We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”

The Lamplighter Dining Rooms
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow,scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Myself & my wife dined here the food was outstanding, I had the venison while my wife had the lamb & both dishes were top quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    238
    66
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stay at lamplighter”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

i enjoyed my stay at lamplighter. it is ideally located. the best part of my stay was the food, its service and crockery & cutlery. additionally, the dining staff was very pleasant and forthcoming. if and when i or any of my friends make a visit to lake district, i shall strongly recommend lamplighter.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shahid n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton le Moors, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We went to the Lamplighter for a table after reading the reports on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. Service was excellant with lots of information and advice. Food was tasty and well presented (loved the half lemon wrapped in muslim and tied with 'Lamplighter Ribbon') very nice touch. For 1 three course meal and 1 two course plus 2 glasses of wine and 2 bottles of beer about £60.. we thought it was great value.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire,UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly venue,good service”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

food not as good as the menu leads you to expect but pretty good. Nice venue,very friendly,good service

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynetteP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
156 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Just great!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a great restaurant with a true value for money. It was our last stop in the Lake District before heading back home and it was lovely. Menu was great - from wild boar to fish - and portions were very generous portions both on the starters and main courses. Lamb shank was fantastic - so soft and mouthwatering. No room for desert! Great food and local beer, fast and attentive service, rustic interior - all added up to a great experience. I thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MildaLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamplighter Dining Rooms also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Lamplighter Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing