We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms, inhospitable hosts”
Review of Ashleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashleigh House
Ranked #66 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice rooms, inhospitable hosts”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in this B&B

Rooms are large and extremely clean. The style of the whole guest house is "so british"; I found it lovely but some people can also regard it as "old fashion". The breakfast was tasty, but with limited choice. However the owners were cold and you do not feel especially welcomed in this guest house. Usually I choose the guest house option because I like the relationship between guests and hosts. Maybe Windermere is too touristic to keep the hospitality vocation unspoiled..?

In brief; Good value for money but because of the poor friendly atmosphere, I would probably not come back at this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    19
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My Wife and my self stayed for a two night break at Ashleigh Guest House. We found that the owners were very friendly and most helpfull, and the room was very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast that we recieved was outstanding, and nothing was to much trouble.
We would recomend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryspurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this B&B. The location was good with lots of restaurants, pubs and shopping plus laundromat all within walking distance. Our rooms were large and clean as was the lounge, but the decor was dated. We travelled with another couple. their bathroom was VERY small. Breakfast was adequate with limited choices.
We were travelling by car, parking is very limited. We found a spot on the street, host suggested we leave the car on the street as it is not easy to get into the parking area available to their guests.
We stayed in a total of 8 B&B's this trip all in the same price range, Ashleigh Guest House was not one of the better ones; I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dacks3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights , the owners were very friendly and easy to get on with , the room we stayed in was very spacious clean and the bed was very comfortable , the bathroom was immaculately clean , the guesthouse is well located in windermere and very close to Bowness , we enjoyed out stay very much

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bod292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent 2 days here while seeing the Lake District. This B & B was well located right in the heart of town so walking to dinner and shopping was very easy. The room decor was a bit tired and the bathrooms very small and our bed had a very saggy mattress on the edges so was not too comfortable. The breakfast was fine but not as good as some of the other places we have been on this trip. I would probably look for a different place to stay the next time.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ssannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for one night, the owners were really friendly, room was a good size with comfy beds and excellent breakfast. The hotel is close enough to Bowness and is right in the centre of Windermere. Lovely stay would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMandEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Three minutes walk from Windermere train station, smack dab in the centre of Windermere and just a short bus ride to Bowness, Ashleigh Guesthouse is in a great location especially for travellers relying on public transport or their own steam.

As a group of three we stayed in a family room with a double and a single. It was large and with a lovely decor, the en-suite bathroom (although small) was very new. Everything was immaculately clean.

The breakfast was superb - a full English served in the lovely parlour with a fireplace.

Great value. I absolutely reccommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falena84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Elleray
The Elleray
#95 of 108 in Windermere
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grey Walls Hotel
Grey Walls Hotel
#93 of 108 in Windermere
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#64 of 108 in Windermere
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#97 of 108 in Windermere
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#57 of 108 in Windermere
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh House

Property: Ashleigh House
Address: 11 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashleigh House is a traditional Lakeland stone Victorian house situated in the centre of the village of Windermere in the beautiful English Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Ashleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing