We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to much sauce!!”
Review of AJ's Bistro - CLOSED

AJ's Bistro
Price range: $16 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Glossop
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“to much sauce!!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

AJ's is a lovely place to eat,my wife ordered the lamb and was told it was served pink, now thats not to her liking, so it was done to her taste and she thoroughly enjoyed it, if i could be a little critical in what was an enjoyable evening out at AJ's, i would ask for the vegetables to be served seperate with the main course, and if one was having a steak, a chosen sauce would be better recieved if it were to be placed in a sauce boat and not poured all over the plate before it reaches the customer, otherwise, fantastic, service and price were well recieved, and we would definately return

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    86
    17
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We arrived at 10pm on what appeared to be a busy Saturday night, We were welcomed warmly, offered a drink and told there would a be a five minute wait while our table was prepared. Not being wine buffs we enquired about the house red and were given a generous taster. Our table for two, was far larger than expected so we did not feel cramped. Our starters arrived quickly and were of a generous portion along with a bread roll. Our mains arrived on large square plates and were more than ample and cooked to perfection. So much so that we could not have desert. The staff were smart, well dressed and friendly. The only downside we found was the gents toilets which had a slight aroma of “gents toilets”, which could only really be cured with a greater through put of air. Rather than air fresheners.

This restaurant is run by a couple who have a passion for their business and deserve to do well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very suprised !”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We went and had a three course Sunday roast here garlic mushrooms beef and Yorkshire pud followed by apple pie and custard and have to say the service decor and food were top notch will definately be returning soon !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aidy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lives up to its' excellent reputation!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Booked a table at this restaurant based on its excellent past reviews and we certainly weren't disappointed. Right from entering the restaurant the service was extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble - even with a 3yr old and 6mth baby in tow! Food was excellent would definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShaunE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Merci, Beaucoup!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Following the excellent reviews we sought out this restaurant and were glad we did as it is unlikely we would have come across this place otherwise as it is down an uninspiring street away from the seafront.
We loved the food, the décor and friendly owner who chatted to us like she’d known us for some time. 2 of ate a la carte & 2 from the set menu: Both offered a good choice, tasty food and great value.
Thanks for lovely evening and “Bon chance” for your new venture. PS if you get fed up in France, Southend always has room for another good restaurant!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loshennells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's Bistro also viewed

Bispham, Blackpool
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing