We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brillaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Chose this B+B based on the reviews here on trip advisor and was not disappointed. Stay for 4 nights in march ( off season) and the place was almost full. Perfectly located between windermere and bowness, just a 10 minute walk each way makes it a perfect location. Being able to view and choose your room on the website is brilliant and the pictures do it justice. Welcoming us with a cuppa tea when we arrived, inducting us to the local area and the staff were always friendly and hospitable. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and cooked to perfection. Well recommended !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank physiojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor and for your recommendation. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hopefully will see you again in the future. Thanks again. Philippa and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 374 of 705 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed for two nights in February 2014 and had a great time just wish we had been able to stay for longer! The guesthouse is in a great location between Windermere and Bowness and has a lovely view of woodland and a stream (at the back) – we were lucky and stayed in one of the rooms at the back with a balcony. The rooms are gorgeous and decorated to a high spec and it has to be said the bed was pure comfort – bliss!

Philippa, Trevor and the staff were very friendly and happy to help with any queries both before and during our stay – thank you!

Breakfast – what a great start to the day, there was a great selection and we have to say the full breakfast was very tasty and filling and set in a lovely spacious breakfast room with a fantastic tropical fish tank!

Hopefully we will make a return visit and pretty soon too!

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms with a balcony, if possible!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula3203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you both again next time.
Thanks again. Philippa and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights 1st and 2nd March. Rooms modern and spotlessly clean. Fell walkers breakfast superb or you could choose the daily special option, and service was excellent. Ideally located on the main road between Windermere and Bowness so best of both worlds. Stayed at many B&B's in the lakes over the years but this was the best so far, and would return.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chrisscott1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here, hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thanks again.
Philippa and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have been visiting Windermere for many years, we usually stay just up the road in another 5* b&b but luckily for us they didn't have any rooms available for our dates. The Hawksmoor is by far the nicest we have stayed in, the rooms are modern, very comfortable and spotless, staff are friendly and polite and the breakfast menu is faultless with daily specials cooked to order. I am happy to say we have a new favourite place to stay when visiting Windermere and can't wait to go back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Thanks again. Philippa and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Weekend stay with the wife here. Stayed in their luxury room which was very comfortable with an excellent bathroom. Spotlessly clean, well maintained guesthouse. A special word for the breakfasts which was simply the best cooked breakfast I have ever had.

The hosts were lovely and very welcoming with tea offered upon arrival. Current DVD's available to borrow for use in your room.
I will be booking again shortly for a break in the spring.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SilvioDante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Hopefully we will see you again in the Spring. Thanks again. Philippa and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just returned to Saudi after a much needed sleet and rain soaked lengthy walk around the lake after living in a land of dust and camels for 6 months. Hawksmore was booked for myself, wife, sister and bro' in law on the strength of Tripadvisor. Luckily, I went straight the their site to book and this turned out to be a good move because apparently sometimes not all of the rooms are displayed as available on other sites when there are alternative rooms un-booked. So you may wanna' look at that.
Anyway, hospitality is brilliant, comfort is as you would expect in a close friends house, breakfast tremendous. The hosts were exceptional and the waitress at brecky was the best you could ask for. I thank you very much for such a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Had a view over the river - that tent in the tree could do with removing. Thought it was a stalker...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor, we are very pleased you all enjoyed your much needed stay here and in the Lakes. We are sorry about the neighbours tree house though, hopefully the leaves will cover it soon. Thanks again,
Philippa and Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this excellent B and B, taking advantage of their value for money winter offer. The weather outside was mostly cold, wet and windy but inside, we were given a warm reception and treated with great hospitality.
We stayed in room 14, as we did last year, and we were again impressed by the array of facilities - TV in the bathroom, i - pod dock, balcony with a view over the woods etc. etc. - it was certainly well worth the extra money.
Breakfast was excellent - smoked haddock and poached eggs and eggs benedict were specials on different days and they were complemented by a wide selection of locally sourced produce.
Hawksmoor is ideally placed. You can walk to Windermere and Bowness where you can find a variety of good restaurants - we enjoyed Fat Olives and took advantage of their film package with the cinema across the road - while Ambleside and Grasmere are only a short drive away.

Room Tip: Room 14 is well worth the extra money
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mustgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay once again especially on such a blustery and damp week, hopefully we will see you again next Year. Thanks again,
Trevor and Philippa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 107 in Windermere
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 107 in Windermere
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: $112 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing