We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Golden Sands Guest House
Ranked #156 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My self,wife and grandson stayed for 3 nights B&B at The Golden Sands in Gynn Avenue.
We had a medium sized twin bedded en suite room tastefully decorated on the top floor over looking the front street in a quiet location.
The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean and tidy and had a mini fridge with a complementary half bottle of wine waiting on arrival, small screen digital TV, hair dryer, plenty of cupboard space for clothes.
The ample full English breakfast was served on time and was cooked to perfection and included cereals, fruit and beverages.
The service was excellent and Sylvia the owner was very friendly, attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B as it is ideally situated very close to the sea front on the North Pier, near a tram stop and close to Blackpool North Station.

Room Tip: Room No. 7. The B&B Is about a 20 minute walk from Blackpool Tower on the North Pier. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netsky271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
71
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here on a overnight stop in Blackpool , on arrival we were greeted by the owner Sylvia , as the room was not ready for us she invited us into the lounge for a cup of tea which was a nice touch. The room was spotless and comfortable . In the morning the breakfast was especially good , nice portions and good quality , everything you would like for a good hearty breakfast. Would not hesitate staying here again and recommending to others for a comfortable , clean , and friendly guest house . Top marks The Golden Sands.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredtheredManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Arrived at 3.00pm and we were greeted very warmly and shown to our room by Sylvia. we had a small bottle of wine and glasses waiting complementary i may had which we found very enjoyable while unpacking. Room a little on the small side but that didn't matter to much as like other guests we only slept in there and just to add the room was spotless. The bed was so comfy and we had a feather duvet which was lovely. In the room was a fridge which was noisy but we turned it off over night then on again in he morning simple really, there was a biscuit jar which was topped up each day with all the tea and coffee needed.
Breakfast was great what ever we wanted was never to much trouble and i must say the scrambled eggs were the best I've tasted any where.
It was about a 15 minute walk to the town which we didn't mind as it was so quiet at night which ensured a good night sleep and we had no trouble parking.
we found our hosts most accommodating and very friendly we would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: we stayed in there double room but they do have premier doubles which i understand are more spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent only one night here but it was a great experience and we will definately return. We received a lovely welcome from Sylvia. We hoped the pictures of the hotel and rooms were accurate and we were pleased to find they were. Spotless clean throughout. Not a problem parking and we had a spot directly in front of the hotel. Breakfast was a great start to the day with lots of choice and plenty to fill even people with a big appetite. It is wonderful to find such a high quality establishment that allowed us to take our elderly dog with us as many hotels and B&Bs we looked at were of a poor standard.Many Thanks Sylvia. Best Wishes Sheree, Steve and Abbey(the dog).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShereeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

very clean and inviting. Hospitality was excellent. Comfortable beds and rooms. Would stay again. 1 Mile from tower. Great walks.Breakfast was great. husband and wife due. They where fantastic in making you feel welcome.

Sandra,John,Peter and Frances

Room Tip: We where in room 5. very comfortable.A lot of stairs,but didn't mind as the rest of the stay mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bantry, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

we stayed 2 nights and it was wonderful:beautifuly decorated room exceeded my expectations,spacious,very comfy beds,very clean bathroom,very good breakfast,but first of all 10 out of 10 for the location:quiet street free from traffic,noises present everywhere else in blackpool,but not too far from the centre,everything was perfect for me for the price paid.fantastic value for money.we got much more than we d get somewhere else for the same wallet

Room Tip: get acquainted with the rooms on the golden sands webside,maybe even write or phone the owner,we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 400travelholic400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Positives
- they were flexible and good enough to let us check in couple of hours early.

- complimentary bottle of wine.
- room nice and clean
- breakfast was nice

Negatives
- sexist breakfast- men get more than the women which I think in this day and age is not fair.
- hospitality- we asked if we could leave our bags somewhere as it was an early checkout and we would have likes to explore more without carrying our bags around, we were told we could only leave them until Dinner as they had things to do! Not the best attitude! And it is this that made me decide that I would not return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhirhi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Golden Sands Hotel
Golden Sands Hotel
#327 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#179 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.3 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#227 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#307 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waves Hotel
Waves Hotel
#23 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arendale Hotel
Arendale Hotel
#291 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Sands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Sands Guest House

Property: The Golden Sands Guest House
Address: 20 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Sands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Golden Sands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing