We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakwell Hotel
Ranked #476 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very friendly and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I really cant understand the bad reviews,
I stayed here for 1 night with my husband and 2 boys (age 11 and 15), my brother his partner and there 2 children (age 6 and 13).
Brady was very welcoming when we arrived, moving her car so we could park ours so it wasnt overhanging on to the path.
1st impressions were great, nice lounge area with pool table (which the kids loved) and bar.
On going to the room, it was a little small (but you are only sleeping in it) but large enough for us, a very compfy double bed with nice fresh smelling bedding, a bunk bed, the usual tv, wardrobe, coffee facilities and toilet, sink and shower. It was ample for a nights stay. We were all very happy my brother and his family too.
We dropped our bags went back to the bar area had a chat with Brady and off we went to the pleasure beach which was about a 10 min walk the hotel was ideally situated for the pleashure beach and the tower area.
Breakfast was lovely, Brady made you what ever you wanted and there was cereals and a few juices on offer too.
Very reasonable rate for the room too.
We have not complaints at all.
We will be going back next year.
Thanks for a great, comfortable and welcoming stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DT39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    5
    6
    16
See reviews for
42
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

dont listen to nasty reviews!! just bk from a stay here and the hotel is spotless!!
imacculate infact.
Had no problems friendly staff
never made breakfast mysel but my friend did n said it was really nice
will b bk here next time!!!

Laura g

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Tried to give the room the benefit of the doubt, but as time went on we found more and more things wrong, broken handles with screws sticking through on the wardrobe and drawers, stains on mattress and the final straw was seeing our children scared to get on the bunkbed as it looked like all the bolts were only finger tight. We had to leave at 2 in the morning. This is the kind of place that would put people off Blackpool. My advice is to find somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Basic accommodation but friendly and supportive staff. Would recommend as good breakfasts, clean and well looked after accommodation and sea views!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V icki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We had a lovely long weekend here with my family and sisters family, very enjoyable, good value for money and the staff were very helpful, lovely and patient with us.

Thanks again for making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeaWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cala san vicente
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

booked for four nights only managed three ,that was an effort,double bed was terrible showers cold,breakfast terrible £6.00 for a can of carling and vodka and flat lemonade,wife washed her hair owner burst in room to say water was leaking through ceiling didnt even chap door we were seated next to a window at brekkie the windowsill was absolutely filthy very off-putting one of the worst ever.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holybags64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakwell186332, Owner at Oakwell Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
i am sorry you didnt enjoy your stay you didnt complain when you was having drinks in the bar every night. if my room was as bad as you say why do all my clients book this room and for me comeing in the room i did knock and opened the door you said it was ok to come in if you yoused the shower properly the cold shower mind you it wouldnt of come through my ceiling it cost me £150 to get it replaced i could of sent you the bill, if i was that way inclined but thank you for your kind review ,brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

stayed here at the end of the last month with six friends. the hotel is nice, rooms suitable and clean. the staff were absolutly lovely and couldnt do enough. they were also so patient with us, 7 girls!!...it takes a tad longer than 10am to get ready! haha. and they were there to help at anytime. the small bar downstairs was very cheap. it felt like home being there to be honest, and we were all really comfortable. breakfast was also served and was anything you'd expect from a full breakfast, also choice of cereal. id just reccomend gettng glasses bigger than thimbles for the orange juice! haha. we were also able to leave our bags for the day whilst we went on the pleasure beach. which was only a ten minute walk, the hotel is pretty much between the nightlife hotspot and the pleasure beach, we walked to both main attractions...even at night in heels! at the end of the day, respect goes both ways in a small hotel like this one. if you respect the hotel and the staff, you will get full respect back. thank you for a lovely stay. we will most definatly back :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fasherlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Albans Hotel
St Albans Hotel
#434 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The ShoreSide
The ShoreSide
#248 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rockcliffe Hotel
Rockcliffe Hotel
#263 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Beach
South Beach
#85 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwell Hotel

Property: Oakwell Hotel
Address: 357 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oakwell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 17 en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Oakwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing