We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashleigh House
Ranked #64 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I spent two days at this BB. While the establishment was adequate (ok size room, tiny bathroom, old fashioned, breakfast uninspiring), I was put in my place by the hostess! We were on a tight budget so decided to buy a ready meal from a supermarket. Just needed to warm it up. Asked the hostess if she would be so kind as to do so for me and was told NO. Just NO. Sheesh! Whatever happened to going the extra mile, being helpful/friendly? I was humiliated and embarrassed. So, could not eat the frozen meal, had to buy from a Restuarant and that particular evening I wasted money I could ill afford.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r0se123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleighhouse, Owner at Ashleigh House, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us but I would like to respond to a few things you mention. The part about bringing in a frozen meal, you were not just told NO, we explained to you that we were a B&B and do not do evening meals. I am sorry that you had an extra expense but I do not believe we can be blamed for this as had you asked or read the information sheet you would have known this in advance, and as we are only a few minutes walk from several pubs, many restaurants, shops, and takeaways this is usually not a problem. As to not going the extra mile I do not feel it is unreasonable to expect a little relaxation time for ourselves as it was 7.30pm on a Sunday evening and we had been up since 6.30am that morning. Next I would like to reply about breakfast. You were given a menu card with several options to pick from to fill in, which you chose not to do, so we simply made a standard full English breakfast. Sorry this was not what you wanted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    19
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed last week for 4 nights which between us was the third visit to Ashleigh House. Stayed in room 3 which was a double at the front with fell views and a huge bathroom!! Cleanliness was spot on, towels changed everyday. We had a tea tray in the room with everything we needed. Brenda and Julie are absolutely lovely and make you feel so welcome. The breakfast arrangement where you fill in your order and choose which items you have on your fry up is a brilliant idea, it means you only get what you like and don't have the awkwardness of leaving something! Breakfast each day whether we had a fry up or continental was lovely and set us up for the day. The bed was comfy and having chairs in the room was a lovely change to most B&Bs where you have to sit on the bed of an evening. We'll most definitely be back again :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for four nights with family and had a wonderful relaxing stay nothing is too much trouble for Brenda and Julie. Will be back at our earliest opportunity. Breakfast was spot on rooms clean and spacious off road parking and right in the centre of Windermere could not be better placed for a stay in the lakes

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tptheref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

From the start to finish, our hostess Brenda couldn't have been friendlier, or more accommodating, the guest house was super clean, the rim we had was a nice double, en suite, television, tea making etc, and was so clean.
We stayed two nights and the breakfasts we brilliant, we chose full English and was not disappointed, should you want to watch a DVD , there were plenty to choose from and a great living room as well
Location wise and cost wise, this couldn't have been better and for a height of season stop over this was such an affordable place, I will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the night with my mum. The rooms were lovely and clean and the service was brilliant.. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Breakfast was very tasty also. The location was great. Off road parking. The staff where friendly. I look forward to coming back to this hotel very soon. Price was very reasonable too

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Ashleigh Guest house in April 2013 with my Boyfriend. As soon as we arrived we were shown straight to our room by a chatty lady who gave us useful info on the area. The room was the green room at the front of the building, great view defineatly recommend. Breakfast was cooked fresh and of excellent quality. I really liked the cleanliness of the place, the rooms were nice and warm and peaceful even with fellow guests. The local village has a few places to eat and drink however we ventured into windermere on all 3 days as theres far more to occupy us. Thanks very much Ashleigh Guest House :)!

Room Tip: Choose the green room great views and big size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madagascar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

we stayed at this hotel as our honeymoon, we did not have a lot of money and expected it to be basic due to the costs. we were so surprised by the lovely cleanliness an space of the room(green room) the breakfast was awesome, and the owner etc was lovely, we spoke to them on couple of occasions, we loved it so much we went again the year after, when we next stay at the lakes this will be our bed and breakfast of choice. as it was off the main street it was quiet and had a great view, its close to everything too.

Room Tip: book the green room for extra space and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funksoul2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#4 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#25 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#43 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#24 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#8 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh House

Property: Ashleigh House
Address: 11 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashleigh House is a traditional Lakeland stone Victorian house situated in the centre of the village of Windermere in the beautiful English Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ashleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing