We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”

The Lamplighter Dining Rooms
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had read some reviews on this restaurant and decided to try it for ourselves...the staff were welcoming and helpful. Our starters were huge, but we still managed to eat them! There was a good variety of dishes to choose from and all of the food was cooked well and delicious, we would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hairbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    238
    66
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent evening meal”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The Lamplighters was a bit out of the Main Street but well worth the search. Excellent food and friendly service. Really nice atmosphere. Incredibly wide choice of food.

Thoroughly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab night with good food n great music”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My partner n I chose lamplighter for our Wednesday meal quite accidentally. I had lamb he had venison. The food was lovely. Service was even better! And amazingly, Wednesday night is music night! Fabulous Irish music played :-) could not ask for a better dinner night thank you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taniazheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Ate here on a recommendation found the service and food to be of a high quality would eat here again. Found the atmosphere nice and relaxed even though fairly busy still able to talk and be heard considering the bar was close by. Would recommend to others to try this restraint.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Askmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“As good as the reviews said it was.”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

After using trip advisor we decided as a family to have Sunday lunch here during our trip to the Lake District. I can only say that we had a really really good experience. Mum Dad , teenager and 14 month old twins was our dining party.
We got a very nice welcome as soon as we arrived and were shown to our table without any delay.
Meal choice agreed in advance and this was very good to allow us time to get all settled for our meal.
The food arrived and I can only describe what we were served as excellent both from a quality and quantity point of view. We could not finish all we were served. Our noisy messy twins were treated really well and we all were made to feel welcome.
Our fussy teenager gave the meal 13 out of 10 so that says it all as far as we are concerned.
Thank you lamplighter for a fabulous meal.

Helpful?
Thank Davidnorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamplighter Dining Rooms also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Lamplighter Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing