We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay in Lake District due to location and...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Red Bank

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CMtrips_1...
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Lake District due to location and comfort”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Red Bank is at a great location just a side street from Windermere center and 7-10 minute walk to train and bus station. The Booth's Market is at the Train Station area and is fabulous for all the grocery, beer and wine needs.The flat is across from the very luxurious Allgarth Hotel and a park and it was very quiet. Restaurants, pubs, shops and grocery market just an easy walk in the main center. The flat is nicely furnished and with all needed. Jane, the owner, was helpful and quick to respond with any questions or information we needed. We found this flat to be an excellent choice for our week in the Lake District in comfort and in location.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2017
Hi Thomas

Thank you for the nice review. So pleased you had a good time and hope you got home safe and sound

Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collegeva...
mullingar
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

we stayed here for a few days including valentines night. a lovely cottage tucked away in Windermere, this unique property has the advantage of being so central to the bars, shops & restaurants but also has a very secluded feel to it.a 20 min walk will take you to the lakes, this is a very clean & comfortable property with a cosy log fire.
we will def be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernimc80
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage log fire :)”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed 2nd January for one week,
Had a lovely stay the cottage is lovely and cosy log fire & carpets. Very clean and kept well. Like home from home, everything you need to cook with. Very helpful information about local attractions.
Walked from the train station on 5mins away if that !!
Lovely independent shop on the door step nice bars and restaurants :)
I found a little hidden gem in the heart off the village in windermear, also lakes are only 15/20 mins walks away. Perfect location.
Jane the owner is a lovely woman letting me stay extra days. Very easy communication with Jane to :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Popopipo
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Another stay in Red Bank and again we were not disappointed, lovely cosy hidden gem. We will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed November 25, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We came across this little gem on Trip Advisor. It is situated in the heart of Windermere so everything is accessible on foot. The apartment has everything you need to make a cosy home from home. We have stayed in many different types of accommodation over the past 40 years of visiting the Lakes and this place ticks all the boxes for us, no more expensive hotels!
We are already planning a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm and cosy
Liked least: Security light not working on outside steps
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollycrit...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Homely”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I stayed at Redbank for a week in October. It was so cosy and I felt right at home. I really enjoyed cooking during my stay and found Sainsbury's just around the corner perfect to buy ingredients. There are great buses from Windermere going to Grasmere, Ambleside and Kendal. The property is a five minute walk from Windermere station and a perfect base for exploring the Lake District!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bathroom
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneC35...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss J Campbell”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Recently stayed at Redbank apartment the apartment was clean and tidy a hidden little gem ideally located to all amenities we had a fantastic weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the scenic Lake District would definitely recommend the apartment to friends and family and I certainly would stay there again many thanks Jane x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing