We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Festive Afternoon Tea”
Review of Dahlia's Kitchen

Dahlia's Kitchen
Ranked #134 of 764 Restaurants in Blackpool
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had the festive afternoon tea at Dahlias Kitchen on Sunda afternoon which was excellent. A good selection of delicious sandwiches,warm scones with butter, jam and cream, mince pies with brandy butter, stollen and
Christmas cake. We had mulled wine to start with and a nice pot of tea for two. The service was excellent and we were entertained by Gavin as he put the Christmas tree up in a very friendly manner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jayne187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iainbja, Owner at Dahlia's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thanks for your great review and taking the time to publish it. Another positive comment about Gavin all this praise will be going to his head. Hope to see you again soon Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 406 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

But it's not just me how makes dahlias what it is it's the full team they are my work family and keep me happy throw thick and thin we all work hard to make it work love them all xxxxxxxxxcx

Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have been twice to Dahlia's Kitchen and the second time was because I was so impressed the first time.
From the outside you can't see far past the steamy windows, but when you get inside, it has a lovely cafe feel, with light wooden tables and chairs. There is much more seating towards the back.
I had a gingerbread latte and banoffee pie the first time. The pie had lots of banana, plenty of cream and an unusual meringue topping. it came with a good vanilla ice-cream.
The second time, I had the last slice of apple pie. It was filled with proper apple pieces in short pastry which was not soggy on the bottom. I asked for cream and got a jug big enough for four pieces!
I was spoiled for choice each time as there are some fantastic creations as well as family baking favourites such as flapjack and scones.
I have to say how I love being served by (?) Gavin. That man is so funny and a real pleasure to deal with. He seems full of energy and has something to say to everyone - the real personal touch.
I can't comment on actual meals, but my friends and I find this to be our new favourite place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iainbja, Owner at Dahlia's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. I am really pleased you enjoy the cakes and if you try a meal you will be equally impressed. I was particularly impressed with you mentioning Gavin it's nice when someone takes the trouble to notice the person who served them. He was over the moon when i showed him your review and your right he is quite a character.. Look forward to seeing you soon. Shaun owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

5 of my friends and myself had a great meal at Dahias Kitchen. The food was very nice and the staff wear very friendly. Will be going again next year when we return to Blackpool.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iainbja, Owner at Dahlia's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Thank you for the five stars you gave us. Reviews like yours make the effort we put in worthwhile. See you soon Shaun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Been here afew times now for coffee and cake but today was dissapointed as my friend and I always have cafe renvoir but half way through mine I asked my friend to try mine as thought it had a funny taste to the cream she said it did and took it back explaining that it taste funny and did not want another slice we sat there for a good while before we left but nobody came to apologise or offer a refund as we left we noticed the the remainder of the cake had been removed from display there was nobody about as we were leaving otherwise we would of said something. could be a while before we call again.

Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iainbja, Owner at Dahlia's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review we take all comments seriously and strive to improve the service through valuable customer feedback .I appreciate your regular custom at Dahlia's. The coffee cake you and your friend had was prepared fresh the night before in house. I understand you considered it did not taste right and brought it back. I personally offered you a different cake or a full refund but you said that it was fine. I am more than willing to offer you a free coffee and cake if you are willing to give us a another try. Just one finale point you had purchased the last two slices hence the plate being removed from the display

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dahlia's Kitchen also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Dahlia's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing