We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food again”
Review of AJ's Bistro - CLOSED

AJ's Bistro
Price range: $16 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
St Margaret's at Cliffe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely food again”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Visited AJ's twice in March whilst visiting the local area. On both occasions the food has been lovely. Service very good. If thinking of where to go don't miss this place. Nothing from the outside but the food delivers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    86
    17
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“classy food and warm service”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this restaurant based on the Trip Advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. I visited with my boyfriend and we were sat at a large table with plenty of room. The tables are glass and add a real touch of class. For starters we had the brie covered mushrooms and asparagus tips in ham, both were superb. For mains we had the baked monkfish wrapped in Parma ham, and the salmon fillet, with a side of homemade chips. Both mains came with potatoes, carrots and courgettes. The portion sizes were just right and the flavours amazing. Drinks were reasonably priced. The service was warm and friendly and they were even happy to arrange a taxi for us at the end of the night with us not being from the area. Nothing bad to say about this place, perfect for a romantic night out and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess_Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Can't fault Ajs .. The girls were marvelous .. Did everything themselves ... Food was amazing .., superb value .: definitely be back again ,,, once again .. Amazing x

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eltel132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit for the Early Bird menu”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We visited following a shopping trip for an early evening meal. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the 'Early Bird' menu presented us with a good selection of starters and main courses to choose from. Our food was nicely presented and very tasty and we took up the option of a reduced price dessert. All in all, this was a good quality meal in a pleasant restaurant with attentive and friendly staff at a very competitive price. We will certainly visit again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lacks a little vibe”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went into this restaurant which was virtually empty, and were put on a table in a corner, it is fairly old fashioned, the food was ok but pricey for what we had (both had Sirloin Steak) - Also had a bottle of house wine which was priced averagely, service was lacking for the money we were paying and considering the place was virtually empty, and Steaks were very thin, and not cooked as we had asked (medium rare) probably because they were so thin. They really need to 'up their game' if they want to keep up with current trends at the prices they are charging. Will not be going back there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's Bistro also viewed

Bispham, Blackpool
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing