We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"What a find"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterford
Ranked #352 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“"What a find"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

What can i say, excellent in every way, stayed in several so called 4* guest houses in Blackpool The Waterford is by far the best.
Great location to get away from the main drag at the end of the day, but close enough to get your fill of everything Blackpool has to offer.
Great hosts rooms and breakfasts fantastic.
The only place to stay in Blackpool.

Room Tip: Try the King Size Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
77
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had tickets for a concert at the Opera House and decided to stay in Blackpool for a couple of nights. Booked the Waterford after reading previous good reviews and so glad that we did. Karen and Simon made us feel very welcome upon arrival. Our room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and nice touches, robes, slippers, tea, coffee. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and cooked to order by Simon. The Waterford is in a good location for all attractions but not in the middle of all the noise from the nightclubs and is close to all transport links. When visiting Blackpool in the future we will definately return here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiganSmudgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This guest house is more like a five star... infact its better than some 4/5 star hotels I have stayed in.
I was there for the Soul luxury weekender at the Hilton hotel 4th Jan 2013...the Waterford is just a cross the road from the Hilton so was great for me and my partner. Simon & Karen are fantastic people who run this lovely guest house...Rooms are lovely & so so clean .
My partner said you could eat your food off the bathroom floor its that spotless. There was plenty of milk coffee tea sugar & biscuits is you wanedt them. We also had lovely white robes & slippers in our room & a big bottle of filtered water with a mini fridge.
Breakfast in the morning was the best we have ever had lovely & hot & plenty of it.
Simon & Karen make your stay at the Waterford so lovely & welcoming this has been our second year back at this fanstastic guest house & are looking forward to many more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We bought tickets to see "Fascinating Aida" for November 16th and then realised we ought to book into a hotel. After looking at a few we decided that The Waterford looked as if it would be ok...and booked 2 nights. It was more than just "ok"

Karen and Simon were very welcoming and we were very pleasantly surprised by the room. Spotless and with attention to detail there was even an "emergency kit" comprising sewing materials, plasters, pins, etc. The room was comfortable and warm with lovely fluffy towels and dressing gowns/slippers!!

Breakfast was served in a modern, well decorated room with self service cereals, juices, fresh fruit and yoghurt, etc and there was a good choice for the main course. Simon does an excellent full English though the Scambled egg and smoked salmon on Sunday morning went down treat!!

If you need reasonable priced accommodation that is clean, cosy and welcoming (and it's only a 15 minute walk to the tower) then we would certainly recommend "The Waterford". If we visit Blackpool again we will certainly not bother looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Waterford and can highly recommend it if staying in Blackpool. We had tickets for the Ballroom dancing Competition at The Winter Gardens and looked for accommodation nearby. There are several hotels but seemed to have lots of coach parties staying there. We opted for this B&B having read reviews on here and were not disappointed.
It is about 20mins walk along the seafront to the main attractions but this did not put us off and there is a bus stop yards from the door if you don't want to walk or the weather is bad. Karen greeted us and gave us all the info we needed for our stay. The room was fine, not that big but more than adequate, including everything you could possibly want or need. There is a tv, heater, hairdryer, tea & coffee(and biscuits ), mini fridge, ironing board, safe plus a box with basic essentials like first aid kit, sewing kit, clothes brush etc. YOu don't often find that even in an upmarket hotel. They have thought of everything and I'm sure if there was something you required, it would not be a problem to get it!
Breakfast was served in the Dining Room and was freshly cooked to order. Whilst you wait, you can help yourself to cereal, juice, mini cakes, fruit or yoghurts. The main course was either a full English, Kippers or smoked salmon & scrambled egg, plus toast of course. The room was clean and tastefully furnished to a high standard.
All in all, as I say in the title, more than a B&B and can easily rival one of the Hotels there but with better service and English! We will certainly return if we go to Blackpool again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The has to be the best b&b we have ever stayed at. All the rooms we very well presented and the bathroom was immaculate. Simon and Karen were fantastic hosts and nothing was to much trouble. Would definitely recommend this place to stay if visiting Blackpool
Janet & John


  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland, Fife, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was over 40 years since my wife and I last stayed in Blackpool. So, you'll appreciate that our previous experience didn't make us want to rush back. On that occasion, we stayed in an attic-room, no television and a three-quarter sized bed. No choice at breakfast, just everything swimming in grease. Took us a few months to recover from the experience. Now! If we had stayed in a guest house of the same standard as The Waterford, then perhaps we would not have holidayed abroad every year since. Located in a quiet street just off the North end of the promenade, The Waterford is ideally situated to walk to nearly all the main attractions. Our room was a good size, spotlessly clean and had all you'd expect and more in good quality establishment. The bathroom looked as if it was shiny new and would put many 5 star hotels to shame. The dining room is classy, with an excellent choice of food for breakfast, beautifully cooked and served. We never used the guests' lounge but it is large, well furnished and would not be out of place in a top hotel. So you'll realise that we were impressed. However, the most impressive aspect to The Waterford are the owners, Simon and Karen. With 9 rooms, this is quite a large guest house, so imagine our surprise when Simon and Karen said they do everything themselves. They feel this is the only way they can maintain the standards they are trying to achieve (and do achieve). You are welcomed by Simon and Karen. Simon's good humour and Karen's knowledge of Blackpool contributed immensely to a wonderful visit. Simon cooks and Karen serves at breakfast. Both owners do the rooms. The laundry is done in house. I could go on and on about their attention to detail. No absentee hosts here. Brilliant! Loved it! We'll be back and it will not be another 40 years! The Waterford certainly sets a high standard for others in Blackpool to aspire to.

Room Tip: The king sized rooms are worth the little bit extra charged if staying for a few nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ESMC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#10 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#167 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenwalden Guest House
Glenwalden Guest House
#208 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterford

Property: The Waterford
Address: 2 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Waterford 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
situated just off the promenade in a quiet location on Blackpool's North Shore, The Five Star Waterford offers stylish accommodation for couples wishing to relax after a busy day. Our Guest rooms have King Size beds with Egyptian cotton linen, Flat screen TV, Complimentary refreshments including Coffee machine and Mini Fridge. The en-suite Bathrooms include Walk-in shower, Luxury towels and Bathrobes, Slippers and Duck Island Toiletries. In the morning, Guests can select from a choice of Award Winning Breakfast all cooked to order using locally sourced produce. Blackpool's town centre can be reached after a 20 minute walk along the sea front. Limited parking is available (reservation not possible).There is Free parking nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing