We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Archway Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived for a two night stay in the middle of the summer heat wave we recently experienced and we were so relieved to see a huge fan in our room when we arrived. There were also some delicious home made biscuits and tea/coffee facilities along with toiletries. The room itself was very comfortable, clean and quiet. Jennifer was a lovely host who gave us great information about the surrounding areas, walks to go on and the bus services which meant we had a particularly lovely day out on one day. The b+b itself is in a perfect location to all the restaurants in Windermere and a walk or bus ride away from Bowness where the lake is. The breakfasts were great with as many choices you could ever want as well as cereals, toast, yoghurt, fruit etc. All in all it is a great place for a short stay and is fantastic value for money. We wouldn't hesitate in staying again and in fact we are going to book another stay next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fpattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 371 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We received a very warm welcome. Jennifer provided us with helpful information about the area. Facilities and breakfast were wonderful. It is a great location with easy access to all public transportation.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkovessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This guest house is in a quiet location very close to the centre of the village and 5 minutes walk from the railway station. We arrived just before 12.00 by train and our room was almost ready. Our host showed us into the lounge and provided maps and helpful advice on where to go and what to see. Jennifer is very knowledgeable about the area and has a good supply of tourist info. We had the Windermere room which was a good size and had a large modern bathroom with a bath and shower over. There are two single beds made up as a double which were very comfortable. We also had ample supplies of tea and coffee and some lovely homemade cookies. This room is at the front of the house and has a lovely view of the hills in the distance (subject to weather conditions of course). There is some noise from the road as the windows are not double glazed but we slept soundly. In the afternoon there is a large container full of homemade cake for you to help yourself and take to your room and enjoy. There is a large selection of DVDs to borrow in the lounge but we preferred to sit in the two comfortable chairs and look at the view. The breakfast was good with a selection of cereals and fruit juices and a wonderful cooked breakfast to follow (you are asked to pre order your cooked breakfast the previous evening from an extensive menu that would put most hotels to shame). Fresh coffee completed the feast.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guest house and would be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: Go for the bigger rooms for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This B&B is a gem. Jennifer and Stephen make you really welcome. The breakfasts are fantastic, with a large choice and the Veggie breakfast is highly recommended. We feel so spoilt here that we don't consider going anywhere else.

Room Tip: Every room is a good one, good view from the windermere room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We could've easily had a week here, the proprieters Jennifer and Steve spoke to us like we were old friends, not a sign of Basil Fawlty anytime, which can be vary prevalent in the lakes. Very comfy guest house with a great Full English breakfast, ive never seen such an extensive menu.
Enjoy.... Terry from Leyland.

Room Tip: We could see the Langdale Pikes from our room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We came down to the lakes for a couple of days to relax and this B &B certainly helped. Both Jennifer and Stephen were great hosts,nothing was too much trouble.Our room Coniston had the most fantastic views and was very comfortable with lovely crisp white sheets. As with all the other reviews the breakfasts were fantastic,only problem was deciding what to have! Would definitely visit again.
.

Room Tip: The most expensive rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silversurfers2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on the 24th June with my parents(superior double-windemere room) and myself and my aunt(standard twin -grasmere room). We arrived later than expected due to touring til late and trying to organise dinner etc. but we were made feel welcome with an efficient preorder of breakfast the night before to avoid delays and some lovely lemon drizzle cake which went down lovely after our dinner.
We had a very comfortable stay and my parents loved it(and they are quite fussy).
Breakfast was huge and filled us up for whole the day. It wasnt just big but of really high quality too!
The only negative was that the twin room and its shower room was a little cramped but all in all I would highly recommend this B&B and I would stay again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#8 of 107 in Windermere
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Archway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Archway Guesthouse

Address: 13 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $104 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Archway Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Archway Guesthouse- A good quality, small 4 star guesthouse in a quiet spot in Windermere village. We pride ourselves for giving all those little extras. All food locally sourced with an extensive award winning breakfast menu (homemade jam and marmalade) catering for all dietary requirements. Homemade biscuits in the rooms, as well as DVD/CD players and big comfy beds. Great location close to the station suitable for exploring the lakes with or without transport/ parking available. Breakfast included in the price. Prices are based on two people sharing per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Archway Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archway Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
The Archway Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing