We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gourmet Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holbeck Ghyll

Holbeck Ghyll
Ranked #26 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Runcorn
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Michelin * Food !
Best food I have ever eaten at any restaurant either in UK or overseas!!
Superb, Excellent, Sumptuous, Delectful!!!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoystonBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    74
    62
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to secure a reservation before Christmas for dinner at the Holbeck Ghyll.

Having dined at many top restaurants we thought we knew what to expect but it was so much more.

The property is stunning, warm and beautifully decorated. The staff are welcoming and not too fussy but attentive.

We ordered drinks in the lounge to start, I had the Planters Punch.. it was DELICIOUS.. I loved it and have tried to re-create it for my family on my return but failed miserably.
Then came the canapes.. beautifully presented and tasty.. just lovely. The truffle cream was my favourite!
We ordered our meal and waited with excitement to be seated in the main restaurant. We were shown through and enjoyed just the most perfect meal.
The bread, starters of juicy and perfectly cooked Scallops (my favourite in any restaurant although many don't cook them right!) and main of beef, all completely stunning.
The staff were polite and left you to enjoy your night but were always there when you needed them.

I loved my evening and am planning my next trip already.. we intend to stay next time!

Thank you to everyone at the Holbeck Ghyll!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steph1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

3 choices for each course. Incredible depth of flavours. You simply don't eat like this except on very special occasions

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had the gourmet menu with wine. It was first class in every respect. The service was also impeccable. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davidgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We went here for my birthday treat. It was fantastic. The staff were all helpful. The food was spectacular, the wine list fabulous and the cheese doubly so. A class act

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harden-Frost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holbeck Ghyll also viewed

 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Holbeck Ghyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing