We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Holbeck Ghyll

Holbeck Ghyll
Ranked #25 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Amazing value lunch!”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We were visiting Blackwell House and wanted somewhere nice to go for lunch first. The two course lunch for £24 sounded good so we thought we'd give it a go.
I booked over the phone but the email I received confirming the booking has to be one of the nicest ones I've received, very welcoming and with travel info etc on it.
We arrived in appalling weather with gale force winds and lashing rain. However, in a matter of minutes our coats were hung up, and we were sitting by a 'real' fire in the lounge having a drink, eating canapes and looking at the menu.
The food itself was gorgeous and we ended up having 3 courses! The lamb in particular just melted, and everything was beautifully presented.
The foul weather outside meant we couldn't admire the views from the picture windows, but this place must be absolutely stunning on a clear, dry day.
Three courses for £30 for Michelin starred food of this quality is an absolute bargain, and we will definitely be back.
The service was excellent too - the gentleman on reception even offered to hold an umbrella for us whilst we walked (or got blown to!!) the car, and it was only parked a few yards from the door!
Recommended.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear morgana,

We are delighted to read about how much you enjoyed every aspect of your lunch with us. How unfortunate that the weather was so bad. We hope you can return to Holbeck Ghyll on a brighter day and enjoy the fabulous views.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    75
    62
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food & Service. No wonder they've retained their Michelin Star”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We went to The Holbeck Ghyll today for Sunday lunch. From the outset, the views and settings were stunning. We were shown into a quaint lounge area where we sat overlooking Windermere whilst having delicious canapes and olives with a gin and tonic, served to us by Adrian. Adrian from the outset was attentive but not over intrusive.
We were given time to look over the simple but cleverly designed menu which included 3 starters, 3 mains and three desserts. The wine menu was vast and appropriately priced.
On finishing our canapes we were shown into a wood panelled dining area, with again, stunning views. We were only 1 of two couples in the restaurant on Sunday lunch time which was quite disappointing, as the lovely restaurant / hotel deserves to be packed to the rafters.
I wont go into detail about the food, however, I will say that having sampled other Michelin Star restaurants in the UK, this was by far the most exquisite.
The attention to detail made the most perfect afternoon.
We would highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the vasinity of Windermere. The Sunday lunch menu was 2 courses for £24 and 3 courses for £30. This included canapes, amuse bouche and freshly baked bread plus your choice of 3 courses followed by tea or coffee with a truffle....so in effect 6 courses for £30.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissLucyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll, responded to this review, December 18, 2010
Dear MissLucyLancashire,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent Sunday lunch at Holbeck Ghyll.

The staff are very pleased to read about how much you enjoyed every aspect of the experience, from the delicious canapés in the lounge to the coffee and petit fours.

We’re glad we helped to make your afternoon perfect and hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing food”
Reviewed November 9, 2010

The food and service here was simply outstanding. We would go back again and again (if only we could afford it!).

Helpful?
Thank ChrisWolf1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll, responded to this review, November 13, 2010
Dear ChrisWolf1980,

Thank you for taking the time to review Holbeck Ghyll on Trip Advisor.

All the team were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable meal.

We look forward to welcoming you to Holbeck Ghyll again soon.

With kind regards,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food, just don't go on a Saturday night!”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We went to Holbeck on Saturday night on recommendation of the Windernere Suites where we were staying.
The setting is good, we were shown into the lounge for drinks. About half an hour later we were shown to our table in a side room off the main restaurant. This seemed to be the overflow and was treated as such. The room lacked atmosphere, staff were attentive and food when it arrived was good but I found the menu very limited. After we finished dinner we were the only people left in the room and so went into another empty lounge for coffee. Once that was served we were left, we had to go a find someone to ask for the bill. which had a glass of champagne on it that wasn't ours.
All in all very dissapointing, the atmosphere was stuffy and front of house greeting wasn't good. Not what we expect from a restaurant of this calibre and wouldn't be in a hurry to go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g4gynny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, General Manager at Holbeck Ghyll, responded to this review, October 14, 2010
Dear g4gynny,

Thank you for your feedback; naturally we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Myself and the management team have discussed all your comments and my team join me in sending our apologies.

The side room that you refer to is part of our restaurant; I am sorry if you were made to feel that it was anything less. Regarding the limited menu, we do prepare and cook everything fresh, on the day. We have very limited storage space, being an 20th century Hunting Lodge which help us keep the choice between five starters, five main course, five desserts and a gourmet menu fresh and exciting.

There is no excuse for lack of service after the meal and this is an area which we have improved on; thank you for highlighting this area.

Once again, thank you for your comments, they have been taken in the manner in which they were intended. We do hope that you will return soon to experience the improvements and changes for yourself.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew McPherson
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, good service & a quiet atmosphere”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Me and my girlfriend booked Holbeck Ghyll for a Monday lunch on our recent holiday to the Lakes. The first thing that strikes you on arrival are the fantastic views accross Windermere (definitely worth taking your camera). The inside of the building was very charming, it is very different from so many of the ultra modern Michelin starred restaurants that you come across more and more these days. The dinning room has uncovered wooden tables and chairs so it gives a charming, if not slightly old fashioned feel. Unfortunately on this afternoon we were the only diners in the restaurant. This meant that there was no real atmosphere to judge, however the food was wonderful. My starter of rabbit was superb and the strawberry dessert that my girlfriend had was out of this world!! The service was not perfect considering we were the only ones in the dinning room, but this may have been because we had three members of staff seeing to us instead of one!! However each waiter was polite and the Matradee made us feel very relaxed and welcome by talking to us about our holiday, which we thought was nice. We were told we had to pay for the bill at reception, so when we received the total value we were pleasantly sursprised. The two of us enjoyed a three course lunch with Amuse-bouche and three glasses of wine and all of this was under £85!! Great value for money when you consider how good the food was. One thing to note is that Holbeck Ghyll (quite refreshingly) do not include a surcharge on your bill like many other restaurants do, so if you do wish to tip your waiter, do so before you go through to pay at reception. All in all we had a wonderful lunch and would highly recommend Holbeck Gyhll.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark111082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGB1, Guest Relations at Holbeck Ghyll, responded to this review, October 9, 2010
Dear YoungFoodie187058,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your dining experience at Holbeck Ghyll.

All the staff are thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed the food so
much. I have discussed your comments in regards to the service with the Maitre d’ and he sends his apologies.

We are delighted to read that you will be recommending us and we hope to welcome you back to Holbeck Ghyll soon.

Kind regards,

Hannah Britton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbeck Ghyll also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Holbeck Ghyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing