We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow - Wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jerichos Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jerichos Guest House
Ranked #10 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wow - Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

From the moment we arrived we knew we were at somewhere very special. Our room was delightful with a very comfy bed and ample space. The dinner menu was wonderfully balanced to cater for all tastes - the starters included a shrimp risotto and a chorizo dish whilst mains had guinea fowl, wild sea bass or cod loin plus a vegetarian option. The desserts were incredible and we both shared the others one. The star of the desserts had to be the raspberry tart but the chocolate one was very close behind. We opted for the wine tasting as well with the food complementing the menu perfectly. Breakfast was equally superb and the scrambled eggs were creamy and melting in the mouth. Clearly at Jericho's food is cooked with passion and imagination. We shall be back and are busily recommending it to all. If. You get the chance - go and enjoy it as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Castleman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    42
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
232
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

stayed one night the room was clean a bit on the small side and very basic. We ate in the restaurant the food was very good i would highly recommend it! The thing that let Jerichos down for us was when we went for breakfast there was someone one in a hoodie with their pyjamas on no slippers just socks!! I dont mean a child either. We complained and was told that was how things are these days people just roll out of bed and straight to breakfast without washing or dressing!!!! the management didn't care i found that shocking!!!! We stay in many hotels and have never come across this ever before. Needless to say we won't be going back to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank COLH321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Spent the weekend of 15, 16 & 17 June 2012 at jericho's. Excellent accommodation, modern, clean & welcoming. We did not eat at the restaurant, but breakfast was very good with a large choice.
Very good location withing Windemere & only a short walk to Bowness.
I would not hesitate to recommend as a place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room's 10 & 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at Jerichos for a 4 day break in May.
Lovely building, modern decor, close to the windemere main town and a short 15/20 min walk from Bowness on Windermere.
We had a deluxe room which was a nice size, comfortable, nicely decorated with a sparkly clean bath/shower. Toiletries were provided but these werent ones you could take away with you. Rooms were cleans daily and if you didnt want this there was a cute 'do not disturb' sign you could put up.
Owners were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is included, but we only had this once as its served only between 8 till 8.45/9 and for us this was a little early, we work in the City everyday and on holiday we like a little lay in, so if breakfast had been available until at least 9.30, or even 10am that would have suited us better.

There is a restaurant room below, we didnt have time to eat downstairs, but we only heard good things about it.

Otherwise a great stay and would definitely reccommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winefoodholidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and the hotel really lived up to its reviews :) The food in the restaurant is outstanding. I would recommend when booking your room to book the restaurant at the same time ( It was fully booked when we arrived and it was only by chance a cancelation came through). Looking forward to returning very very soon!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sosoLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for one night in April. We were greeted warmly by the owner and tajen to the room. The room was nice and the ensuite spotlessly clean.The only downside was that it only had a shower and after an active day walking, a soak would have been very welcome. However, that is probably my own oversight for not checking when I booked. It was also a bit of a juggle with the tea tray on the dressing table and kettle by the TV as plug sockets were limited.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the meal was just superb. Chris is a truly talented chef and richly deserves the many awards displayed in the hallway of the hotel. The asparagus was perfectly cooked and my steak just fantastic. Portions are very generous and two courses would have more than sufficed but I was not going to pass up the opportunity to sample the lemon and lime tart. I was not not disappointed...it was heavenly!
We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at the Jericho for 5 nights the room we stayed in (room 9) was lovely and had a good size bathroom. We had breakfast there every day and this was also tasty and offered a range of different food you could choose from. The hotel is situated around a mile from the more busy tourist spot of bowness were you can catch the boat trips the walk there is pleasant and pretty easy. The best thing about the hotel though must be the food we ate there on the last night of our stay and both agreed the food was up there with the best we had ever eaten. Also must say the two owners are very good hosts and so were the younger girls who worked there at breakfast and the evening.

Room Tip: We had room 9 which we can reccomend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prof080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#8 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerichos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerichos Guest House

Property: Jerichos Guest House
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerichos Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Jerichos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerichos Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing