We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wheatlands Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wheatlands Lodge
Ranked #12 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Meols, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent a wonderful two nights at Wheatland Lodge which was booked as a surprise birthday treat. Richard and Yvonne were excellent hosts. For breakfast we had full English on day 1 which was superb. Day 2 I had the smoked salmon which is sourced from Scotland, it was delicious and not to be missed. We were lucky enough to have fantastic weather and enjoyed spending a wonderful day on Lake Windermere stopping off at Wray Castle, Brockhole and Ambleside finishing with an Island tour. We dined at Roberto's in Bowness which was excellent value and Lazy Daisy's in Windermere which was well recommended by Yvonne. Local transport was excellent and we used the bus to visit Grasmere. We would certainly recommend Wheatlands Lodge if you are looking for excellent service in a convenient location.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 on the first floor to the front which had a four poster bed with two easy chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    33
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
33
510
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

My partner and I have just been to Wheatlands Lodge for 3 nights. From the moment we arrived we have had Ist class service. The hotel is very clean, modern and has all those little touches you like at home. We really enjoyed our breakfast I like fresh fruit in the morning and there was several choices and even my fav stewed apricots in syrup. I asked Yvonne if she sold her produce unfortunately she doesn't but I would have bought her special apricots.

Nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this place to my friends because they like nice places and good food. We will definatley go back as it was a special experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma2012hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We came here to get away for a few days after our wedding and didn't want to leave! To start, we were greeted and shown to our room (room 8) on the top floor by Richard, who was lovely and very friendly. When we were left, we realised that Richard and Yvonne had left a chilled bottle of champagne for us and put a heart made of rose petals on the bed! The bathroom was enormous and so clean that you could see your reflection on every surface. Even the skirting boards in the room had no scuffs! After checking out the house, we realised that this was the high standard throughout. Breakfast was delicious, local produce. Tea and coffee cups never left to go empty either and the home made jams were to die for! Had tea and cake brought to us in the garden which was lovely! Richard and Yvonne were so helpful with places to go, gave us maps, directions etc. Overall, hands down the nicest and most spotless, most cared for place we have stayed. And hands down the most lovely hosts! Thank you for a wonderful mini-moon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Yvonne and Richard made our stay a trip to remember to Lake District! Highly recommend staying at this B&B. Tip: Be sure to try the Salmon breakfast, it is a great way to start your day! Thanks for a memorable trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucasTxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a great stay even though England's spring refused to play along. This is the se nod time we've stayed at wheatlands lodge and stayed in a double room this time, but had just as nice an experience. Richard and Yvonne couldn't be better hosts nor done any more to help us with getting around. The setting is very quiet yet close to the lake and town and the building itself is a beautiful blue stone home. Lovely breakfast and easy car parking. Would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to do some sightseeing and walking in the Lake District. Our room was on the top floor, very well appointed and a bathroom to die for! Excellent breakfast set us up nicely for the walk ahead. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a high quality establishment with spacious clean rooms, furnishings and decor very good. What really sets it above the average B&B are the friendly accommodating owners. Yvonne and Richard go the extra mile in making your visit a pleasant experience. They actually recommended and booked a place for us in Edinburgh, two days before the bank holiday, when we were worried about finding a place for our next stop in our exploration of the UK.Breakfast is scrumptious, especially the smoked salmon. I will be happy to return here any time. Owen Roberts

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatlands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatlands Lodge

Property: Wheatlands Lodge
Address: Old College Lane, Windermere LA23 1BY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheatlands Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheatlands Lodge is 5 star Bed and Breakfast situated in the centre of Windermere on a quiet road just off the main road fro Windermere to Bowness. All our rooms are en-suite . Windermere is a 20 minute walk from the Lake. We are 5 minutes away from Windermere station . Our breakfasts are homemade using the highest quality ingredients available. We make all our own bread , yoghurt ,mueslis, jams and award winning marmalades. Fresh tea or coffee and homemade cakes are offered on arrival. Free Wifi is available throughout the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wheatlands Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatlands Hotel Windermere
Wheatlands Lodge Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing