We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcome”
Review of Phildene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phildene
Ranked #104 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the new phildene last year and were only too pleased to stay at the hotel again,the welcome you get on arrival is second to none we were early getting there but as the room had been cleaned after the last guests we were aiiowed to go into the room,where we found a good supply of biscuits muffins and refreshments of various kinds. the room was cleaned to a good standard and toiletries were plentiful .when the next morning we came down for breakfast the choice was fantastic fresh fruits of all description were plentiful home made yogurts cereals of every kind you could imagine,then to top it off there is Johns full monty cooked breakfast .We will not hesitate to visit the hotel again,thank you John and Lorna. From John and Irene ,Stoke-on-Trent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi John & Irene, thanks for your comments and review on Tripadvisor.com, it was a pleasure seeing you both again and we look forward to your next visit. regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Phildene
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 221 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

EXCELLENT blackpool BnB. You hear all sorts of storys about run down grotty bnb's filled with noisy/drunk hens n stags in this famous seaside town ............... This establishment is the opposite of that :) I enjoy a drink but I want to relax and sleep well on holiday , so a hotel full of noisy stags would be no good , same for crying babies or toddlers who run wild .............None of that in this hotel as it is a child and stag/hen party free zone :) Very nice and civilised for a realxing grown ups break . The hosts John and Lorna are very welcoming and helpfull , they even have a sheet of recommended "good" restraunts in B'Pool as well as the usual tourist information leaflets. The breakfast is the best breakfast ive ever seen in a hotel /bnb , i dont think you would get so much choice in a 5 star ( its certainly better than manchester Hiltons at any rate !!) . All the produce is locally sourced from good butchers , the bacon and sausages were DELISH !!! They also have home made yogurt layered with granola and fruit on offer each morning ( which i enjoyed very much ) as well as fresh fruit smoothies , bowls of fresh fruit , pastires , breakfst bars , waffles and the usual cereals..........Oh , GREAT selection of tea/drinks too , with many organic frut teas on offer. All that on offer and thats before you browse the cooked menu . Proper full english is on offer or you can have a bacon butty and add extras , whatever you want it is no trouble . John does the cooking and Lorna acts as front of house /waitress . They even have a "specials " on for breakfast !! I tried the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon on my first day and the irish tatty cake with bacon n egg on my last - DELICIOUS AGAIN !! We couldnt fault the food or service at all :)



We had booked a "Superior" room which was very modern and clean ( as is the whole hotel ) . There were complimentary wine , chocs and bottled water in the room as a welcome gift. We also had water/tea/coffee and muffins and biccys restocked each day for us , that was a nice touch as i though the muffins were part of the 1st night "welcome" gift only. A mini fridge is in the room , the water doesnt fit in it but the wine does. I used it to keep my after sun in though so it was nice and cool to apply after a scorching day out in the sun !! We were also pleased to see a good selection of toiletries in the bathroom , there was allsorts of handy bits such as comb/shaving kit/earbuds/cotton wool/nail file ect . If id of known we were to get such handy bits in the room i might not have needed to bring so much luggage ( i definitley overpacked and brought "everything but the kitchen sink " for a 4 day stay !!) . if i had of left all my grooming bits at home i would of actually been fine with all that was provided ( although i believe the "enchanced " toiletries n grooming kit is part of the "superior" room only )



The bed has a good firm matress , very comfy ...im sure i woudl of slept great if i hadnt of been sunburnt and too hot !! Lorna was kind enough to provide a fan for my room though , which made it mucg better , although it is the middle of a heatwave and Bpool isnt usally so hot on a summers night . The bed had clean fresh spotless modern bedding and the fluffy white towels were replaced every day . I have stayed in decent BnB in Whitby before that expected 2 of us to make 4 towels last 4 days ! So the towel situation at New Philidene was much better :) The rooms are cleaned each day while you are out enjoying blackpool and fresh toilet rolls /drink supplies/towels are replaced each day. The standards of cleanliness and attention to detail were outstanding , i dont know where they get their energy from as i didnt see any staff so im sure John and Lorna do it all themselves. They are certainly keeping a very high standard indeed.


You have a key for the main door and your room and you can come and go as you please. I am a smoker and was a little sunburnt on my feet the first cpl of nights and coulsnt sleep , so i tip-toed down to have a cigarette outside , which was pleasant in the cool evening air. There is a chair/table/ashtray for smokers outside the main door. This is a quiet hotel though so i was sure to not make to much noise !! We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere as it made for a very relaxing break .


Location - The hotel is on one of the nicer looking streets , in fact all the hotels in that street look very well cared for with flowers ect outside. I saw one bad review on triop advisor that said something abiout "scruffy street" , this is not true. Their is a shut down shop/hotel nearby but this is obviously out of John n Lornas control. We actually thought the hotel was in a great spot !! Literally one minute walk from the hotels front step and you are on the prom/front where the tram stops are. It was very easy to have a meander down to the beach each morn and put my sunburnt swollen feet in the nice cool Irish Sea .................The sea is "up on the steps " at that time in the morn , so you can walk along the steps all the way to the pleasure beach or tower with your feet immersed , if you are so inclined ( i enjoyed it and my feet thanked me !)
We did town centre/tower area one day and pleasure beach another , a 10/15 min walk either way. There is also a very nice modern bistro/cocktail/lounge bar on the front called "beach house " which deserves a mention - great location with sea view and no drunks. Pint of lager more pricey than YATES ect , but its worth the extra for the surroundings , location and view. ( £4 a pint)

Well i think thats covered everything !!

I cant recommend this place enough , and i cannot understand those guests who chose not to have brekkie , they dont knwo what they are missing out on ! BEST BREAKFAST EVER !! I think JOhn n Lorna could do well on c4's "four in a bed" as i cant fault the place . I read a few negative reviews on tripadvisor and reading between the lines those reviews seem to be from people who want to be able to stay up very late , getting very drunk with no respect for other guests . Sour grapes id say as thats not the sort of guest John and Lorna are aiming at. . . . However it its NOT a regimented place either ..... We enjoyed a good meal/drink out each eve and i was in n out of the door in the early hours for a smoke ................... as long as your sensible - no problem . They are jsut trying to avoid the druinken crowd as its not fair on guests who need to be up at 5am ( I believe a lot of business types stay there and i can see why ! )


So yes , very happy with our stay , i have recommended to all freinds and family and will hopefully be back in the future for another stay :)


MY BLACKPOOL NEWBIES TIPS -

1) dont eat at the "Blue Ocean " thats on the front aroud the corner from NewPhilidene . It is advertised as a "asian /chinese fusion food " buffett , eat as much as you like £9.99 pp ....well fusion food should be modern /fresh /tasty , this was not. :( . . . To be blunt it was crap . Crap choice of dishes , polish waitress had great difficulty understanding english ( a very simple order of a pint of lager n a coke - tried to sell us JUG of coke instead !!!) , they try get you sat down and commited before you see the buffet!!
Greasy soup , greasy mains. LOts of very hot indian food ( lot of indians eating in there so the food is not tamed down for english tastes - ok if you want authentic , but too hot n greasy for me ) , hardly ANY chinese /oriential dishes ad the ones were on offer were bad. They were trying to pass SPAGETTI off as NOODLES !!! Some chinese peopel came in while we were there , and the guy refused to be herded into a seat until he had seen the buffet ..........when he did he walked out in disgust !! I wish we had doen the same TBH , but it is the only bad meal/experience we had in the whole trip , so you cant win them all :)

2) Make sure you pick up the blackpool map which is in the lounge/bar area . On our first night out we wandered aimlessly trying to find "funny girls " and /or the drag bars . This was after a thai meal ( very nice ! ) but we got fed up of wandering so just went to BEACH BAR instead . Next day i noticed that funny girls is on the map , as are all other attractions

3) Buy a bum bag to keep your valubles in if you are goign on the rides/pleasure beach . I got one v.cheap at primark in the town centre. . . . Valhalla is a great ride but you will get DRENCHED !! They sell rain capes at £1.80 but i didnt bother , it was hot enough to take a soaking :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FunkyTOMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Hi folks, Thanks for your comments and review on Tripadvisor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

found the proprieters here very friendly and helpful. breakfast was excellent with brilliant chioce of food. en suite was immaculate and fairly roomy. tea and coffee in room, good choice and also can get fresh milk for room instead of UHT if wanted. well located for all amenities and attraction with a tram stop just a few yards away. would recommend

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Hi Folks, Thanks for your review on trip advisor. Hope to see you both again. regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Really great two night stay with Lorna and John at the New Phildene Hotel. They couldnt have made us feel more welcome or done any more for us if they had tried. Breakfasts were fantastic with something to suit everyone, room and lounges were clean and airy. Getting around Blackpool was a doddle, even for 2 oldies, as the tram stop was only a short walk away at the end of the road, and we could use our Gold cards for free trips to Fleetwood etc., Will most definitely go back to this hotel when we next plan a stay in Blackpool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazania303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Hi Folks, Thanks for your review on tripadvisor.com. It was a pleasure meeting you and you will be most welcome to come back. Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well this is a late entry, we stayed here for two nights, my self and the three Amigos,on the 19th-20th october. and we were very pleased rooms are very clean, breakfast was great, fresh and plenty of choice for all.Lorna is great and after booking in John is not a bad bloke if you take your time to get to know him, i can only say he tries to suss people out in his own way.Lets not forget its Blackpool he will have his doubts about all.Three of us had to travle from london and it was quite late and Lorna still made the three very welcom regardless of the time. Being Four ex soldiers we expected scrutiny, and we were made very comfortable. Very pleasant a little top end price for blackpool but you get what you pay for. We will stay again next year. Thank you to all at the Phildene. Geoff, Cliff, Allie, Mick.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Hi Amigos, thanks for reviewing your stay with us on tripadvisor.com. It was a pleasure meeting you all and you will be most welcome to come back next year regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Recently returned from the New Phildene and although its a decent place to stay the frosty reception we received on arrival from John remained with us throughout our stay. The hotel is clean and the breakfast excellent. All staff are good and Lorna seems to be a real people person. I do agree with previous comments that she tries to compensate for John who is rude and arrogant. The car parking is a joke and although there was a space for one more car throughout our stay we were not allowed to use it. We would not give this gentleman one more penny of our hard earned money as he neither deserves or appreciates it. I am presently reporting him and his attitude to the Tourist board.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiaoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com, i am sorry that you felt my business aproach was frosty.
However Mr & Mrs Martin, you do not state that you arrived at 10:45 am for a 14:00 check in without any previous warning of an early arrival, where you were advised that unfortunatly your room has just been vacated by the previos nights guest and is in the process of being cleaned and made up and that we could get you in about 12:30 which we did when you returned at this time.
With regard to your parking comment,
The space you mention that was alledgedly empty for the whole of your one night stay, as advised to you at the time was in fact already allocated to a guest who had taken his car to fleetwood for the day and would be returning later. I sure you understand that spaces are allocated first come first serve and are for the duration of your stay. Yes the space was empty during the day but was used overnight by the returning guest. Regards John & Lorna PS still waitin to here from the tourist board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Blackpool... synonymous with drab, often grubby B&B's, stag & hen nights and bracing weather. Well then thank goodness for the New Phildene Hotel.
OK - so it might not be in the best part of town BUT hosts Lorna and John could not have been more perfect in their endeavours to make sure that all guests enjoyed their stay.
We booked a Superior room - room 12. Nice sized room, desk space, double sofa, en-suite shower room, really comfortable bed, mini fridge...but best of all complimentary wine, bottled water and chocolates. We stayed for four nights (we were attending a trade fair at The Winter Gardens) and every day that we returned to our room there were fresh towels, new soaps and bathroom toiletries, new loo rolls and fresh bottled water.
Lorna & John really do go "that extra mile" to make guests welcome. Breakfast was a delight - just about every conceivable combination of cooked breakfast was available - even bacon butties... and the choice of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals and pastries would have put many a 'luxury hotel' to shame.
They may not be the cheapest B&B/hotel in Blackpool but they are certainly one of the best. Saty there - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Limited parking so reserve it in advance.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Hi Folks, thanks for your review on trip advisor.com. your comments are gratefully accepted and assist us to retain our high standards. Only one point i would like to make is that St Chads Road is in Blackpools Prime Holiday Area and is the best part of South shore / Central Blackpool. Thanks again for your comments. Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 859 in Blackpool
1,197 reviews
2.3 mi away
The North Crest Hotel
The North Crest Hotel
#10 of 859 in Blackpool
484 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#19 of 859 in Blackpool
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#91 of 859 in Blackpool
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Guest House
Glen Guest House
#17 of 859 in Blackpool
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redstone
The Redstone
#48 of 859 in Blackpool
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phildene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phildene

Address: 5-7 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $95 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing