We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home”
Review of Phildene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phildene
Ranked #113 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very clean and quiet home away from home. After a long flight and travel from Canada to Blackpool, we were greeted by Lorna and John who were absolutely brilliant from the moment we arrived. Lorna has certainly found her calling ... she was an absolute gem. Breackfast was fabulous ... our room was very clean and well decorated ... and the bed was comfy. Lorna answered all our questions about getting around and places to see; she booked our cab in the middle of breakfast and it was not a problem for her... she went above and beyond for us! Would definitely return to Blackpool and to New Phildene Hotel. Regards from Canada John and Lorna ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Blackpool calling Canada Hello folks, Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Blackpool. Thank you for reviewing your stay on tripadvisor.com and you kind comments. It was a pleasure meeting you and you would be welcomed back anytime. Regards John & Lorna (The Little Gem)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    27
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
112
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A very nice, modern and clean hotel very well located on a street set back from the front and the attractions. The owner was very welcoming and friendly and couldn't do more to make us feel at home. The hotel is generally well appointed and the rooms comfortable and spacious. Because they don't do a late bar, you don't get the drunken crowds and the hotel is quiet and relaxed. The breakfast the next morning was extensive and good quality....everything from a light continental to big fry ups and the staff were very attentive. Overall a really nice experience and a great place to stay in Blackpool. Unlike many Blackpool hotels, you're not simply farmed through and it's not just a bed for the night (find most Blackpool Hotels are just a compromise!) The New Phildene is a very nice and relaxed place to stay and the super-friendly hosts round it off. Overall, can highly recommend and suspect we'll be back.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TybaltManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hi Folks, Thanks for your candid comments and review on tripadvisor.com. Your comments are gratefully accepted and will assist us to continue to provide a good service to our customers. regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

stayed at this hotel from 19th sept to 22nd sept,lovely hotel and lovely poeple,Laura and John do everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible,the hotel is spotlessly clean and all the little touches in the room are very thoughtful, it is a very quiet but so close to everything you wouldn't believe you were in blackpool,john's breakfasts are very enjoyable and set you up for the day and the choice is unbelieveable, we will definately go back and highly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dundeejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi Folks
Thanks for your kind comments, it was a pleasure meeting you both regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hosts were lovely and kind, hotel was clean, breakfAst was the best I'd had for my whole entire 6 week holiday. Only issue I found was the bathroom in my room was extremely small. However the bathroom in my mums room was bigger

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jen88b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Hi Folks,
Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on trip advisor. All comments are gratefully received and help us to keep to a high standard of service.
As to your comment regarding the size of the shower room / a couple of our shower rooms are on the small side but this reflects fitting them in the overall size of our rooms which are limited as to the age and construction of the building. But they are fully functional.
It’s better to have your own shower room than one down the hall which some guest houses in Blackpool still have. all our rooms have their own ensuite facilities.
Glad you enjoyed our Breakfasts. Hope your enjoying the rest of your tour of England.
Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

we were booked into another hotel on the 3rd and 4th only to arrive and be told the hotel was fully booked.after a couple of phone calls we were told that a room was available for us at the phildene and the proprieters were expecting us.on arrival the proprieters john and lorna were not expecting us so you can imagine our dismay and we thought here we go again.john and lorna could not have been more helpful.lorna made us a nice cup of tea and john went off to sort the paperwork out and we were finally shown to our rooms which were spotless.on our first night john took ill and had to be took to hospital.lorna must have been very worried but still carried on like a trouper. i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately stop here the next time we are in blackpool.thanks again for all your help.hope john feels better soon. linda and glynn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenonions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Hi Linda & Glynn, Thanks for your comments on Tripadvisor.com and asking after John He's not back to a 100% yet but his getting there. Glad we were able to sort out the problem with your expedia.com booking. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

hi i would like to advise people who book this hotel, to make sure that when you think you've booked, HAVE YOU. our experiance with this hotel, started, back in july 2011. after coming back from the brittish open (royal st george's) i decided to book early for the 2012 open. i phoned the new phildene hotel and booked 6 rooms.. 2x twins and 4x single's the proprieter took my card detail's and personal information, address/telephone number, email address. i was sent a confirmation email address, advising the room numbers, and cost of our stay. i had two further conversations with this hotel, between the date booked and one week prior to our stay.(one to confirm a change of email address ) and of course to keep intouch with the hotel, due to the early booking!! ALL WAS FINE.. or was it. two days prior to our party of 8 person's decending on blackpool, i had a request from one of our party, to ask the hotel if he could park his car early friday morning 20th july. i was away with my family on a short stay, in county durham. at this time. i rang the new phildene hotel on wednesday evening (18th) only to find out that the hotel had cancelled my booking the week before!! and didn't think to advise me of this. the owner told me that my card had been declined, and an email had been sent giving me 24hrs to respond. however the email address the owner sent WAS TO THE WRONG address. as i didnt recieve the said email, i could not respond. the hotel also had my mobile tel number, but didn't ring me.so after 1 YEAR and two conversations with this hotel, TWO days before were due to travel, we now find ourselfs without any accomadation.the hotel owner was very rude during my call.and when i asked about a simple phone call after HE SAYS my card was declined, i was told its not company policy to ring, just to send emails. so what with the open being staged and the world darts championships, blackpool was very very busy. and rooms were at a premium. i wonder if both the golf/darts wasn't taking place, would i have got a phone call. (and my bank has had no record of my card being declined) you make your own mind up!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank steve62_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
The Facts, Mr Brodeel booked 6 rooms in July 2011 for a stay in July 2012. he was informed at the time of the booking his card being used to guarantee the booking would be validated and 1 month prior to arrival the card would be preauthorised. Mr Brodeel did contact a week after the initial booking to give us a new email address as the one he originaly gave us was incorrect, this was due to us phoning him so we could confirm the booking. 1 month prior to Mr Brodeel Arrival his card was pre-authorised for the amount of the booking which was declined by his bank. he says his bank has no knowledge of this does he have the documentation to prove this as we have. attempts were made to phone Mr Brodeel to see if we could resolve the issue. as no contact could be made he was emailed on 3 occasions without any reply, we also wrote to his address advising him of the situation and unless this issue was resolved the rooms would be re-advertised for sale. as no contact had been made by Mr Brodeel to resolve this matter he was advised in writing to his home address and by email that the rooms were no longer available. 2 days prior to the date of arrival Mr Brodeel phoned us and became very abusive when informed of the above. Unfortunatly it appears informing someone that there bank has declined there card is being rude. Mr Brodeel then threatened to obliterate us on web review sites at this point my Partner Lorna terminated the call. We can not be held libel to the actions of Mr Brodeels Bank. We feel we had done everything we could to contact Mr Brodeel prior to cancelling the Booking as he did not comply with the terms and conditions of the booking. Why Would we cancel his booking if it was validated by a card guarantee ?. We leave it open for you to decide. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

John and Lorna offer great service at the New Phildene Hotel, with clean rooms everyday and delicious breakfasts available each day, no question if I would stay again. I would advise you to select the New Phildene Hotel as your home for the trip you take

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Hi Michael & Lydia thanks for your comments & online review regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
1.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redstone
The Redstone
#38 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.8 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phildene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phildene

Property: Phildene
Address: 5-7 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing