We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS HOTEL”
Review of Phildene

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phildene
Ranked #106 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2011

First class hotel could not fault anything warm friendly and comfatable excellent breakfasts will return in new year

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjgundog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Phildene
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 221 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

First visit to The New Phildene Hotel..Very Impressed, Ideal Location,Wonderful Breakfast...We booked the Superior Room,Very Spacious Really Comfortable King size Sleigh Bed, Fruit Wine & Chocolates in the room was a nice touch..

The Only downside for us that the shower wasnt powerful enough..You would expect when you extra for the luxuries they would of maybe considered this issue..But would definatley return to the Hotel..5*****

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYLAURA30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I have never visited Blackpool before so anxious where to stay, but friends had recommended the New Phildene hotel, after reading quite a mix of reviews we decided to take the risk.
We paid about £60 per night and i've got to say that I was impressed.
Its got a great location, The owners are lovely, Lorna is friendly and can't do enough for you. John is quieter but definately is not rude as some reviews have suggested.
The rooms were small but nice, clean and towels were changed everyday. When we asked for more milk and tea bags for the room we were given loads with no extra charge. I admit that the breakfast is early 9-10am however it is amazing and is massive and Lorna keeps you topped up on as much juice and tea/coffee as you would like.
Give this place a chance as I think the atmosphere is friendly, John and Lorna treat you like family. Our party was 2 couples and I think that adults would love this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellebelle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

.hi there ,just arrived back from an excellant 5 days at the new phildene hotel ,very good food and modern clean surroundings ,backed up with very good customer care and local information ,the hotels ideally situated for the pleasure beach and a trip into town or paddling on the beach ,very friendly couple ,thats why we go back every year .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The rather small room and limited sea view were MORE than compensated for by the welcoming and friendly owners John and Lorna and their staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble and the excellent breakfast on offer which would suit any appetite. Convenient for the Promenade, Beach, Tram and Bus stops all only a short walk. Pleasure Beach fairly close too. I'd recommend this hotel and next time we go to Blackpool, that's where we will be staying,

Room Tip: Remember that the bedroom is only a small part of your trip and most of the time you are in it you d...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Excellent weekend down to 1st class accomodation, hospitality from all staff and very good choice of food cooked to perfection. Location of hotel great highly recommend for a visit. only complaint about spotless rooms , showers could have been hotter, otherwise very high standard . So thanx to management and staff for a lovely stay.
yours Kenny & Meta Ssotland

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Just returned from a two night stay to see illuminations. Hotel good location for all attractions. Rooms and en suite very clean and comfortable. Not the biggest of rooms but OK for a short break. Breakfast excellent. All w ell cooked and service a very high standard. Arrived too late to park car at hotel so had to pay 11 pounds on pay and display. At least car was safe. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvislover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 859 in Blackpool
1,196 reviews
2.3 mi away
The North Crest Hotel
The North Crest Hotel
#10 of 859 in Blackpool
481 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#20 of 859 in Blackpool
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#78 of 859 in Blackpool
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glen Guest House
Glen Guest House
#18 of 859 in Blackpool
530 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redstone
The Redstone
#49 of 859 in Blackpool
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phildene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phildene

Address: 5-7 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $91 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing