joooooo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hi Folks, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and we look forward to your next visit. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Booked based on online feedback and was not disappointed.
Great hosts who endeavour to make your stay warm and welcoming and are so friendly .
Faultlessly clean throughout,
Best breakfast selection of any of the numerous Hotels we have stayed in and no combination is to much trouble to cook.
If you want a stay where you can rest without late revellers spoiling your peace this is the place
Will be back to see you when we are next up in Blackpool
Many thanks for your kindness.

Room Tip: pay the extra its worth it for those extra touches that the New Phildene provides
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornproudUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Folks, thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on tripadvisor.com we always appreciate the views of our guests. regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

£85 for one nights stay and had to pay further £10 for parking with 5min walk. Never a 4 star hotel 2 star at best. You would be better off staying at hilton for that price. Room was like shoe box. Shower took 5min to heat up and had little power, would never stay here again felt ripped off at the price they charged.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBhoy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi James, Sorry you felt ripped of by our prices for your 1 nights stay in a en-suite twin bedded room with a full breakfast provided. But at this time of year for a 4 star establishment with the service and provisions that we supply in room. Most people would consider reasonable as our regular returning guests show. As far as the parking costs go, we did advise you where you could park for free and also the paid for car park options available to visitors to Blackpool including our recommended option of a secure gated and patrolled lock up car park @ £8.00 for 24 hours. where you chose to park for £10.00 was your choice and the hotel had no control over that. We could only advise you of your parking options. Our 4 star grading is independently assessed by Visit England Annually and includes an overnight stay by an inspector we are graded under guest accommodation as 4 stars. We are not graded as a hotel because we do not provide additional services a hotel would such as room service / 24 hour reception / porters ect. But it's nice to know you think we would be a 2 star hotel if we provided these additional services. The room is oblong shaped but at approx. 14ft by 10ft hardly a shoe box. Which is larger than your average seaside guest accommodation rooms. Our showers are gravity fed and not a high pressure power shower which is maybe what you are used to, but are fit for the job intended of them. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on tripadvisor.com and we hope any future visits to Blackpool you find accommodation nearer your expectations and price . Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here at the weekend, it was a surprise for my hubby's Birthday, The hotel is great, very clean, modern and welcoming, The breakfast was amazing, Johns breakfast smoothies are fantastic, It was the first time we have stayed there, but we will be going back again, I would recommend this to all my family and friends. The Welcome and service from John and Lorna, was unbeatable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9, it was a good size and really nicely decorated,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Folks
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on tripadvisor.com and your kind comments, it was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards
John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and i are well travelled yet I've never wrote a review before.
We both felt that these guys at the phildene were so hospitable towards us that it was the very least we could do, we were welcomed the moment we walked in, the place was spotlessly clean, and perfectly situated just off the promenade, the room and ensuite were beautiful, the bed was comfy the sheets and bedding were clearly of high quality as was the whole experience of our stay, the breakfast was exceptional, everything was fresh, you won't find better than this place anywhere in Blackpool
Harrogate north yorks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammysuntan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Folks thanks for reviewing your stay with us on tripadvisor.com, it always helps to get feedback from guests to assist us in keeping to our high standards of service. regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Manhattan
The Manhattan
#21 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rossall House
Rossall House
#25 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phildene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phildene

Property: Phildene
Address: 5-7 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing