We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food”

The Lamplighter Dining Rooms
Ranked #9 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
barnsley south yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

we went to celebrate our wedding anniversary. All the staff are really friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The main course was great and the puddings are to die for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    644
    236
    63
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect 40th Birthday meal for 14!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Lamplighter was very special. There were 14 of us and they gave us one of their private areas (can't speak for the main restaurant) First the staff were simply brilliant. Their service was relaxed, friendly and professional, they really took pride in our experience. James, who I booked with, even offered to source a birthday cake from a good local baker and that was a lovely touch. Then to his younger brother, the chef...14 of us had 2 courses and some deserts too. The deserts were wonderful but just to think that 14 starters and 14 main courses were hugely enjoyed with every plate going back to the kitchen with nothing on them is testament to the quality of the ingredients and the chef. All of us were delighted and raved about the food. We then enjoyed an after dinner drink in the bar area to round off a perfect night. Staff, food, room all exceptional. I struggle to see how it could have been a better night and we count ourselves really lucky to have booked here - great memories. And...wasn't that expensive!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ged M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windermere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A Great Weekend in Windermere”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Lamplighter last weekend and had a wonderful experience. The rooms have been recently upgraded and everything was fresh. The breakfasts are excellent (try the greek yoghurt), hot plates too. They have a on site restaurant that serves excellent food. We had there famous fish and chips, i would love to meet a person the could finish it. Thanks you to the team for making our stay to special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adele t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow what a place”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Wow what a place in the centre of windermere. Very welcoming staff and the best british food i have had in years. I must admit I did not expect this in the lake district. I look forward to going back for the suet pud! This place is a has it all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lamplighter”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent food and service. We are foodies and were extremely happy the night we visited the Lamplighter, service was very good and the food was exceptional. Strongly recommend local steak and trifle made with homemade damson gin!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CJB138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamplighter Dining Rooms also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Lamplighter Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing