We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hideaway At Windermere
Ranked #4 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary celebration”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break at The Hideaway.A fantastic experience once again.Everything from the warm welcome,beautiful well furnished bedrooms,the yummie afternoon tea and wonderful breakfast.Lisa and Richard really make feel at home in a tranquil and relaxed atmosphere nothing being too much trouble for them or their staff.The hotel is a 20min walk downhill into Bowness and easy access to all areas in The Lakes.

Room Tip: all rooms are different sizes with bathrooms or shower rooms.All are of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQuinns_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    71
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
814
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband decided to wisk me away on a much needed 'us' weekend. I was so excited when I realised it was the very place were we had got engaged 5 years previous - The Hideaway. How wonderful to discover that this hotel was as we had left it - in fact possibly even better. We stayed in room 12 - a room that has every comfort you require when you need to re-charge your batteries. Felt thoroughly spoilt by the surroundings, excellent food (plenty of it ) and attentive, friendly staff. Definately won't leave it that long to come back again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princeyboyswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night on valentines! Had afternoon tea and breakfast the following morning, everything was so clean and fresh we stayed in room 1 and it is a great place. I'm sure we will be back as it is where he proposed! Lovely place!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadeybum1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just got back from a fantastic long weekend at The Hideaway. We stayed in Room 1 which was lovely - really nicely decorated, with a memory foam mattress and a lovely big bathroom with free standing bath. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived and were given the impression nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast every day was cooked to order and there was a good variety of choices to set you up for a day of walking! We were also treated to tea and cake when we returned in the afternoon.
We had a Valentine's meal on the Saturday night which comprised 6 courses which again was fantastic and beautifully presented.
The hotel itself is a few minutes walk from Windermere town centre and a 25 minute walk down to Bowness, which is a bit busier than Windermere itself. The Hideaway benefits from being located away from the main road - many other hotels are on the main road to Bowness which is quite busy and i would imagine pretty noisy. Lake Windermere itself is lovely, but we would recommend Coniston and Keswick which were less touristy.
We really couldn't fault The Hideaway and would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here on the 1st Feb for two nights. The Hotel is clean and fresh and not a thing out of place. All the staff are friendly and Lisa (the owner) is a true lady and helped in anyway possible. We stayed in room 12 which is possibly the best room i have ever stayed in anywhere! I cant wait to come back here in a few months.

Neil Moran and Nicky Jones

Room Tip: Would recommend room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My new wife & I stayed at the Hideaway for 3 nights over the New Year period in room 12. The whole experience from start to finish was a pleasure. The welcome was warm & relaxing. The food was really, really good - great fresh menu every night, fantastic ingredients, flavours & presentation. We felt so relaxed & rejuvenated. The bed was a delight having a memory foam mattress on, so much so we've gone out & bought a new bed & mattress as we have never slept so well. Great location, 4/5 mins walk to local shops etc. a nice mile1/2 (15/20 mins) leisurely walk down to the lake. Ample parking at Hideaway. Decorated to high standard. Fixtures & fittings are great and well maintained and looked after. Some really nice finishing touches in the building to decor & presentation.
Overall, superb! Classy, elegant, very clean, quiet, relaxing, happy stay at the Hideaway. Would definitely recommend to friends but going to keep this gem to ourselves. Loved it & we'll be going back again in the near future.
Thank you to the team at the Hideaway, you are fantastic at what you do.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

just a quick thank you to Lisa and the staff for making our new year break fantastic.
My wife and i arrived on 31/12/12 for a two day relaxing break and thats exactly what we got,
the food was worthy of any top restaurant i have eaten in (and thats quite a few) and the room
was very comfortable with a good size bathroom, we will definitely be returning.

Thanks again Lisa

Michael & Anne
Glasgow

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway At Windermere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway At Windermere

Property: The Hideaway At Windermere
Address: Phoenix Way, Windermere LA23 1DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hideaway At Windermere 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Hideaway, a Windermere boutique hotel. The Hideaway is the most peaceful of all the luxury Windermere hotels. Relaxed and welcoming, with a true passion to spoil and indulge, of all the hotels in Windermere, we are the only ones who offer complimentary Tea and Homemade cakes, EVERYDAY as part of your room rate, as well as our deliciously freshly prepared Award Winning Lakeland breakfasts. With no passing traffic, our boutique hotel offers free onsite parking and we are unique in being able to offer a peaceful and tranquil haven in a central location. We are only 5 minutes walk to Windermere Village; 20 minutes walk to Bowness & Lake Windermere and a 10 minute drive to Ambleside. The perfect base to explore this beautiful area. Exclusively for adults, and completely non-smoking, our boutique hotel in Windermere offers exceptional service & delicious food in relaxed stylish surroundings. We hope to welcome you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Hideaway At Windermere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hideaway At Windermere Hotel Windermere
Hideaway Hotel Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing