We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Invergarry Guest House
Ranked #14 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked this at very short notice for a very good price and we weren't disappointed. The owners were friendly and helpful. Great location only a short walk to the shops, bars etc. All round a lovely little bed and breakfast, we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ja14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for Invergarry Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 376 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

The guest house is ideally situated within walking distance of Bowness and transport links.
Steve and Vicky brought an excellent breakfast to us in the garden room and gave us some brilliant tips for days out. We enjoyed the stay very much.

Room Tip: The garden room was comfortable and ideal for privacy - no view but this wasn't important to us
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnerj09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

just returned from short break at the invergarry what can we say about it fabulous views great shops restaurants only a short stroll. would recommend this b&b to anyone who wants a first class comfortable relaxed place to stay within the lake district. Thanks so much for our great stay at your establishment, will definitely be back.ann and alan

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ann866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Invergarry at the beginning of April for my girlfriend's birthday weekend. I cannot say enough good things about it. The location is ideal and Steve and Vicky are both fantastic hosts and are so friendly and attentive. We stayed in the Garden Room, which is great and is separate to the main part of the guesthouse and is therefore totally private and has an attached conservatory where we ate breakfast each morning. The breakfast was delicous and there were so many other great and unexpected touches, which made the stay so enjoyable. For instance on arrival there was delicious homemade chocolate cake waiting for us. The second day we returned back from a nice walk to the lake and there was a birthday card to Alana and some chocolates, which Steve and Vicky had left. This was totally unexpected as we had only mentioned it once in passing that it was her birthday but was so thoughtful. To sum up, the next time we come up to the Lakes we will definitely stay here again and I can't recommend it enough to any other people reading this review!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattN832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in the guest house with my partner during a short trip to the lakes. The position of the guest house is perfect being only a short walk to Bowness and the shore of Windermere, but being out of the centre means it feels private.
The owners were extremely welcoming, treating you like friends rather than customers, and the house and its bedrooms are comfortable and nicely decorated.
We found no flaws at all during our stay, and would gladly return to the guest house next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedgy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a long weekend here in march with a group of friends and would most definitely come back. Victoria and Steve are both excellent hosts, their welcome was warm and friendly and their knowledge of the area is fantastic.My room was spotlessly clean and breakfast was fresh and very tasty. Little personal touches like Victoria's yummy homemade jam make staying here extra enjoyable. A fantastic weekend all round. I would most definitely recommend staying at Invergarry and I hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed have stayed in many B&B's/Guest Houses over the years but Invergarry stands out by far. Steve & Victoria are such great hosts, what they dont know about the area is not worth knowing. The house is super clean and the room had everything you could think of needing. The homemade cake offering was different everyday and you could small the next days cake being baked when you got back in the afternoon! The breakfast menu was varied and all cooked to order and in my view was perfect. The location is an easy walk up the hill to Windermere or down the hill to Bowness however the guest house is in a very quite road so no noise from either town. Overall a fab break, we have told our friends and family and will be back for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derbyman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
705 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#11 of 107 in Windermere
377 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#9 of 107 in Windermere
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invergarry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invergarry Guest House

Address: 3 Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $99 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Invergarry Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invergarry is a Victorian lakeland guest house for adults only. We are focused on providing high-quality service and customer satisfaction. Our breakfast menu is varied and all breakfasts are made to order using local produce. All our preserves are homemade. We have four en suite shower rooms in the main house and a detached garden room for something extra special. All our rooms have digital TV, complimentary tea and coffee facilities as well as a slice of homemade cake. Situated mid way between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere, we are an ideal base for exploring the Lakes and Fells of the National Park with Lake Windermere a 10 minute walk down the hill. We look forward to welcoming you to Invergarry and the Lake District, we are sure you will feel at home and you can be assured of our personal attention throughout your stay. Please note that we can not accommodate pets any longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Invergarry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invergarry Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing