We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch”

The Lamplighter Dining Rooms
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

me and my husband went here for sunday lunch , this weekend . well what can I say.....WONDERFUL the homemade soup was really thick and wholesome with doorstep bread and butter, I had gammon and pineapple with all the veg and my hubby had toad in the hole .....10 sausages all to himself, even he didn't finish it off followed by a lovely cheesecake.
The staff were very friendly and paid attention when it was needed and a good conversation had too , nothing was too much trouble for them , would recommend to all but do go with rather an empty tummy as you will be full as an ox by the time you have finished your meal , they also let you have a doggy bag if you need to take any extra meat you have left home ( less waste and have it for tea the next day , we did )
all in all xould not fault anything with this restaurant and would happily go back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharron f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDTasker, Owner at The Lamplighter Dining Rooms, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear sharron f,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences whilst indulging in Sunday Lunch at The Lamplighter. We have really looked long on hard at Sunday lunch as we did not want to follow the masses and as always wanted to be different from the norm. Our concept has gone down a storm over the last year and word is fast spreading that it is a wonderfully unique dining experience. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that all of the team on the day delivered the customer service for which we are renowned throughout the area.

We can only hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the very near future.

Best wishes

James & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    238
    66
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having endured the unnecessary rudeness of a nearby tearoom, who felt it was not possible to cater for four adults with a baby, we entered the Lamplighter with a little trepidation.Within seconds our concerns evaporated as we were greeted by friendly, highly professional staff. The restaurant setting was tastefully decorated and the atmosphere friendly and relaxing. Meal presentation was superb. Staff were very helpful and obliging, our baby granddaughter received a free meal and could not believe her luck at receiving a mini adult version cumberland sausage meal all to herself! The presentation for her meal held just as much attention to detail as the adult meals. Staff were attentive without being in any way intrusive. The whole evening was a huge success and we all agreed that The Lamplighter experience was outstanding. When we visit Windermere again we will definitely be dining there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindyB1735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDTasker, Owner at The Lamplighter Dining Rooms, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear LindyB1735,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We were absolutely delighted to have been able to welcome you to The Lamplighter and it was great to read that you and your guests had a wonderful time with and were able to appreciate our team and work with from a service and food stand point.

I can only hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you all back in the very near future.

Best wishes

James & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Meal!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My two friends and I ate here after a long day on the on the windy roads of the Lake District. We were blown away, the food AMAZING (triple cooked chips in duck fat!!) and the service outstanding, nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel like we were eating amounst friends! Could not recommend highly enough.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KayleyAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDTasker, Owner at The Lamplighter Dining Rooms, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear KayleyAnnB,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences of The Lamplighter with the trip advisor community. We are delighted that we were able to welcome you after a hard day touring the Lake District and experienced the great levels of customer service and the quality of our dishes for which we are renowned throughout the area.

I can only hope that when you are next in the UK, we hope that you will come and see us again.

Very best wishes

James & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
218 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate here on Monday evening last week with two friends who live locally and are both chefs. We were offered the choice of eating in the dining room or the bar area, and chose the bar as we thought the room was both warmer and more attractive despite being empty (the dining room was busy). The young man behind the bar, and the gentleman who served us, were both really friendly and welcoming. For starters we chose one corned beef hash cake, one smoked salmon and two of the special king prawn in thai sauce starters - all were delicious and beautifully presented. The only gripe would be the price - £9.95 for the smoked salmon seemed a bit steep for a starter! For mains we had two of the cod loins, one pork loin and one rump of lakeland lamb. Again, all dishes were beautifully presented and very well-cooked (particularly we liked the thrice-cooked chips served in a mini chip-fryer!) and tasty and all our plates went back empty. Being a cheese fan, I had my eye on the cheese board for pud but in the end thought that £11.95 seemed too expensive (I'm not sure how big it was for that price) and, to be honest, I was very satisifed with what I'd already eaten so couldn't have done it justice. All in all, a very enjoyable meal in nice surroundings and we would definitely return and also recommend it to others.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDTasker, Owner at The Lamplighter Dining Rooms, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Buddysmum,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences whilst at The Lamplighter. We are blessed with a great team at the hotel and I am delighted to see that you experienced a great Lamplighter welcome from all those working on the day.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed the dishes that you ordered, especially based on the diversity and that all of them hit the spot. With regards to your comment on price, the only thing that I can say is that we do not compromise at all on the quality of the produce that we buy as you experienced with the dishes. Along with buying the best does come a hefty price tag but with the degree of quality, the time taken to prepare the meal and the end result we do believe that this offers great value for money to our guests. The cheese platter will also adequately feed two guests which I hope explains the price a little more.

Thank you once again for your kind words and I can only hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

With kindest regards

James & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We managed to get in without a reservation at 6. The food and service was excellent, especially the potion sizes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDTasker, Owner at The Lamplighter Dining Rooms, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Nicola B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences whilst at The Lamplighter. We are delighted that we were able to accommodate you and that you greatly enjoyed the food and service offered not to mention the portion sizes.

I only hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the very near future.

With kindest regards

James & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamplighter Dining Rooms also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Lamplighter Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing