We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED OUR STAY”
Review of The Firgarth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Firgarth
Ranked #43 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Pam and Colin are brilliant, friendly hosts. Met with coffee and a sit down tourist guide backed up with helpful pamphlets. Really felt to be made at home. The room was excellent and spotless as was the en suite - we were even uphraded without asking!!! Breakfast super as well!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 178 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

From the time or arrival we had excellent service. Our room was ready very early in the day and we were able to check in much before the normal check in time which was much appreciated.
The room was spotless clean with good quality furniture and a bathroom that looked like it hadn't been used.
The breakfast had a good selection and was well cooked. Our order was also remembered from the first day of our stay, a very personal service.
Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cakegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I really can't understand why this great B&B is only 36 on the list, because to be fair it's really very good.
Pam the owner was teriffic, she gaves us tea on arrival and told us things we could do and see. Saved going to tourist information.
We went to our room No:6 this was spacious, clean and very inviting.
Breakfast was also good with a wide variety of selections. Have the award winning sausages, mmmmm to die for.
As with any place a little thing can help, in this day and age you would like Wi-Fi in your room, and some form cooling in the room in the summer. Both minor for me, and no reason not to stay here again when we visit the lakes.
Thanks again Pam & Colin for a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Just come back from a lovely long weekend away in the Lakes. Pam and Colin were lovely, gave me a nice welcome (complete with pot of tea - perfect for when you have been travelling) and Colin talked me through the local walks and place to visit. The room was just lovely, spotlessly clean (i wish i could get my own house that clean), very comfortable and quiet - was lovely to hear the birds twittering on a morning. Breakfast was fantastic, there was plenty of choice and Pam and Colin couldn't do enough for you - checking that you have had enough etc. Even the weather was perfect, sunny and warm - i dont think there is a more beautiful place to visit in the UK when you have got the right weather. Would definately recommend staying here though, perfectly situated within easy walking distance in to Windermere and good bus/train/ car routes to wherever you want to go in the Lakes. I would recommend the walk up to Orrest Head, doesn't take too long but once you are at the top its just stunning. As a lone traveller, i felt very safe coming here - Colin took the care and attention to ask what my plans were for the day which made me feel safer in the knowledge that someone knew where i was going. All in all, a very nice break and will definately be recommending FirGarth to family/friends.

Room Tip: All rooms have hairdriers, corkscrews/ bottle openers and heat mats for hair straightners - less thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mish-mooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed here recently over the New Years holiday and had a lovely time.

Before our stay I contacted Pam for some restaurant recommendations and she was very helpful, also providing directions to the guest house etc.

We travelled by train and found the Firgarth easily after 10 mins of walking directly along the adjacent Road. We were greeted by Pam and Colin, who were very friendly and immediately offered us coffee/tea(galaxy cake bars too-yum) while we dropped our bags in our room. Pam then sat with us and checked we knew where all our restaurants we were eating at were and how to get there, also showing us a couple of nice walks we could go on. She checked what kind of food I liked(as I am a vegetarian to make sure there was something for me at breakfast) and booked our taxi for the restaurant that night, saving us a job of finding a number!

The room was a good size, with tasteful decor and modern furnishings. Everything was immaculately clean and there was a good selection of tea/coffee etc which got re-stocked daily. The bed was comfy and the shower was amazing, really powerful :) There is also a TV with a DVD player in the room so take some films if you feel lazy one day.

In the morning we headed down for breakfast, there was a good choice of fruit salad, yoghurts, croissant, cereal etc. On the cooked menu were full english, veggie breakfast, salmon, eggs etc. My boyfriend had the full english and really enjoyed it, I had the veggie version and it was really tasty. Never tried those kind of veggie sausages before and they were very yummy, also the eggs and fried bread were cooked perfectly!

Overall a very pleasant and easy stay.

(Also in response to the negative review, we stayed in a room by the roadside and I am a very light sleeper(I wear earplugs nightly!) and did not notice any noise. Town is about 10 mins walk away max so very easy to get to)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess_and_MarkLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights and found Firgarth to be a pleasant B&B. Is well located (we arrived by train and walked from the station, and took the bus from outside on day trips).
Room & bathroom were recently renovated and very comfortable (and quiet).
Pam was a lovely friendly and very helpful host!

An excellent base for visiting the Lakes.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarlyBurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

The owners were very welcoming! Greeted us with teas, coffees and biscuits and gave us some great information about the surrounding area. The room was very modern, comfortable and provided tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits which were replenished each day. The room was exceptionally clean and you could tell how much care goes into the upkeep of the rooms. Breakfast was the best cooked breakfast we ever had, very hot and very fresh and you could ask for whatever you liked, nothing seemed too much hassle from the owners point of view which was great! It is only a short walk to Windermere and a 5min walk round the corner from the lake. Our bedroom was facing the main road although there is little traffic so we found it wasn't too noisy. The owners are so helpful and always ensuring your stay is going well, Such a fantastic place would definately recommend to all!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeanLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerWindermere, Owner at The Firgarth, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay in room 3. Thank you for the positive feedback on the cleanliness and maintenance of the room. Really good to hear you thought our cooked to order breakfast was good.

We do appreciate you taking the time to post such a super review.

Thank you again
Pam and Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,441 reviews
4.6 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#67 of 107 in Windermere
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#61 of 107 in Windermere
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Firgarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Firgarth

Address: Ambleside Road, Windermere LA23 1EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Firgarth 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firgarth Guest House is conveniently situated just 12 minutes' walk from the centre of Windermere, with a range of shops, pubs and restaurants. The Firgarth offers relaxed comfortable accommodation. The traditional cooked breakfast is prepared using locally sourced produce; there is also a selection of juices, grapefruit, fresh fruit salad, cereals and yoghurts. Exclusively Non smoking. All our rooms are on the first and second floors. All rooms have remote control TV/DVD and tea and coffee making facilities. Unfortunately we have no family rooms so are unable to accommodate children under the age of 16. Our last check in time is 20:00hrs and check out time is 10:00hrs. We have one car parking space for each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Firgarth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Firgarth Hotel Windermere
The Firgarth Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing