We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous week away at The Floss”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Floss Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vicky T
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous week away at The Floss”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely week away at The Floss for our first wedding anniversary and Val and Ron were really kind and helpful! The cakes on arrival were delightful after a long journey and the kind gesture of a card and some bubbles to help us celebrate our special occasion were above and beyond. Michael was really helpful throughout the booking process and communication was clear and he was quick to respond to questions. We had a gorgeous week in the Lakes and visited our favourite places in Ambleside and Grasmere (for the best gingerbread in the world!) and we also explored some new places. The location of The Floss is perfect to reach lots of other locations and Bowness is just a short walk down the road. We visited Hilltop (a childhood dream) and even braved the climb up Helvellyn! The Floss was clean, perfect in terms of space for us and it had everything we needed. Excellent quality and we will definitely be back again!

Vicky and Dom

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2017
Many thanks Vicky and Dom. We are really glad you had a good time and were happy with The Floss. Congratulations on doing Helvellyn, it's a great walk, my partner and I did it in the snow a few months ago. Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future, best wishes Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hall6698
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommend the floss”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

Have visited a number of times. Always had a wonderful stay. Will keep going back. Easy access to Windermere and surrounding areas. Would highly recommend the floss.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
517
n.e
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A True GEM......!!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 3rd stay at The Floss, we loved it so much the first time, we keep coming back! It's a perfect retreat for 2, and everything has been done to a very high standard. It's welcoming, comfortable & cosy, with everything you could possibly need.. The location is great, as you have Windermere right there, and then Bowness not even a 10 minute walk down the road. We are walkers, and there are some great ones from the door step, so no need to get in the car if you don't want to. Bowness is fabulous, with a great mix of restaurants & bars, and cute shops! Val & Ron are lovely hosts, and Michael is a pleasure to deal with, when arranging your booking. It's our favourite bolt hole, and we'll be back again!!! Thanks for everything, Ellis family!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2017
What a lovely review. Thank you very much. We love having return guests to The Floss and hope to you both again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place for a week around Windermere”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, with really good facilities e.g. kitchen had everything we needed. Perfect size for a couple and felt very comfortable.

Ron and Val were really friendly and welcoming cake and tea was a really nice touch!

Location was nicely convenient, walking distance between Windermere and Bowness so didn't feel that not having a car was a problem at all.

Would definitely like to stay again next time we're up in the Lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Really good quality kitchen and bathroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Thanks for your lovely review. We're really pleased you had a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing