We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Blackpool South Shore
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Looking for a cheap and cheerful place to stay for a weekend away, my wife and I chose the South Shore Travelodge, at the end of May. This was a wee nostalgia trip back to Blackpool where we had both had so many funfilled memories as kids. But to the hotel review.

Ok lets get the wee niggles out the way and niggles are all they are. The bathroom only had a very small bottle of body wash and no soap, not even one of those tiny little square ones the size of an after eight mint you sometimes find as a token gesture. However, the reson its just a wee niggle is because if you stop off at reception on the way in you can just ask for any top up and the very friendly staff will sort you out with ample. And thats the niggles covered.

The hotel itself is back a couple of streets from the prom and is about half way between the Tower and the Pleasure Beach right beside Blackpool Football ground. It also has a large car park and for a reasonable five pound each day your car can rest easy without the threat of those lovely parking people. This is very handy in comparison to most other places where parking is minimal. Entering the hotel you'll immediately find the reception and to the left the bar/restaurant and it is here you will meet the very friendly staff who offer a warm welcome. Our room was on the second floor and had plenty of space and a neat fresh bathroom which was perfectly fit for purpose with a bath/shower combo. The bed was good and comfortable but then with all the sea air and happy wandering I could probably sleep anywhere. Oh one other wee niggle which I think seems to be a travelodge space saving idea to keep things minimal is that a little more storage would be handy. We didn't take too much stuff because of the length of our stay but some people might have to keep a few things in cases depending on the number of people and duration of their stay. But like I said - a minor niggle.
Each day the room was cleaned thoroughly and quickly, one day while we were at breakfast, it was as though the shoemakers elves had been in. And even though the cleaners are around early on they are quiet and discreet.
Food - we only had breakfast each day which was perfectly adequate and probably what you'd expect. Scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, toast, cereals, croissants aswell as coffee, tea and fruit juices. All served buffet style so you, like me, can fill up before heading off to reacquaint yourself with some highly nutricious candy floss and Mr Whippy! I really do need to grow up!!!
Otherwise, the hotel was clean and very quiet especially so bearing in mind a hen night arrived on the same day we did. The restaurant area is bright and clean. Quick tip - grab a table beside a window and watch the odd couple try to have a conversation about what one or the other did the night before that definitely didn't please the other - it's a glorious way to eat breakfast and you also learn how good a lipreader you can be!!!

A special mention must also go to the staff, all of whom were courteous, friendly and helpful.

Finally, while the hotel can't offer a seaview it really doesn't have to because it offers great service and comfortable surroundings at a very reasonable price when you return back from spending the whole day with a sea view... whilst eating candy floss... and Mr Whippy... and fish and chips.............

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,209 - 1,215 of 1,423 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

I took my two children to stay here as we had some places to visit in Blackpool,great helpful friendly staff and lovely clean rooms and a comfier bed than mine. would def use again when I go to Blackpool.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladycopuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Excellent Stay - Bed very comfortable room good size even the kids put up beds were a high standard. Breakfast good quality and filling. Staff helpful and friendly = no issues at all would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Similar room rates to other Travelodge hotels. This is a new building, rooms are very spacious and airy. Dressing table comes complete with bottle opener (we didn't need to use this). TV is wall mounted to create even more space.

Towels are supplied but being a 'green' chain they ask you only use what you need to be environmentally friendly.

Central location with lots of facilities in the area. There is a restaurant attached for convenience.

We were greeted with a smile and met at least 3 other staff members who were all pleasant and polite.

There's a little play-park only a hop, skip and jump from the hotel for young children. For older people there are landscaped areas with benches to sit on.

Given this area was rather grim a few years ago with just a pot holed road with multiple parking areas to get you into Blackpool town centre I'd say the council have done a fantastic job of brightening this up and creating a lovely place for young and old. Well done Blackpool.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view. Ours looked onto Blackpool football ground which has also had a facelift. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadMammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We arrived at the hotel 4 hours before check in time, we went into reception and asked if we could leave the car on the car park. The lady behind the desk was lovely and said 'Yes, no problem and told us what to do'
We went off in to blackpool (20 mins slow walk) and came back about 5 ish. Very easy check in.
Went up to the room, 102, very clean, couldn't fault it.
We decided instead of walking back into town to get some food we would eat in.
It was lovely, a lovely man named Joe was serving and he made everyone feel welcome. The food was lovely.
The bed was really comfy, the small pull out bed wasn't brill but it was Ok.
There was a queue for breakfast the next morning, obviously everyone had the same idea to go for breakfast at 8.30. But it wasn't a problem and when we did sit down (15 mins later) the food was great.

We will definitely come back again :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10rach1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here over the Bank Holiday weekend and must admit thought it would be noisy with lots of Stag and Hen parties. No need to worry, we didn't have any problems. All the staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. Four of us shared a room but there was still plenty of space so we didn't feel too claustrophobic. Bed was really comfortable. Room clean, bathroom clean, plenty of towels for all four of us. Will definitely book again when in Blackpool and would recommend it to anyone. The only bad comment I have is that the breakfast wasn't great (bacon and sausage overcooked) but our 9 year old loved it so what do we know?!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jed62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on saturday in room 316, room was lovely and immaculate, only thing was my daughter found her bed was a bit hard, breakfast was ok, scrambled egg was a bit tough but other than that we will definitely be back :D

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank cookie848484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Blackpool South Promenade
0.1 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Blackpool South Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Blackpool South Shore

Address: Seasiders Way, Blackpool FY1 6JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#28 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $47 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Blackpool South Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Blackpool South Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Blackpool South Shore Hotel Blackpool
Travel Lodge Blackpool
Blackpool Travelodge
Blackpool Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing