We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“supremes tribute evening”
Review of Dahlia's Kitchen

Dahlia's Kitchen
Ranked #122 of 747 Restaurants in Blackpool
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“supremes tribute evening”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very disappointing.We were asked to pay as soon as we arrived and then had to wait at least 40 minutes for the starter to be served.It was a very warm evening and the queue at the bar was endless.No apology was made for the delay nor any reason given.The meal was really not worth waiting for.There was a very small piece of pear in the pear and walnut salad,the main course was ok,had there been more of it,and the pudding was an uninteresting version of a trifle.We were a party of 6 and had expected to be seated on our own table but we were on a table for 10.It was as if the tribute night had been overbooked, and people had been squashed in.Another problem was that there was no choice of anykind,nor a menu to tell us what to expect.We were expecting a menu,similar to the early bird,which we have enjoyed in the past.The entertainment was very average and because of the volume of people in the room,there was nowhere for anyone to dance,which would have added to the enjoyment.All in all,the evening was very poor value,and not up to the usual standard that Dahlia's has always met on previous visits.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blackpooldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    64
    45
    29
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Little Disappointing”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a 2 for 1 voucher on Ice Cream Sundaes so decided to give this place ago.Having read that it had won a Tripadvisor 'award' we were expecting quite good things. It is very clean and the layout makes things tempting but the ice cream sundaes were disappointing and even with the voucher I felt it was too expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Blooming good”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Jenny and Robin for great service over and above. Always a smile and time to put you at your ease. Highly reccommended. Thanks Kevin and Linda

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“More of a Bistro/Cafe than a restaurant.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I purchased a DealMonster offer for 2 three course meals and a bottle of wine for £21.50. I phoned to book for the 13th July 2013 but there wasn't any availability until the 27th July at 7 pm so they are obviously very busy with bookings. My wife and I found this to be the case when we arrived as the car park which is a very good size and shared by a garden centre through the day had a good number of cars in it. On going in we found no reception area or an area to sit whilst waiting for our table, we stood in the service area like cheese at four pence waiting to be greeted, 3 times the very busy staff said to us "won't be a moment" If this had been a visit without the offer we would have gone, there are many places in the vicinity that we could have eat at. After 10 minutes we were shown to our table with another "won't be a moment" thrown in. We were left with a 2 sided menu showing an Early Bird Special of 3 courses for £10.00 on 1 side & an Early Bird Special of 3 courses for £16.99 on the other. We weren't advised on initial seating which menu was appropriate for our offer and when the waitress returned after another 10 minutes we were told that we could choose from either menu. We both ordered the Dahlia's Prawn Cocktail from the £10 menu and the Chicken Breast with a Lancashire cheese stuffing from the £16.99 menu. We chose a bottle of white house wine from the usual trio choice of red, white or rose which was very nice. This came chilled in a wine bucket and also a jug of chilled tap water. The starter was served quite quickly and arrived before the starters ordered at the next table to us from the £16.99 menu. The prawn cocktail was standard fayre with a small amount of prawns on a bed of lettuce with one slice of tomato & cucumber with 2 quarter slices of bread. Please note when ordering that the starter choice of the £16.99 menu is definitely a better portion. Our plates were taken from us without any asking if everything was OK and then we waited for the main course. This took 30 minutes to arrive and when served there was no apology for the delay, the menu doesn't state what is served with the chicken and it came with a portion of new potatoes and 2 vegetables. The portion was a decent size and though not belly busting definitely enough to satisfy. On the plates being collected we were asked at this point if everything was OK with the meal and then asked to go to the cake cabinet to choose a dessert, no hot puddings were available. There was a good choice of cakes available and my wife chose the banoffee cake and I chose the chocolate cake served with ice cream. There is the option to actually take your dessert home with you. The dessert was served within 5 minutes. I found the small scoop of ice cream given was not enough for the portion of cake and I needed more water to be able to finish it off. I feel as in the title that the premises were more suited of being a bistro or a cafe than a restaurant as the service arrangement was very informal and at regular intervals "SERVICE" was shouted from the open kitchen area. The waitresses were very friendly throughout but with there only being 2 of them were obviously stretched. We found the eating area and toilets clean. We didn't use the bar facilities with having the wine but as we were sat close to the bar we saw regular queues for service. As stated they serve the early bird special of £10 on Thursday, Friday & Saturday from 4 pm to 8 pm hence how busy they were. We also saw that they have frequent priced event nights having entertainment with the meal. We left as we came, nobody welcomed us on arrival and nobody said Goodnight on us going. We came and went and I wouldn't feel with or without an offer we would return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We regularly use Dahlia's Kitchen. Although the food is not cheap it is always tasty and well prepared, and there is always a very good choice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dahlia's Kitchen also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Dahlia's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing