We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb room, amazing food, great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jerichos Guest House
Ranked #12 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb room, amazing food, great stay!”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Despite the wet and gloomy weather, we had a brilliant stay at The Waverley. We booked both for the room and the food, both of which surpassed our expectations. Though not the cheapest, the standard and size of the room more than justified this, every aspect of the room was perfect. The breakfast the following day was superb, and with a huge choice (including smoked salmon, kippers, traditional English etc). The evening meal was simply one of the best meals I have eaten, and at £35ish a head including wine for 3 courses I was very impressed. Surely only a matter of time before this chef gains a michellin star.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oli_B_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    42
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
239
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights following recommendations and we were not disappointed the room was small but perfectly decorated, clean and everything you needed was there. We ate once in the small restairant - you need to book as it is popular, and the food was fantastic beautifully prepared, cooked and visually stimulating . Staff were friendly and professional and enjoyed their work .
Definitely recommend wholeheartedly

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but if stairs are a probl
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank spirito2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We chose to stay at the Jerichos at the Waverley, in Windermere the day after our wedding, and we were not disappointed! Upon walking into the hotel there was a large display of awards and achievements they had gained. That to me, just spelled out a sense of pride! The room was very clean and well presented to a high standard with its modern décor. The bathroom was also very smart with quality fixtures and fittings, with plenty of nice clean towels and plenty of toiletries provided. Everything was laid out with fine sense of attention to detail. Breakfast was just great; with fresh fruit, yogurts and fruit juices. The scrambled egg on home made toast is a must to try! The restaurant was just fantastic, so book early! The menu was small, but of top quality and the food was very well presented, with an extensive selection of fine wines. All the staff at the Jerichos were great and do a fantastic job in making you feel comfortable and welcome. Chris was the only person we didn’t get to meet, obviously the busiest person there!! Chris your food was great, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandMandy1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Just returned from a three night stay at Jerichos,where we received a very warm welcome from Jo ,she showed us to our room which was larger than expected and very clean.The street the hotel is on was very quiet ,we heard very little noise from other rooms although the hotel was full.The bed was large and very comfy and the shower room immaculate.
Breakfast was excellent ,lots of flavour and no grease.We ate in the retaurant one night and were not dissappointed the risotto starter was one of the best things I have ever eaten .
All the staff were very friendly and we would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markandjeanrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We have just returned from Jerichos having stayed for two nights. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, clean, staff are extremely polite and helpful. The food wa as absolutely amazing we were unable to fault anything during our stay. Well done to Chris & Jo and we will definitely be returning and will be recommending to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_moran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We used to visit the Lakes at least once per year, now, we visit Jerichos and the Lakes at least once per year.
Their standards seem not to vary, bathrooms and bedrooms smart, spotless,comfortable and functional.
The restaurant is as good as ever. I so enjoyed a belly pork starter I asked our cheerful waitress for it's secrets in the hope of a home copy. She returned mentioning overnight marinading in olive oil, low slow cooking for 41/2 hours with the crackling finished at 400 degrees C amongst other technicalities.( My wife seems to lack the patience and an appropriate oven).
Our appreciation of this place continues to grow.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernardandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

we stayed at jerichos after hunting for somewhere special to stay that wasn't going to break the bank. jerichos turned out to be a real find. the room was spotless - to the point that you felt you were the first person to use it - but the food really sets this place apart. chris and his team in the kitchen turn out fautless food which is served up by a friendly and attentive staff. small wonder it's difficult to get a table as it is crammed full of locals and repeat custom. oh, and the wine list is grouped by food. nice touch.

the prices are brilliant; i have no idea how they do it.

(and the house champagne is an absolute steal).

loved it, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 108 in Windermere
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerichos Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerichos Guest House

Property: Jerichos Guest House
Address: College Road, Windermere LA23 1BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jerichos Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Jerichos Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jerichos Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing