We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every way!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Excellent rooms, facilities and breakfasts, presented by friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in room 9 which was clean and well equipped. The location was perfect for exploring the Lake District. We arrived by train from London and it was an easy walk with our hand luggage, there were taxis waiting for those with more luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and in the Lakes and hopefully will see you again in the future.
Thank you
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    32
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
519
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We have stayed with friends three times at the Hawksmoor guesthouse. The owners make you so welcome and the tea or coffee and biscuits are a nice start to your stay. I cant eat gluten and they make sure that I don't miss out on the wonderful breakfast they have, they get me g/free bread and sausages. All the staff are lovely and will give you tips on places to visit so just ask. This guesthouse is near some good pubs and restaurants to eat at, good value food at the albert pub. If you like walking then put your boots on and take up on some of the walks on offer, maps available at tourist information office

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you enjoyed all of your visits here and hopefully will see you all again in the future.
Thanks again, Philippa , Trevor and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stopped at this wonderful guest house again. We were in room 10 for 3 nights, very nice room large 6 foot bed, lovely view of woods at back. We were made to feel really welcome from the moment we checked in. Breakfast was lovely each morning. With specials on each morning. My wife had the smoked haddock and poached eggs one morning, she loved it and I had the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon this was fab aswell. My wife says I must mention the little pastries they have on each mornin, she loved them. Overall this another brill stay at what is easily one of the best guest houses in Windermere.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank deniro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here once again and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Thanks again.
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent three days at the Hawksmoor. The room I had on the ground floor was the best I've had in a guest house with quality furnishings and lots of power points as well as lamps that work and a posh tv. Nice toiletries from a local firm. Breakfast good with fresh fruit salad and an interesting cooked 'special' each day. They were really helpful with gluten-free alternatives too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and found us very comfortable.
Thanks again. Philippa, Trevor and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé booked a surprise weekend away staying at The Hawksmoor guesthouse. We were offered tea and shortbread on arrival then showed to our lovely room with a huge bed, balcony and bathroom with heated floor.

The location was great - a 10 minute walk into Windermere and 15 min walk to Bowness.
Lots of restaurants to choose from in Bowness- we would highly recommend the Italian "Rastellis" - great service and tasty food.

We had the Fellwalkers breakfast at the guesthouse the following morning which was delicious and were really pleased to see that a special was on offer daily- that day it was poached haddock.

After a day out in Bowness and Ambleside and a pub tea we went back to the guesthouse and chose a film from the large selection of DVDs on offer - a really nice touch. There were many recent releases to choose from.

The following morning before we checked out my fiancé had the Fellwalkers breakfast again but I chose the special- eggs benedict. Really yummy- not too heavy either which was good as we took advantage of the use of the Spa at the beautiful Macdonald hotel down the road in Bowness when we checked out.

The owners were so helpful and were very knowledgeable in suggesting restaurants etc.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RachDewsnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and you found us very helpful.
Hopefully we will see you both again in the future.
Thanks again. Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the this b&b back in Sept and totally forgot to do the review. It so memorable I had to do it. Superb service and a beautiful setting. Staff cater to every need or leave to your own device.....your choice. Rooms are a good size and well decorated. I have stayed in the lakes a few times and by far the best place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hols_hunter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you had a great stay and enjoyed your time here.
Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thanks again.
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This was our 4th stay at Hawksmoor,and, like our previous three visits, we cannot fault this delightful establishment. From the moment you arrive till your departure everything is first class. Phillipa and Trevor are truly amazing hosts, and as stated in previous reviews, nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfasts to start your day ,come under the amazing catagory as there is so much to choose from, including daily specials. The rooms as always are beautifully finished and spotless. Another mention must also go to their staff, very friendly, and always on hand to answer any questions. Already looking forward to returning in 2014 and thoroughly recommend Hawksmoor as a first class place to stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor, It's always a pleasure to see you both and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Thanks again. Philippa , Trevor and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 108 in Windermere
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Property: Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing