We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

The Lamplighter Dining Rooms
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

An absolutely fantastic restaurant. The chef has a brilliant taste! Never tried lamb with such a perspective. Must visit. Scampi and tartar is also thumbs up :)

Helpful?
Thank Mert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    238
    66
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Ate at the Lamplighters Dining Rooms on 10 July 2014. My wife had lobster and I had one of the specials, a whole sole! Both meals were excellent and tasty. Rutabaga and mashed pumpkin sides were delicious! Quality and freshness of the meal was superb. We had a Pinot Grigio Rosata wine which accompanied the meals well. Stayed at the Lamplighters as well, where the hot breakfasts were prepared well and were delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robbieM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Large helping”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Staff genuine and friendly and helpings massive! Miss lunch so you can eat everything which is too good to leave! Pre book to get in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good varied menu with extra "specials".Well priced and cooked and presented to my complete satisfaction.Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced and hit and miss.....”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I ate here on our honeymoon, the starters were delicious, the restaurant cute but a little dark and dated. The staff were very friendly and helpful but main course and pud were lacking, the main course was nice but the accompanying veg (deep fried courgette!) were greasy and not good and dessert was a let down. The meal overall was overpriced, won't return : (

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamplighter Dining Rooms also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Lamplighter Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing