We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We have stayed at this B&B a number of times now. However this was the first time we had stayed in room 4 and we were not disappointed. The room and bathroom are decorated to an extremely high stranded (with under floor heating in the bathroom). We particularly enjoyed the seating area within this room.

The service from both Phillipa and Helen was amazing as always. We were offered tea/coffee on our arrival and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay.

We would defiantly recommend this B&B, all the rooms we have stayed in are fantastic (6, 8 and 4) and the service is A+. The location is perfect and it’s a bonus having parking in high season.

Thank you Hawksmoor for another lovely stay, we are looking forward to coming back for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bake200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

657 - 663 of 705 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed mid week during the half term holiday for my partner's first stay in Windermere. We found the facilities excellent and the staff really friendly . The food was cooked to perfection and the rooms very tastefully decorated with extras such as a quality shower gel and shampoo provided Located in walking distance from both Windermere and Bowness its situation was ideal . Both my partner and I have travelled extensively and stayed in many hotels around the world and this guesthouse far exceeds many of the hotel rooms we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Just returned home after a nights stay at the Hawksmoor......what can I say a real treat! We were met on arrival with a welcomed tea or coffee, then shown to our room, we stayed in room 4 it was fantastic ...a good size and a lovely bathroom, underfloor heating too which was nice on a snowy day, there was a good sized dressing table 2 comfy chairs and a tv and dvd player. A nice touch was the wine glasses and cork screw on the tea and coffee tray, my bottle of wine having been warm I asked if they could chill it and was given an ice bucket filled with ice to take back to my room......perfect. The breakfast was lovely lots of choice and good quality. We are frequant visitors to the lakes and have paid alot more for rooms that aren't half as good. We WILL be returning......thanx guys for a great stay :o) PS the noise from the road didn't bother us at all and we were at the front......

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fi250375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I can't really add anything to the previous reviews - We had a fantastic stay for 2 nights and couldn't think of anything that could have been bettered. The best breakfast in the lakes was very welcome and sustained us through our daily walks. The family room was just right, clean and comfortable, with everything we needed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hawksmoor Guest House or to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibabba77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Brilliant room, well decorated. The only negative we could comment on the room was the pressure in the shower, everything else was excellent. The service was great, and the breakfast was spot on. Location is perfect and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0rthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

thank you for your honest comments. we have now upgraded our boilers and improved our water pressure throughout the guest house. we hope to see you again in the future to put our pressure to the test.

Trevor Francis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We are Jayne & Ade and we stayed at the wonderful Hawksmoor Guest House for 4 nights last week! What can I say! I can only praise the wonderful Hawksmoor and say that I cannot find any fault with the great staff, house, breakfast and superb room! We had room 11 with 4 poster bed, large bathroom with walk in shower and large gorgeous bath, not to mention the under floor heating! Weather wasn't the best, but the stay at the Hawksmoor more than made up for it! No need to look elsewhere! Thank you Philippa and team - we will definately be back! x

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonandDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

me and my partner stayed at the hawksmoor for 3 nights for my partners 40th birthday, i rang and asked if it would be ok for them to arrange a bottle of champagne and balloons in the room for when we arrived, they did not hesitate to help, we stayed in the superior room and it was luxurious and spotless, phillipa and her staff were polite and friendly, we will be visiting there again soon and i will be recommending the hawksmoor to all my family and friends, we had a fantastic and memorable stay!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank septicpeg71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 107 in Windermere
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $112 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing