We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“7b red bank college road Windermere.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Red Bank

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Olive f
1 review
“7b red bank college road Windermere.”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Had a lovely time at 7b red bank on college road,lovely property I would recommend it to any one that wanted to have a lovely break,very clean and comfortable will like to go back as soon as we can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2017
Thank you Olive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Started badly but we strive to over come.”
Reviewed November 25, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Okay...I wouldn't normally get wound up over the small stuff but I was back footed very early on.
If you list amenities then it is like a contract for which I am paying. We planned our stay to be eating out, walking lots with some visits to places of interest and drinking wine and watching our dvds. I didn't see any reason to check that you had a dvd player. It says you do. It still does today. They are not unusual, nor expensive. I texted you and you said sorry there is a hard drive, great, thanks. The hard drive didn't have any of the films we had brought. It is difficult to browse the films on it. The remote control does work too well. Some of the films are in alphabetical order, about a third are not in any sort of order. There is no description so if you have any interest you have to start the film to get an idea. Eventually we chose a film which didn't play. Then two more which didn't play, initially. Logan, would not play all the time we were there. One film crashed half way through, great, that's always a joy. Django played but kept putting up FOR YOUR CONSIDERATION on the screen every ten minutes or so. We wasted the whole of the first evening stressed and unhappy.
I didn't think that not meeting our hosts would be a problem but after our short text communication and us being as unhappy as we were I didn't see the point in taking things further. The next morning was wasted trying to find a cheap, and nearby, option of buying a dvd player. So, off to Kendle we went and twenty quid later. We did pop to the museum whilst we were there, then home. Oh, a scart lead so off on a trip around Windermere shops and eight quid later and more time wasted, and now nearly thirty quid down we could now start a cosy evening in.
So there we are.... So I shall list other things. Parking is a nightmare not just a bit of a problem.
There is some sort of oil on the slab by the key safe and is very slippery when wet. Water on oil.
No one had put the rubbish out for the Monday morning. We checked in at four p.m. so nothing to do with us. Our rubbish went in the bin. Therefore some vermin got into the bag each night and more and more rubbish got out. We did look out for ratty but never saw him.
The shower is pretty small. The opening is tiny. 14 inches so if you are of any size, getting in, but mainly out, is a dangerous affair.
If you flush the loo it makes a hell of a racket and will wake whoever you are with and the noise goes on for ages. We let the yellow mellow, when we remembered, overnight. Oh and in the day. It will interfere with your film experience.
You are only allowed to have the heating on, or off. This equates to as hot as hell, or off. I have pictures of all these gripes which include one of the heaters set to 29.5 deg celsius. And, if you turn off the one in the bathroom if also turns off the double socket in the living room.
There is no oven glove and as you might expect the kitchen is small.
Two of the lamps had blown bulbs and was one of the kitchen spots and one of the under cupboard lights flickered like a flickery thing. The switch for the light on the cooker hood is broken.
You can only operate living room lights from by the front door which is odd. Switches as you come out the kitchen would be nice.
The loo roll is a good stretch from the loo itself. A bit like trying to touch your toes.
The soap dish is chipped and very sharp. You could easily cut yourself on that.
The smoke alarm is within reach of the toaster and cooker and will go off as soon as you think of using either. Be prepared to disconnect the battery whilst you cook.
You can hear upstairs clomping about like a couple of pachyderm but I suppose that is to be expected as it is a basement flat, as it being a bit dark and gloomy but be prepared for upstairs putting their washing machine to go at 06.00 in the morning.
Yes there is blue tooth but that means you need your music downloaded onto your phone first, unless you want to youtube, but that means you'll need your phone on charge at the same time as it will be playing the video at the same time as playing your tunes. It took me a while to work all that out as I'm an oldie. A grumpy old git as you can plainly see.
The fan in the bathroom comes on if you turn the light on so you will try not to do that at night. It doesn't always turn off so if after the standard 2-5 mins you'll need to get up and switch if off at the switch above the loo. It did this a couple of times. Oh what joy.
My first impressions of the flat were good. It looked cosy and warm. Oh, play the "where have the slugs and snails been last night" game each morning. And it was, despite all the whinging cosy and warm. It is, in all the years that we have been renting our holidays like this, the first time were as happy to be heading home as staying on. The lake district is absolutely stunning but we found most attractions closed, this time of year. We hadn't considered this, so our fault. But, you can't close the trees and hills so get out there. We ate in Fodder and The Pig. Fodder was good but we found The Pig to be lovely: food and atmosphere. It could be because we were there early before any rush...?????

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 6, 2017
Wow! I am sorry you had such a miserable time. Everything you have said has been noted
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Shel
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Relaxing! Great Location.”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed here in January for a few days just to relax and have a break away without kids and the location is excellent for pottering about and being near pubs/restaurants and shops. We would definitely consider coming here again for a relaxing break.

Lovely restaurants nearby and the taxi numbers and takeaway menus pinned to the notice board were really useful.

Bed was comfy and the facilities & equipment provided were good. Enjoyed the little welcome pack of goodies.

Possible addition that could be made to the pack (certainly in the winter) would be one log for the fire (as you were asked to use flat was perfectly warm but the roaring fire was part of the reason I booked the place!!)

As other have mentioned, parking is probably the only drawback as its on street parking with no designated space. In January this wasn't too much of an issue and we could always get parked on the street that Redbank is on within a max of 100-150m, but not sure how this would be during the Summer.

One very very minor thing... if you like listening to your own music on good speakers (rather than through your phone or tablet) was that there was an ipod docking station in the flat. But it was for an old iphone 4 style model I think. Not suitable for the phones that most people would use these days. This may be better updated to a Bluetooth model for use with all phones/tablets at some point.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
Thanks for your comments, parking can be difficult as it is free and locals park here to do their shopping, usually there is a good turnaround and spaces appear. Being an "oldie" I had not thought about bluetooth for music so have updated ths system. We now have bluetooth!

Hope to welcome you again
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan M
2 reviews
“Miss”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a minor problem and it was sorted as soon as possibly able. The apartment was spotless and we would have no hesitation in booking again if able.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Red Bank”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The flat is a very cosy place, with just about everything you could need. It doesn't feel small and is quite homely to come back to. It is very warm and we slept well. Location is ideal. The tea cakes were a nice treat. Parking can be a problem, as it is on street, it is luck of the draw sometimes. There is also nowhere to hang towels in the bathroom, apart from one single rail which had the bath mat on. Our visit was unfortunately compromised by a huge amount of scaffolding outside the front door, this made access difficult and the work men woke us up as they were constructing it. They also brusquely told us to move the car for their truck. I was astounded that we hadn't been made away of this as there were scaffolding poles crossing the steps to go down to the flat. It would have been nice to have been told in advance that some work was going on as we probably wouldn't have booked. Definite damper on the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
Hi Jennifer
I am so sorry about the scaffolding, I was told that they were re-lining the chimney but I was only sent pictures of the back of the property so I did not think it was going to affect the front, where our access is. I agree it look awful! I have informed people who are due to arrive.

Parking can be difficult, which is why the rates are so resonable

Kind regards
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caz_crock
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well equipped in good location”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Great spacious accommodation for a couple, well equipped and in a good location for walking to local amenities. Shower really needs to be far more powerful and the temperature needs to be sorted, toilet flush is amazingly noisy but overall a nice place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey B
1 review
“Red bank 7b”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely place to stay and relax after a busy day walking the hills. Comfortable and cosy in the perfect location everything you need very close by. Will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing