We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Archway Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My partner & I have frequent hotels & guest houses all over the country. We expect good quality service,value for money & have no issue in conveying our dissatisfaction where necessary.
We have to say the Archway is without question the most welcoming,presentable & unique high standard of service we have experienced to date.
From the minute you arrive it is very clear the landlords have only one thing in mind which is "a happy customer".
We wish you great success - Thank you.

Room Tip: All as good as each other !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 803alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 360 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

First, let me start off with a wee anecdote to demonstrate the true consideration of the Archway's owners: my wife and I arrived late on a Friday night and were met by both owners, Stephen and Jennifer. While Jennifer welcomed us and supplied us with local insider information for travel, as well as providing us with invaluable maps and transport tables, Stephen clandestinely brought our (heavy) luggage upstairs and set out various things for us to enjoy. After a mere ten minutes, we felt so thoroughly informed and "taken care of" that busy London town was already fading from our short term memory.

Allow me to attempt informative brevity: The breakfasts (plethora of options!) were ridiculously tasty, conversation and advice were highly enjoyable and helpful; location was superb for both arrival/departure and day-travelling; room had fine views, a spacious bathroom, Egyptian cotton towels (why not!) and a bed that felt as if a thousand geese had given up the ghost for its comfort (do not worry animal lovers, my hyperbolic language is meant to convey a metaphoric image, not to be taken literally!); and finally, a host and hostess that were always on hand and ready for delightful and topical conversation, yet somehow so non-obtrusive that Sherlock Holmes would be required to decipher any pattern to their timely comings and goings.

My dear reader, if you are not already wholly assured as to the sincerity of my submission and the superior nature of the Archway Guest House, then allow me to make assurance double sure: the lady of the house, Jennifer, quietly lays out home-cooked cakes/treats every evening in the dining area, free for any lodger's enjoyment. It is only fitting that I finish by making both you and the hostess a complete confession: on one late evening's occasion, I did tip-toe down the stairs for a second helping of not one, but two home-made brownie squares.

A thousand thanks and recommendations for the host and hostess of the Archway Guest House!

Room Tip: The "superior" rooms face the lake and the hills, so you can't go wrong there! Having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This b&b was a great place to stay. Clean and tidy. The owner was very friendly and helpfull. Location was great, walking distance to the lake and station. Shops on your doorstep. Breakfast was excellent, real quality. Such a variety from haddock and eggs to pancakes. She would bake her own cakes which you could help yourself for free. A range of maps, leaflets etc as well as DVDs and games I you did wan to stay in. Would defiantly stay here again, our room was a good size small ensuit but usable and very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed with a friend for 3 nights at the venue. A very warm welcomed started off the excellent services that came from Jennifer.

Breakfast was a very high standard with so many variations it catered for virtually any appetite or request.

Myself and my friend stayed in the standard twin room. it was an ideal size for our use for the stay. However we did find the en sutie shower room a bit small for both of us it would benefit from a deeper sink.

The whole experience was enjoyable and would recomend this venue to all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Shared a standard room with my mum. Not luxurious, but clean and very very comfortable. Plenty of storage. Great tea and coffee making facilites, and even home made biscuits. Bathroom very modern, with walk in shower. Quite small, but big enough. Hosts were very pleasant; Jenny had lots of helpful information ready to pass on when we arrived, and showed us a lovely walk to bowness.. There is a book in room with suggested eating places, which worked very well for us. Breakfast is incredibly varied, and of brilliant quality and value. A really quality menu, and extremely well cooked. There was also home made cake left for us in dining room to help ourselves to Is very handily placed for windermere village, and various places to eat.. Owners live on premises and are always accessible

Room Tip: Superior room also great price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winnieg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Archway is in the ideally located in Windemere and a central location for visiting the South Lakes. Parking is to the rear of the guest house which was ideal as parking in the area is restricted. You are just a few minutes walk to the pubs, restaurants and shops and only a twenty minute walk in to Bowness. The room was adequate for us and was very well presented with a large bathroom (Superior Room) with stunning views of the Fells and Windermere. Jennifer met us on arrival and gave some good detail on things to do during our break and I must say both Jennifer and Stve was hospitable and helpful. The breakfast menu was excellent with a wide choice, the quality of the food was some of the best we have had when staying in many Hotels in recent years. Would recommend this Guest House you will not de disappointed. Martin, Dawn, Lewis and Dot

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The Archway is in the perfect location for exploring the south Lakes. Off street parking and its close proximity to pubs, restaurants and shops is ideal for a long weekend. The room was lovely and quiet, with stunning views. On arrival Jennifer sat down with us, welcoming us to the Archway and to Windermere and couldn't have been more hospitable. This continued throughout our stay, as we were encouraged to help ourselves to home baked cakes and use the guest sitting room as much as we wanted. It felt more like we were staying in their home than a hotel and we will be going back. Oh, and the breakfast was second to none.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenC967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge
Wheatlands Lodge
#7 of 107 in Windermere
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Archway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Archway Guesthouse

Address: 13 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $104 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Archway Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Archway Guesthouse- A good quality, small 4 star guesthouse in a quiet spot in Windermere village. We pride ourselves for giving all those little extras. All food locally sourced with an extensive award winning breakfast menu (homemade jam and marmalade) catering for all dietary requirements. Homemade biscuits in the rooms, as well as DVD/CD players and big comfy beds. Great location close to the station suitable for exploring the lakes with or without transport/ parking available. Breakfast included in the price. Prices are based on two people sharing per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Archway Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archway Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
The Archway Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing