We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Invergarry Guest House
Ranked #20 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Return visit”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having just returned from a return visit to the Invergarry for 3 nights where my partner and I again had a great time. You could not find better hosts anywhere no matter where you might travel. We had the same room as last year and again you will not find a better breakfast to start the day. The location is ideal to visit all the sites in the area, including Ambleside, Keswick, Kendal and Lakeside where there is the car museum well worth visiting. The scenery in all directions is stunning, especially the lakes. The Beatrice Potter centre is also a must to do. If you are into home made cakes and jam your in for a treat at this hotel. So give it a try and I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room no 2 is the best in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
257
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Invergarry Guest House. Steve and Vicky were the perfect hosts, providing us with helpful walking ideas, lending us their OS maps and the cake and breakfasts were wonderful! The room was clean, well looked after and felt like a home from home.

Would happily recommend and stay here again.

Matt & Marie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went there for four nights and never been to the lake district before so we had no idea where to go.Steve and Victoria were very informative of where to go and we saw some beautiful sights.The guest house is very clean and the breakfast was not greasy it was so good i had the full grill every day.The home made jam was delicious and so was the cake left in are room every day.Steve and Victoria made us very welcome and we will definitely return in the near future .There is a sign in the guest house which said Arrive as strangers and leave as friends this is so true and i would recommend Invergarry guest house to everyone .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We enjoyed an excellent stay at Invergarry Guest House. Steve and Vicky are super hosts, the breakfast is varied and very well cooked and presented and includes lovely home made marmalade and jam. The home made cake appeared in our room each day varied and was delicious. The bedroom was spacious, clean and well presented. We will definitely stay again and will also recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We only stayed for one night and wished it could have been longer! The hosts were very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast was delicious! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hosts had the best hospitality and breakfast. They set various breakfast manu to choose from. And evey manu was cooked as soon as we ordered.
They even offered home made Jam and Cakes which were incredibly delicious.
The bedrooms were so clean and fancy.And the windows were so amazing that we could see the sky lying on the bed.
We'd like to visit there again very soon!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairedeciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Many thanks for a great three days stay at your lovely guest house. All was just super. A real nice touch to put a birthday card in the room on our arrival, this brought a big smile to our faces.

We had a bril time as your guests, thank you for the time you both take to make it the great experience it was, also the effort you put in to make people so welcome.
The room was fab, the whole Guest House was spotless, the bed was very comfy, plenty of space, everything we could have needed was provided, no dogs no kids no smoking absolutely magic :) No restrictions or curfews as found in many other guest houses, meant we could come and go as we pleased no matter what time of night, being quiet of course.

The home made cakes left in the room each day for our return from our daily adventures, was also a real treat. Breakfast was yummy, proper decent coffee and home made jams were a bonus.
Compliments to the chef :)

Thank you for the information about local sights to see and how to get there, extremely helpful indeed.

All in all our stay was a very pleasant one, when back in that neck of the woods again we will book at Invergarry :)

Super super people highly recommended central place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invergarry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invergarry Guest House

Property: Invergarry Guest House
Address: 3 Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Invergarry Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invergarry is an AA 4 star rated guest house which caters for adults only. We provide quality accommodation and a hearty breakfast. We are ideally situated for Windermere, Bowness & the lake.Dogs may be permitted in our Garden Suite by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Invergarry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invergarry Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing