We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt recommend this bed and breakfast”
Review of Oakwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakwell Hotel
Ranked #519 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldnt recommend this bed and breakfast”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We arrived 20/03/2014 with a coach of adult, 30 of our party was staying at the St Albans but unfortunately 8 of us was next door at the oak well hotel.. On arrival we got shown to our room which was supposed to be a double there was no room to swing a cat, the bed and headboard was covered in black dog hairs, and the bedding didn't have buttons to keep the quilt inside the cover so it kept falling out.. The milk in the room had gone off, the milk was clumpy:/ Not a ideal cup of tea. The bed was uncomfortable but liveable. Me and My partner was not expecting the Ritz hotel as after all it was only Blackpool, The room was very draftee as the sills on the window was broken, my clothes that was in the wardrobe was cold and damp. After a uncomfortable first night we went down for breakfast, to be tutted at when I asked for just sausage, tomatoes and a slice of toast as I don't eat a full English,(breakfast was pre cooked and warmed up) im not sure weather the dog hairs found in the eggs was a freebie or included in the price. We was not given clean towels, and was not given replacement tea or coffee.. Believe it or not the next door bed and breakfast replaced it for us when we told her in passing comment. I wouldn't recommend this hotel and the customer service is at a minus.. Sorry to be truthful but avoid to save disappointment

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gembo305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    5
    7
    16
See reviews for
43
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stonnall
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We went thinking that Blackpool B&Bs would not be the best, but we were very happily surprised at the Oak-well Hospitality. The owner, Braidie was very warm,friendly and accommodating to our needs. The rooms we staid in were up to standard for our needs and the breakfast was spot on! We will deffinatley be going back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ShannonDebbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

we stayed here for 1 night with our 4 children, the location was perfect and the hotel was clean, they are the only positive things that can be said about this hotel. The staff were in need of revitalising and a course on hospitality management wouldn't go a miss. On 1st appearance a sea view room was clean and tidy but in need of a lot of maintenance, the windows were broken and wouldn't close properly, electric sockets hanging of the wall, no hot water in the bathrooms and no heating either. The owner seemed more bothered about watching through the window making sure that no none residents parked in the car park. She herself had a very unwelcoming attitude towards her guests and even closed the bar and locked up early as she was tired and wanted an early night, even tho it was a Saturday night and there was several people in the bar. Upon talking to other guests that stayed the same night we all had the same opinion. I would never ever stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah8267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john t, Owner at Oakwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
i dont think this is quite the truth.for the rooms they are spotless.you have only put this review on because i closed the bar at 11.20pm.i all my was getting abusive and my other guess was very understanding what i had done .for parenting you dont leave 4 small children in a strange room in somebodys home .look what happened to madeleine,for hospitality i evan phoned the restorant for food for them.also i was looking after gentle man in one of my rooms who was very poorly.and i was waiting for his family to come and pick him up.All the other guest was happy how i treated them.its fine for guest to slag me and my home of their are 2 sides to a story and their is the truth.THank you to the guests who left all those tips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights with my wife and 3 children.The staff were very friendly the room was cleaned to a good standard and the full English breakfast was second to none.as far a b and b's go i would recommend this one.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macca196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

we arrived to Blackpool on Friday night the 25 and we left on Sunday night the 27 we stayed in this hotel we spoked to the lady in the hotel she was very nice the room we stayed in very clean we enjoin our breakfast in the morning we did not have any problem the lady was so friendly we were worried if we going to have nasty comment as we are a gay couple but we treated as no different than the other guest not like some other hotels we had bad experience in the past we had the best time in the hotel drinking at the bar and our car was safe to leave it in the hotel car park when we went out around the town i have told most of my friends and family if they visit Blackpool to stay in the Oakwell hotel and believe me when ever we visit Blackpool next time we will stay their and also i like to say thank you to the lady who are very kind and helpful to us and made us to fell we comfortable .......

Room Tip: sea view rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thompson292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We ended up in this B&B after one further up the street had double-booked us. As soon as we entered the room, my first thought was that we had hugely overpaid; the room was tiny, and to call it a 'sea-view' was a joke. I could have coped with this as long as it had been clean but it was far from it! There were hairs all over our headboard and even a few in our bed; the bathroom was also unclean, with the floor and shower being in a similar condition, and after using one of the towels I was left with hairs stuck to me! The whole place also had a vague smell of vomit. By this point the 'hotel' was completely in darkness so we had no choice but to stay there... It got worse, at about 1am we were woken up by some guests in the room next door coming in; they continued to talk and generally make noise for about 45 minutes, and when they finally shut up I could even hear one of them snoring through the walls! The next morning we decided we'd had enough and went back along to the original B&B to get some of our money back for the second night, which we had decided not to stay; they were very apologetic. We went back to the Oakwell 'Hotel' to collect our bags and the owner (or at least the only employee we ever saw there) announced to the other guests in the reception/bar area that we were leaving because the room 'wasn't good enough for us'. We went outside and put our bags in our car but there was a van parked behind us, blocking us in, so we had to go back in to get it moved. The owner told us that the driver was staying until the next day so would move it 'whenever he's ready'.... Luckily the driver had no problem and moved it straight away for us.
We travel A LOT and have never had a problem like this; if you're considering staying here: DON'T - stay in the Travelodge round the corner for a fraction of the price! What an unprofessional & bitter woman the owner is; the whole time we were there she made us feel as if we were a huge inconvenience - she was getting paid for it! Way over priced... if you come to Blackpool booked into another hotel and they try to move you here do not let them! Worst hotel experience ever - don't believe the lies that it has recently been refurbished.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuttiFrutti232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john t, Owner at Oakwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
i thank you for your review i wish it was true . carl thanks you for letting him have his room back.he is one of my regulars.And he is very happy with that room.I beleive this coup[le didnt want to stop in the other hotel what they first booked.What do us hoteliars need to do .thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked in an apartment a few doors down but was horrendous. Rang The Oakwell and this lovely lady offered for us to come look at the rooms she had on offer. We were shown 2 family rooms, both were lovely but as we had 2 children we opted for the bigger room with bunkbeds. On entering the hotel we could see it was lovey and clean very looked after. Our room had a shower room with toilet and sink. Room had a double bed and bunk beds all linen spotless. Tv, wardrobe and set of drawers. Kettle and loads of tea and cofee. As we originally booked in an apartment our food we had taken with us was stored for us and when ever we needed any we popped down and got it.Breakfast was excellent couldnt fault it. MYself and my husband are very picky when it comes to were we stay and we will definatly be returning here. Cannot understandf why there are bad reviews on here about the hotel or owners everything was spot on

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john t, Owner at Oakwell Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
What a lovely family couldnt wish for a better family love them to bits cannot wait till they come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
The Colwyn Hotel
The Colwyn Hotel
#5 of 73 in Blackpool
731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandford Hotel
Sandford Hotel
#82 of 859 in Blackpool
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Albans Hotel
St Albans Hotel
#480 of 859 in Blackpool
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#92 of 859 in Blackpool
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#33 of 859 in Blackpool
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oakwell Hotel
Royal Oakwell Hotel
#107 of 859 in Blackpool
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwell Hotel

Property: Oakwell Hotel
Address: 357 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oakwell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 17 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Oakwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing